We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A double room - as long as you don't move around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 381 hotels in Venice
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A double room - as long as you don't move around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the MonteCarlo. We had a standard double room. It did contain everything as described, but I think my definition of a double room is one where both people can sit down at the same time. This had one chair. If you sat on the bed to put your shoes on you risked banging your head on the dressing table. One person had to lie on the bed to allow the other one to move around the room to get dressed.
The room was too hot, and noisy if the window was opened. As it was March the air conditioning was not yet operational.
The shower room was very good, lots of water pressure (this is Venice...) and modern and well fitted out.
Downstairs the breakfast room is also cramped. Too many tables pushed in. The food was good and with a decent variety.
As this is a very centrally placed hotel I can understand that there were many people staying. But I really wouldn't recommend staying here in a basic room. We wouldn't recommend this to any friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for your review which is very important for us. As you can see in our webpage, the hotel is a XVII Centuries Palace a few steps from San Marco with many kinds of rooms, one different from the other..we are very sorry you didn't like your accomodation because if informed we could show you immediately some other soluctions and find a room you liked better....Hoping to meet you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    302
    81
    22
    14
See reviews for
132
260
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location excellent. Breakfast fresh and excellent, variety. Rooms were very very small. But we like compact rooms, so ok. Rooms were clean. There are a lot of takeaways for pasta , pizza so meals not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was close to all major attractions down a tiny cobbled street just minutes from San Marco Piazza. Breakfast was varied and very fresh and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean, as was the entire hotel, and the bed firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located just down the street (alley) from San Marcos Piazza it was convenient yet quiet. The concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. The provincial styled rooms were ornate yet very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a good variety but the best part was the wonderful cappuccino machine that had a myriad of coffee/ hot chocolate choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 4 day break at this hotel. Friendly, clean, comfortable...and a great location. Just yards from Piazza San Marco. A short walk from the boat stop San Marco Giardinetti. Breakfast was most enjoyable offering both hot food and continental options.
There are are alot of restaurants and take aways in the area, so many alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days over valentines day period, hotel is more than adequate, very clean - bed was made/changed and fresh towels twice a day!! breakfast was continental with self service but staff on hand if needed. The room was small but comfortable, old design but in keeping with tradition and appropriate for the location. The hotel is situated just minutes from San Marco square, easy to find and close to all shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The service from all staff was second to none, nothing was too much bother for them, they were kind, polite, curtious, helpful and did their utmost to ensure your stay was comfortable :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very good! Rooms are clean and comfortable! It has a little bit old design, but we liked it more because of that. It reminded us old king&queen times.)) The service is also worth the price! Location is in very touristic place, close to Piazza San Marco. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby.)) Probably, I will stay there again! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .


Sincerely,
Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Venice - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#148 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list