We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Taby, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great hotel, service and location for a very nice price. Rooms are comfortable and top standard. Our 2 rooms were newly renovated and the bathroom clean and brand new. Wireless internet was included and the breakfast was way above our expectations for Southern Europe. Friendly staff and 100 metres from St Mark's square.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    342
    81
    21
    14
See reviews for
167
342
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I booked one night in Venice for my husbands birthday with cheap Ryanair flights to Treviso. We caught the coach outside the airport (costing EUR7 each and taking a very easy 40 mins) and were sitting having coffee at Rialto Bridge in no time!

I picked the hotel knowing if I was only staying one night I wanted it to be central. And this is the perfect location for that! We found the hotel relatively easily with our map we had but you will need one to find it. It's tucked in the side street that runs parallel to San Marco Square. Although once you find it you won't forget where it is, as it's so close. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby too.

We checked in after 2pm and our room was ready, the front desk were very efficient and we were upstairs in less than 5 mins. Our bedroom was all high ceilings and venetian furniture. I had expected it to be smaller so was pleasantly surprised. It had a lot of character with big windows onto the lanes where I could see all the rooftops. The bathroom was the Hiltonesque style I hadn't expected in such an old building. Bed was comfy.

We woke up to the bells of San Marco early on Sunday morning which I found lovely, but my husband was looking for a lay-in. It had been a very hot evening and the windows were open which hadn't helped. Our air-con was typically old and not too cold but I think you have to anticipate this in Venice. We skipped breakfast and went straight out. The desk checked us out easily again (remember you pay a EUR3 tax pppn) and were happy to look after our bags for the day which was handy.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel for a city break although I did pay a lot for the room for one night. After booking the flights I discovered that it was the weekend of the Vogalonga 2012 race which is a big rowing attraction so I assumed the whole city put their prices up as is usually the case. This was the best hotel I could find centrally for around £200. However, I don't think I would pay that at any other time of year, for any longer than we stayed.

Room Tip: We were 304 - fronting onto the lane and rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver. BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked here on Points and are so glad we did. As this is part of the Bestwestern Chain we used our points to stay here and were very pleasantly surprised. The location is terrific,even though Venice is a labyrinth after a day we got our bearings and were able to find it on the first or second try each time :). The surprise was the great attitude the staff showed us, they were helpful with every request, everytime. They gave us great recommendations for dinner, for tours, for transport etc... and when we checked out they were as friendly then as with the person before us paying full price. The room was clean, airy and overlooking the street. Everything worked as it should (the a/c was non functional when we checked in but a call to the desk had it restored in short order). Breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good hotel with great location, good breakfast, decent rooms, pleasant staff. But DO NOT take the "free cruise through the canals with a visit to Murano." You will be trapped in a glass factory and showroom with an excrutiating sales pitch. Beware!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is smack bang in the middle of Saint Mark's Square down a tiny ally way. We were greeted with the most friendliest and helpful staff. The room was decked out with vintage style beds and desks but it was quite small. The room was clean and there is a lift in the hotel. Breakfast was delightful but didn't have a huge range. One of the staff members allowed us to print off our flight tickets and helped us with the water taxis. It was our most expensive hotel that we've stayed in and we were there just one night. But really, it was worth every penny!

It's worth to pay the extra dollar to stay in Saint Mark's Square rather than spend money on transport to get there! During the day, it is very busy so we found that we ventured out in the morning, came back for an afternoon nap and then ventured out again in the evening when there were hardly any people. This way, you can soak up the atmosphere better.

Five gold stars!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Montecarlo Venice in April 2012 and were pleased with our stay. The reception staff are friendly & attentive and availble 24hrs . Our room was comfortable and decorated nicely in venetian style. Obviously the rooms are not huge (this would be a rarity in Venice) however our room did not at all feel cramped.
Breakfast is buffet style mainly including cereals, yoghurt, croissants, cold meats & cheeses along with a few other items.
We checked out quite early in the morning on our third day in Venice to make our train to Rome, the only issue we encountered was a mix up with the advice given by reception staff (perhaps confusion on our part although we asked on 2 separate occasions to be sure) re: catching the ferry from the grand canal back to the train station, once at the ferry stop, none of the ferries departed in time for us to make our train (not what we had been advised) therefore had to mission it through half of Venice on foot trailing 2 large suitcases and one large item of hand luggage in the dark and rain (even with a map Venice is extremely difficult to navigate), luckily we managed to find our way!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a nice friendly hotel just two minutes walk from Piazza San Marco. Good room if slightly dated in style but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed, a mini bar, air conditioning and a reasonable shower in the bathroom. Our room was on the fourth floor giving a view across the rooftops to the Campanile. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.