We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Beautiful Room, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 382 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Beautiful Room, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I booked one night in Venice for my husbands birthday with cheap Ryanair flights to Treviso. We caught the coach outside the airport (costing EUR7 each and taking a very easy 40 mins) and were sitting having coffee at Rialto Bridge in no time!

I picked the hotel knowing if I was only staying one night I wanted it to be central. And this is the perfect location for that! We found the hotel relatively easily with our map we had but you will need one to find it. It's tucked in the side street that runs parallel to San Marco Square. Although once you find it you won't forget where it is, as it's so close. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby too.

We checked in after 2pm and our room was ready, the front desk were very efficient and we were upstairs in less than 5 mins. Our bedroom was all high ceilings and venetian furniture. I had expected it to be smaller so was pleasantly surprised. It had a lot of character with big windows onto the lanes where I could see all the rooftops. The bathroom was the Hiltonesque style I hadn't expected in such an old building. Bed was comfy.

We woke up to the bells of San Marco early on Sunday morning which I found lovely, but my husband was looking for a lay-in. It had been a very hot evening and the windows were open which hadn't helped. Our air-con was typically old and not too cold but I think you have to anticipate this in Venice. We skipped breakfast and went straight out. The desk checked us out easily again (remember you pay a EUR3 tax pppn) and were happy to look after our bags for the day which was handy.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel for a city break although I did pay a lot for the room for one night. After booking the flights I discovered that it was the weekend of the Vogalonga 2012 race which is a big rowing attraction so I assumed the whole city put their prices up as is usually the case. This was the best hotel I could find centrally for around £200. However, I don't think I would pay that at any other time of year, for any longer than we stayed.

Room Tip: We were 304 - fronting onto the lane and rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    312
    76
    20
    14
See reviews for
152
314
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver. BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked here on Points and are so glad we did. As this is part of the Bestwestern Chain we used our points to stay here and were very pleasantly surprised. The location is terrific,even though Venice is a labyrinth after a day we got our bearings and were able to find it on the first or second try each time :). The surprise was the great attitude the staff showed us, they were helpful with every request, everytime. They gave us great recommendations for dinner, for tours, for transport etc... and when we checked out they were as friendly then as with the person before us paying full price. The room was clean, airy and overlooking the street. Everything worked as it should (the a/c was non functional when we checked in but a call to the desk had it restored in short order). Breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good hotel with great location, good breakfast, decent rooms, pleasant staff. But DO NOT take the "free cruise through the canals with a visit to Murano." You will be trapped in a glass factory and showroom with an excrutiating sales pitch. Beware!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is smack bang in the middle of Saint Mark's Square down a tiny ally way. We were greeted with the most friendliest and helpful staff. The room was decked out with vintage style beds and desks but it was quite small. The room was clean and there is a lift in the hotel. Breakfast was delightful but didn't have a huge range. One of the staff members allowed us to print off our flight tickets and helped us with the water taxis. It was our most expensive hotel that we've stayed in and we were there just one night. But really, it was worth every penny!

It's worth to pay the extra dollar to stay in Saint Mark's Square rather than spend money on transport to get there! During the day, it is very busy so we found that we ventured out in the morning, came back for an afternoon nap and then ventured out again in the evening when there were hardly any people. This way, you can soak up the atmosphere better.

Five gold stars!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Montecarlo Venice in April 2012 and were pleased with our stay. The reception staff are friendly & attentive and availble 24hrs . Our room was comfortable and decorated nicely in venetian style. Obviously the rooms are not huge (this would be a rarity in Venice) however our room did not at all feel cramped.
Breakfast is buffet style mainly including cereals, yoghurt, croissants, cold meats & cheeses along with a few other items.
We checked out quite early in the morning on our third day in Venice to make our train to Rome, the only issue we encountered was a mix up with the advice given by reception staff (perhaps confusion on our part although we asked on 2 separate occasions to be sure) re: catching the ferry from the grand canal back to the train station, once at the ferry stop, none of the ferries departed in time for us to make our train (not what we had been advised) therefore had to mission it through half of Venice on foot trailing 2 large suitcases and one large item of hand luggage in the dark and rain (even with a map Venice is extremely difficult to navigate), luckily we managed to find our way!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a nice friendly hotel just two minutes walk from Piazza San Marco. Good room if slightly dated in style but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed, a mini bar, air conditioning and a reasonable shower in the bathroom. Our room was on the fourth floor giving a view across the rooftops to the Campanile. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

CONDITIONS OF STAY:

-3 night stay in 2008 (originally 4 but we took a surprise trip at the end)
-stayed in a standard double "comfort" room at the AAA-rate of 69euro/night
-This is my wife's favorite city and as a result we have gone multiple times.

