We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Need Improvement but Very Good Staff and Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Orange Park
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
1,378 helpful votes 1,378 helpful votes
“Rooms Need Improvement but Very Good Staff and Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we chose it mainly for its location which is in the heart of Venice tourist area but on a side street so we did not get the noise or congestion of St Mark’s Square. Front desk staff (especially Mimassimo and Dario) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Hotel room was nice but in need of improved furnishings. There was an old love-seat (convertible to twin bed) that had a very ugly cover over it that did not go with the room at all. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. The hotel did arrange a water taxi to Morano which required a tour of the glass factory. The tour was okay and there really was not a hard sales pitch attached to it but you know they were expecting you to buy something. Hotel also arranged, at our request, a water taxi to the train station and carried our luggage the block to the canal where the boat was waiting on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    326
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
157
331
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night following a cruise. We wanted somewhere near St.Marks in order to make the most of the time we had. We took a waterbus from the cruise-port to the St. Marks stop. It is approx. 7 minutes walk,no road transport available although you can hire a porter with a trolley for around 20 euros.
Our room was very attractively presented and had a good en-suite bathroom with bath. All very clean.
Breakfast was served in an attractive room and was good and plentiful - Fruit and juices, cereals, cold meats and cheeses , a heated pan with scrambled eggs, a do-it-yourself toaster and pastries and muffins if you are still hungry!
There are many good restaurants very nearby.
A good place to return to after a day of sightseeing.I would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Difficult as the room we were given was very good, but I imagine this was general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great location in the heart of San Marco. In the centre of everything. Old world rooms but quite adequate. Shutters on the windows were a novelty. Staff was always helpful and polite. Hot water in the bathroom was a bit hit and miss. Some bathroom floor tiles were cracked. Room was always clean. Turn down service happened most nights. Breakfast was great, lots of food and fresh fruit. Step out of the door straight into shops, cafes and restaurants. Minutes from st. Marks square. What more could a visitor want. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lets be honest...our first time in Venice, one night, 36 hours, we needed all the help and advice we could get, and the staff at the Montecarlo were fantastic, they listened to our questions, and responded with great advice. The hotel is a 30 minute or so Vaporetto #1 ride down the Grand Canal from Santa Lucia Train Station, and a short walk through or around St. Mark's Square. Once there, you are in the middle of everything; St. Mark's Square, the well-signed walking route back toward the Rialto bridge, the St. Mark's Vaporetto stop, numerous cafes, shops, and a canal around the corner for gondola and water taxi pickup. Our room was beautiful and clean. The Hotel-recommended free morning water taxi ride out to Murano to a glass-making company forced us a little out of our comfort zone, but turned out great! Overall the Montecarlo and its great staff made us feel at home. We will recommend it to all our traveling friends and can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I like the hotel so much I returned for a second visit. It is ideally located, St Marks Square only a couple of minutes away, within easy reach of Rialto too. It is set in a quiet location at the heart of the shops. the room are comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you left breakfast hungry it would be your own fault. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I doubt I would think of staying elsewhere, this hotel has everything I need and I feel comfortable and happy here. I would recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone who requires a comfortable and stress free time.

Room Tip: This is my second trip and both rooms have been fantastic. Quiet and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We would like to thank the receptionists DARIO and MARCO for being so helpful and friendly, they kept on phoning Alitalia on our behalf as our baggage got lost and their answering machine answers only in Italian... we have never met such helpful and friendly staff, always smiling and courteous. The rooms were very clean, comfortable with all the ameities, if you asked for extras it was delivered within minutes.Breakfast offered a good choice and of course the location of the
hotel is perfect. We couldn't ask for more, we will definitely stay in this hotel when we are in Venice!

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 3rd floor and they were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and it was overall a good experience. We found everything was very good except for the size of the room esp given the price we paid, but from I was told it is the norm in Venice. If you can afford it, definitely get the bigger room.

The room itself was otherwise very clean with nice furniture. AC works well, essential when it gets hot in Venice. Bathroom was again small, but modern, clean and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast and wifi were included in our room rate. Buffet breakfast had a fairly good selection and fairly standard for italian hotels.

The staff were all very friendly, always helpful and cheerful. Do ask them for direction for a supermarket which less than 5 mins away so you can stock up on your supply, as Venice is expensive and the whole place esp around San Marco area is just a huge tourist trap.

Also, we used the direction provided by one of the recently reviewers to be very accurate and useful in getting us to the hotel without getting lost.

If you want to be close to San Marco square, I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#85 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.