We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel; Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel; Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just steps away from St Marks Square; Short distance from Water Taxi; Excellent service from friendly Staff. Discount at Restaurant next door ~ EXCELLENT food! Rooms are not huge, but
are clean and affordable comparably speaking. THis was my second stay at Monte Carlo, and I would stay again. The rooms have windows that open, although the views are limited. Ask for a room facing the Calle Speccierre if you want to be able to look out upon the shops...there is some foot traffic noise. The other view is of rooftops; and still a little noise from passersby on the
streets below. Overall this hotel offers a great value for the price. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Higher floor might have less street noise (foot traffic only) but the elevator is small. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    327
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
157
332
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Venice is expensive for everything but BW Montecarlo is worth it. Reception staffs are nice and helpful. We had a great meal with their recommendations! Room and bed are a bit small but it is very near to St Mark's Square.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location near St Marks Square, VERY nice staff, good breakfast, and total service!!! (EVEN TO OUTSIDERS) rooms were good size with windows that opened. Ours had french provencial style furniture (for 2 women) on the top floor. As a travel agent, I will always suggest this property for middle of the road, priced customers

Room Tip: Ask to be on a lower floor than the top if you are tall. Ceilings are lower on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I don't have anything to add to what other reviewers have said, really. The hotel is fine, but you might want to consider whether or not you want to be in the thick of things in Venice. Sadly, the city has become a kind of Disney World jammed with tourists, and this hotel is right in the middle of the most popular area. If you want to be somewhat off the beaten track where the streets are less crowded and where restaurants may be somewhat more authentic, then try the Dorsodoro or Cannaregio sections of the city. Venice is such a small city that everything is within walking distance or accessible by vaporetto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family stayed in two rooms for a couple of nights in the Montecarlo. The staff welcomed us warmly and professionally. We left our luggage at reception and went into Venice for lunch. When we returned the suitcases had been taken to our rooms.
The rooms were clean , warm and comfortable. The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in.
Sometimes it is the small details that really impress and the housekeeping / room service at the Montecarlo really impressed us. EG Extra pillows being put on the bed ready. My daughter's small teddy bear (which travels every where with her) had been put carefully onto her bed and tucked in. The shutters on the outside of the bedroom window had been closed when we returned at night and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and tidy.
The reception staff were very helpful organising our return water taxi collection point and, just as importantly, they had a sense of humour.
All of this was set against the fact that on the day we arrived the hotel had been flooded out due to the Aqua Alta which had been exceptionally high.
All of our party agreed that the location was perfect for seeing the sights. When we take our next trip to Venice we will not hesitate to book the Montecarlo.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent location close to all major attractions (can be confusing to find at first).
Step outside and you are less than 100 paces to entry to St Mark's Square
For those interested in shopping you are right in the middle of Venice's confusing alleyways of shops (literally hundreds of them).

Very spacious rooms with very good facilities.

Very helpful staff - always willing to help.

Breakfast very good and appetising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
1,378 helpful votes 1,378 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we chose it mainly for its location which is in the heart of Venice tourist area but on a side street so we did not get the noise or congestion of St Mark’s Square. Front desk staff (especially Mimassimo and Dario) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Hotel room was nice but in need of improved furnishings. There was an old love-seat (convertible to twin bed) that had a very ugly cover over it that did not go with the room at all. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. The hotel did arrange a water taxi to Morano which required a tour of the glass factory. The tour was okay and there really was not a hard sales pitch attached to it but you know they were expecting you to buy something. Hotel also arranged, at our request, a water taxi to the train station and carried our luggage the block to the canal where the boat was waiting on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
#85 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.