We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem of a hotel with faultless staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 382 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem of a hotel with faultless staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having stayed in a Best Western in Paris and being unhappy with it, we were worried this would be the same. How wrong we were. This little hotel is just lovely.

It's 1 minute walk from the Piazza San Marco, under the clock, turn right and then left down a lovely cute alleyway and there you are. The reception staff, manager and everyone we met there were incredibly helpful, polite and smiling. What a difference it makes to be treated like this, it really made our stay lovely.

Our room was large and decorated in blue Venetian style with a double bed and a chair pull out bed for our daughter. There was plenty of hanging space and drawer space. The bathroom was lovely with a bath, b-day and good quality toiletries.

The breakfast was included and was a good spread of pastries, drinks, hot and cold meats and eggs, fruit and yogurts.

The beds were comfortable and the shutters kept out the light so we slept very well and did not hear any noise apart from the comforting chiming of the clocks in San Marco.

I would recommend this hotel to couples and families and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

tks a lot for your words. I will inform all my staff about your consideration in our house.
They will be happy to know their job was well accepted.
Hoping to see you soon again in Venice, pls accept our best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    291
    74
    19
    14
See reviews for
142
292
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was excellent value, clean and in a great location. Whilst rooms were a bit small and wifi was patchy I would certainly recommend this hotel. Literally 2 mins at a slow pace from St Marks Square. Staff very friendly and breakfast set you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mark,

We really want to thank you for your review which is very important for us trying to always improve our standard of service....

Thank you again and see you soon in Venice.......

Best Regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are interested in being close to San Marcos this is a good hotel. The staff is always available, friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and provided fresh fruits, meats, cheese, eggs, toast, cereals and pastries. While the furnishing is not new, the rooms were neat, clean and fresh. We arrived on a dark andy rainning evening and our rooms were ready, no problems. Easy walk to almost anywhere, was great fun going through all streets and across the canals. We walked to the Rialto bridge, down to the Guggenheim and of course San Marcos. The front desk man arranged a water taxi to the airport, walked us to the loading area and waited until the taxi arrived. Very helpful staff. Next trip I will look into another location only because the San Marcos area is overwhelmed with tourists, even during the off season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sirs,

to know that your stay in our hotel was much appreciated infinitely gratifies us and pushes us to improve where possible. thank you very much and see you soon in Venice........

Best Regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very good zone, for those who want to stay in the center / near the San Marco. employees all very kind, friendly and helpful.
The bathroom was quite old as the whole hotel and easy to see it. The mattress is old and gave us bad time at bedtime. The breakfast was good - didn't like the coffee - it's instant coffee out of a machine.

In general we have been very disappointed about Venice and the food. In general - all stuffed and full of tourists. All made to pick the money of the tourists.
Please do yourself a favor and NEVER visit ANY restaurant offering TOURIST MENU. Yes, it's cheaper, but you don't want to know how that food was like....
Eating and drinking is VERY expensive in the center. You have to go on the other side of the Rialto or Cata D'Oro to find more economic prices and acceptable quality.
Good option was the Hard Rock Cafe indeed.
The City itself is falling into pieces. Seems like they forgot that apart of taking all the money of the tourists, they should do some maintenance on the buildings. Also Many streets and places are rather dirty and full of cigarettes.
We where truly disappointed about the famous Venice. I'd never change this for Strasbourg, Scotland, Brügge,.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mr Martin,
Thanking for your review, we are really sorry to read that you didn't enjoy Venice and its monuments...as you can see from our webpage, the hotel is located few steps far from San Marco Square in a XVII centuries Palace and the standard of our quality is annually verified by stringent quality controls of Best Western members....
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accpe Mr Martin, our best regards.
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

So close to the major tourist attractions yet tucked down a narrow street. It was welcoming and accomodating such that I and my 21 year old daughter and 13 year old son all felt it had clean excellent facilities - including free WiFi - such that we could come and go during the day as we experienced different things. I.e. a great base which also provided peaceful nights sleep. Professional and helpful staff with a broad selection of breakfast choices. We hope to re-visit before too long and I wouldn't consider going/risking anywhere else in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Hugh,

Thanks a lot for your recent stay at our property and for your positive comments concerning our house.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the MonteCarlo. We had a standard double room. It did contain everything as described, but I think my definition of a double room is one where both people can sit down at the same time. This had one chair. If you sat on the bed to put your shoes on you risked banging your head on the dressing table. One person had to lie on the bed to allow the other one to move around the room to get dressed.
The room was too hot, and noisy if the window was opened. As it was March the air conditioning was not yet operational.
The shower room was very good, lots of water pressure (this is Venice...) and modern and well fitted out.
Downstairs the breakfast room is also cramped. Too many tables pushed in. The food was good and with a decent variety.
As this is a very centrally placed hotel I can understand that there were many people staying. But I really wouldn't recommend staying here in a basic room. We wouldn't recommend this to any friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for your review which is very important for us. As you can see in our webpage, the hotel is a XVII Centuries Palace a few steps from San Marco with many kinds of rooms, one different from the other..we are very sorry you didn't like your accomodation because if informed we could show you immediately some other soluctions and find a room you liked better....Hoping to meet you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location excellent. Breakfast fresh and excellent, variety. Rooms were very very small. But we like compact rooms, so ok. Rooms were clean. There are a lot of takeaways for pasta , pizza so meals not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.