We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 382 hotels in Venice
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very good! Rooms are clean and comfortable! It has a little bit old design, but we liked it more because of that. It reminded us old king&queen times.)) The service is also worth the price! Location is in very touristic place, close to Piazza San Marco. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby.)) Probably, I will stay there again! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .


Sincerely,
Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Venice - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    323
    84
    22
    15
See reviews for
140
289
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just returned from Venice with 2 friends - stayed at the Montecarlo for 5 nights - free trip to Murano to check out glass blowing - fine - but boat driver dropped us off the wrong side of canal in the middle of nowhere!! which was horrible as day was extremely wet and windy - we got soaked. The other issue is this city tax which we were asked to pay without any prior warning before we left yesterday - 15euros each?? Has anybody else out there been asked to pay this? No receipt was given - just that it was collected on behalf of 'bureaucracy' - this was the comment from the guy on reception. In the same area as this hotel is the Osteria AI Specchier/Calle Larga San Marco 654 - what a real rip-off - 1 large Beer and 2 small ones in Boot type glasses - 35euros!!! Do not go there- you will get ripped off - we were not best pleased

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry to read about your complaint because we always try to do the best for our guests during their stay in Venice...unfortunately in this case we can do nothing because the trip to Murano ( free of charge round trip ) start from a small canal right behind the Hotel and always come back to Fondamente Nuove ( 10 minutes far from San Marco/Rialto bridge ) where did you get off....maybe the problem was the bad weather as you mentioned but this is not our fault.....concerning the city tax this is also not our fault becaus is a tax that we are oblidged to collect from the clients ( 3,00 Euro per person per day during the high season and 2,10 Euro per day per person during the low season )....samething concerning the bar very expansive close to San Marco, we do apologise but it s out of our control.....hoping you will grant us and to our wonderful city the possibility to have you back soon, accept Sir, our best regards.

Best Western Hotel MOntecarlo
Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located on a narrow and intimate pedestrian road 100m from San Marco Sq., this hotel boasts comfort along with elegance in its rooms and the breakfasts are quite good. The rooms are of classic victorian style. We were more than satisfied with our choice in a hotel for Venice as this hotel is just minutes by foot to the public transport boat. We would return for sure !

Room Tip: They offer free trips to Murano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

- Friendly and helpful staff
- Free trip to Murano is nice to check out the glass blowing
- Free breakfast is standard and has enough variety
- Room was small but clean - Bathroom was updated
- Great location near San Marco square, shops, water bus stop

Note: Church bells a bit loud at night when trying to sleep

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a lovely spacious room, very clean, afforadable minibar, friendly & helpful staff, excellent location, reception booked an opera for us. The breakfast room could have been a little more spacious, but no complaints really.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was my second stay at Hotel Montecarlo in Venice. I was attracted primarily by the hotel's location, and they also had reasonable accommodations for 3 people.

Our room was rather large and had very traditional Venetian decor. The bathroom was freshly renovated and was both spacious and tastefully elegant.

I was grateful that the concierge offered to drop off the key to the previous hotel room where we had stayed and accidentally forgotten to turn it in. He said he lived in the neighborhood and would swing by that property. This was greatly appreciated.

On the last night there was a huge group of Albanian youngsters occupying the floor above us, and they were unbelievably noisy. The reception guy that evening was not exactly responsive to requests for help and it took me three trips going downstairs to get him to actively address the issue (and with all my travels I have never encountered that level of noise in a hotel). The next morning the front desk manager apologized, though.

Their breakfast has a great variety of offerings. The room where the breakfast is served is very elegant too. We would usually go down early in the mornings, and it was not crowded at all. One morning we went down pretty late in the morning, and it was very crowded.

Overall, Hotel Montecarlo is a very dependable choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked into the Hotel Montecarlo for my week's stay in Venice, largely on the strength of the comments on Tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed, and frankly, for what it is, I couldn't fault this property in any way. The service was uniformly excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the room, although small, (this is Europe after all), was clean, cosy and comfortable. Some folks might not like the sound of the campanile chiming the hours, but I thought it was kind of romantic, and with the window closed, it wasn't very pronounced, and certainly didn't disturb my sleep. The breakfasts in the morning were great, with a fine array of hot and cold 'vittles' to tempt the taste buds. Also, free tea and coffee making facilities can be supplied on request in your room. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a stone's throw away from St Mark's Square. This is a great budget hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Venice
#87 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.