We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Acton, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lets be honest...our first time in Venice, one night, 36 hours, we needed all the help and advice we could get, and the staff at the Montecarlo were fantastic, they listened to our questions, and responded with great advice. The hotel is a 30 minute or so Vaporetto #1 ride down the Grand Canal from Santa Lucia Train Station, and a short walk through or around St. Mark's Square. Once there, you are in the middle of everything; St. Mark's Square, the well-signed walking route back toward the Rialto bridge, the St. Mark's Vaporetto stop, numerous cafes, shops, and a canal around the corner for gondola and water taxi pickup. Our room was beautiful and clean. The Hotel-recommended free morning water taxi ride out to Murano to a glass-making company forced us a little out of our comfort zone, but turned out great! Overall the Montecarlo and its great staff made us feel at home. We will recommend it to all our traveling friends and can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    316
    76
    20
    14
See reviews for
154
320
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I like the hotel so much I returned for a second visit. It is ideally located, St Marks Square only a couple of minutes away, within easy reach of Rialto too. It is set in a quiet location at the heart of the shops. the room are comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you left breakfast hungry it would be your own fault. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I doubt I would think of staying elsewhere, this hotel has everything I need and I feel comfortable and happy here. I would recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone who requires a comfortable and stress free time.

Room Tip: This is my second trip and both rooms have been fantastic. Quiet and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We would like to thank the receptionists DARIO and MARCO for being so helpful and friendly, they kept on phoning Alitalia on our behalf as our baggage got lost and their answering machine answers only in Italian... we have never met such helpful and friendly staff, always smiling and courteous. The rooms were very clean, comfortable with all the ameities, if you asked for extras it was delivered within minutes.Breakfast offered a good choice and of course the location of the
hotel is perfect. We couldn't ask for more, we will definitely stay in this hotel when we are in Venice!

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 3rd floor and they were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and it was overall a good experience. We found everything was very good except for the size of the room esp given the price we paid, but from I was told it is the norm in Venice. If you can afford it, definitely get the bigger room.

The room itself was otherwise very clean with nice furniture. AC works well, essential when it gets hot in Venice. Bathroom was again small, but modern, clean and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast and wifi were included in our room rate. Buffet breakfast had a fairly good selection and fairly standard for italian hotels.

The staff were all very friendly, always helpful and cheerful. Do ask them for direction for a supermarket which less than 5 mins away so you can stock up on your supply, as Venice is expensive and the whole place esp around San Marco area is just a huge tourist trap.

Also, we used the direction provided by one of the recently reviewers to be very accurate and useful in getting us to the hotel without getting lost.

If you want to be close to San Marco square, I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights the beginning of Sept.The location a couple of blocks from Saint Marks Square could not be beat. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but on the small side and my major complaint was that our room never completely cooled down, no view and the wi fi was sporatic. For the cost, these items should have been better. The breakfast was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to the elevator as you can hear it at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Best Western Hotel Montecarlo

Hotel is located very close to Piazza San Marco. At the piazza. get into the street next to the "American Snack Bar", then turn right, and continue until the third left, Calle Speccieri. Calle Speccieri's entrance is only five feet wide, then it widens. The hotel is 50 feet inside Calle Speccieri, right side. It takes around 10 minutes to roll your suitcases from the San Marco pier to the hotel.

Hotel is well decorated in French-Provence style. Room width is a queen-sized bed plus two feet on each side and length is a queen-sized bed plus four feet. Bathroom is decent-sized and fully eqquipped. Room was kept very clean and fully stocked.
The included hot bufett breakfast was outstanding. Hotel staff was very attentive and well versed in Edglish and Spanish. They went the extra mile to help us.

Hotel is located close to many restaurants, eateries, and stores in the San Marco area. WiFi service was also included.

I recommend this hotel, and would go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in August at the Best Western Montecarlo in Venice. One of the major perks of this hotel is its location - it is situation right near the Basilica di San Marco, literally a 2 minute walk. It is also close to restaurants and gift shops. The location of the hotel is excellent.

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast was standard with plenty of choice i.e fresh fruit, yoghurts, hot food, cereal.

There are no kettles in the room but if you ask at reception they will bring one up.

Rooms - our room was quite small and had a tiny window which we could barely open with no view. However, there was air conditioning. Overall, the room was adequate and it was cleaned everyday. We also had a clean modern bathroom .

Apart from the room size, I would recommend this hotel -the location is perfect and staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
#84 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.