FIRST IMPRESSON:

As other have noted, this hotel is in an ideal location for first-time visitors to Venice. Located about a 5-7 minute walk from the S. Marco/S. Zaccaria vaporetto stop, this hotel is about as close as you can get to walking right into your hotel from the water without actually staying in one of the hotels along the shore line. While it IS tucked away in one of Venice's classic narrow streets, there is a sign on the corner of that street with an arrow to follow to the hotel. (From the vaporetto stop, walk through Piazza San Marco keeping to your right, take a right around the basilica and you are there, basically).

When you walk in the hotel, you'll notice a particular style that is common to Venetian hotels, I'll call it "Venetian Yard Sale". Alot of "antique" looking furniture, gold/brass trimmings, carpets and wall paper with designs on them. It's cute and charming (my wife adored it) and I don't mean to make it sound negative. It is NOT dingy or dirty.

The service is warm (in fact the service led to one of our best vacation nights ever) and their English is very good (as is the case in all of the popular city hotels of Italy), you need not worry about communicating in broken Italian (though it does go a long way:). Checking in was not a problem.

To the left of the reception area is a bar and the dining room where they serve the complimentary breakfast buffet.

THE ROOM:

I have seen the pics from other reviewers, and I have to say, it looks like we lucked out. Ours was a modest size, but the layout utilized the space well. Again, this was a double "comfort" room, so perhaps the rooms are bigger than the singles? They are decorated in the same fashion as the lobby...sort of like being in a doll house. The room was clean and the best was comfortable enough.

As for the bathroom, it was small but clean. The views from our room were not interesting as this hotel is landlocked and surrounded by other buildings. YOU WILL NOT SEE CANALS FROM YOUR WINDOWS. If that is important to you, choose another hotel.

FOOD:

As stated before, this hotel includes breakfast with most of their reservations it seems. And while it is the standard bread/cheese/cold cuts/cereal/coffee-buffet common in Italy, it has proven to be the best of it's kind in all of the hotels I've stayed at in Italy. Also, there is a small bar in the hotel, and while most tourists will probably never use it, we did have a night where my wife and I came back late and the gentleman manning the desk started pouring us massive servings of grappa for free. That was amazing. So it definitely is a perk to have around.

Since you are in a central area, there is no shortage of food, though I also suggest walking a ways from the hotel as the nearby establishments are even more tourist-trappy than usual (Venice, frankly, is inundated with bad food, but there are some real great, "locals-only" places, you just have to search).

MISCELLANEOUS:

One thing to remember, you are in the San Marco area, which is the home of many of the major tourist attractions (the Basilica, Campanile, and Doge's Palace). In other words, this place gets CROWDED. Also, if you like to take advantage of off-season traveling like we do, know that this area can also get badly flooded during "high water"-season.

One major plus: Venice's "street-sign" system is aided by numerous signs that point the direction to the major areas like Piazza San Marco (in fact, you can be all the way in the Ghetto and see signs for San Marco). This was great peace of mind for us on our first visit as Venice's many alleys and bridges can take you in circles if you aren't careful.

VALUE:

This is the real issue with this hotel. We were able to get this room during low season at a great rate. However, just having gone to Venice this last February (2012), I can attest to this hotel sometimes going for upwards of 200euro/night, even more. As I do a random search right now, I'm finding it over 150/night in June. Having been back to Venice and knowing it to some degree, you quickly learn that what you are paying for at this hotel is ease and location. There are MUCH better hotels you can get at a cheaper rate if what you care about is comfort and charm. You just have to look in areas like Dosoduro, Santa Croce, or any of the other neighborhoods. There are even some other Best Westerns in Venice to choose from.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Remember, in Venice, you really never are but a short walk from something amazing or picturesque. Therefore, if you are a savvy traveler or don't mind doing a little homework/walking, you will be better served by looking up hotels outside of the Piazza San Marco area. However, if what you need is peace of mind in the knowledge that your kids will be able to find their way back to the hotel, then this hotel is a good choice.

Just don't pay over 120euro/night.

Room Tip: As for a high floor and book a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#84 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.