We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 382 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was close to all major attractions down a tiny cobbled street just minutes from San Marco Piazza. Breakfast was varied and very fresh and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean, as was the entire hotel, and the bed firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    295
    75
    19
    14
See reviews for
145
299
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located just down the street (alley) from San Marcos Piazza it was convenient yet quiet. The concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. The provincial styled rooms were ornate yet very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a good variety but the best part was the wonderful cappuccino machine that had a myriad of coffee/ hot chocolate choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 4 day break at this hotel. Friendly, clean, comfortable...and a great location. Just yards from Piazza San Marco. A short walk from the boat stop San Marco Giardinetti. Breakfast was most enjoyable offering both hot food and continental options.
There are are alot of restaurants and take aways in the area, so many alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days over valentines day period, hotel is more than adequate, very clean - bed was made/changed and fresh towels twice a day!! breakfast was continental with self service but staff on hand if needed. The room was small but comfortable, old design but in keeping with tradition and appropriate for the location. The hotel is situated just minutes from San Marco square, easy to find and close to all shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The service from all staff was second to none, nothing was too much bother for them, they were kind, polite, curtious, helpful and did their utmost to ensure your stay was comfortable :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very good! Rooms are clean and comfortable! It has a little bit old design, but we liked it more because of that. It reminded us old king&queen times.)) The service is also worth the price! Location is in very touristic place, close to Piazza San Marco. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby.)) Probably, I will stay there again! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .


Sincerely,
Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Venice - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just returned from Venice with 2 friends - stayed at the Montecarlo for 5 nights - free trip to Murano to check out glass blowing - fine - but boat driver dropped us off the wrong side of canal in the middle of nowhere!! which was horrible as day was extremely wet and windy - we got soaked. The other issue is this city tax which we were asked to pay without any prior warning before we left yesterday - 15euros each?? Has anybody else out there been asked to pay this? No receipt was given - just that it was collected on behalf of 'bureaucracy' - this was the comment from the guy on reception. In the same area as this hotel is the Osteria AI Specchier/Calle Larga San Marco 654 - what a real rip-off - 1 large Beer and 2 small ones in Boot type glasses - 35euros!!! Do not go there- you will get ripped off - we were not best pleased

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry to read about your complaint because we always try to do the best for our guests during their stay in Venice...unfortunately in this case we can do nothing because the trip to Murano ( free of charge round trip ) start from a small canal right behind the Hotel and always come back to Fondamente Nuove ( 10 minutes far from San Marco/Rialto bridge ) where did you get off....maybe the problem was the bad weather as you mentioned but this is not our fault.....concerning the city tax this is also not our fault becaus is a tax that we are oblidged to collect from the clients ( 3,00 Euro per person per day during the high season and 2,10 Euro per day per person during the low season )....samething concerning the bar very expansive close to San Marco, we do apologise but it s out of our control.....hoping you will grant us and to our wonderful city the possibility to have you back soon, accept Sir, our best regards.

Best Western Hotel MOntecarlo
Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located on a narrow and intimate pedestrian road 100m from San Marco Sq., this hotel boasts comfort along with elegance in its rooms and the breakfasts are quite good. The rooms are of classic victorian style. We were more than satisfied with our choice in a hotel for Venice as this hotel is just minutes by foot to the public transport boat. We would return for sure !

Room Tip: They offer free trips to Murano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.