We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return tomorrow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kette Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kette Hotel to your Saves list
Kette Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2053 | Piscina San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Leicester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Would return tomorrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is in excellent location not far from the main attractions only a couple of minutes from st.marks, but not close enough to be disturbed by too many tourist. Rooms very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Only problem was the breakfast room got very busy and was abit cramped, however this would stop me going back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    330
    129
    43
    22
See reviews for
133
425
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

For an old hotel, which every hotel is in
Venice,
This hotel has been updated superbly.
It is in a great location for Venice. The only negative is the breakfast is a little
Disappointing, but most food in Venice is.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We only stayed in Venice one night, however this hotel was a great choice. Location was perfect and the rooms lovely. Couldn't have been cleaner and the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Drinks in the bar were a good price and the barman very friendly and chatty. We'd definitely stay here again.

We didn't have to pay for wifi so maybe this has changed now or we were just lucky. Can't think of any bad points really.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel was nice, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was decent, though a bit crowded. The lobby was nice. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. My only complaint was it they quoted me 100 euro for a private water taxi from hotel to train station, then next morning, when I tried to book it, he told me it's 120 euro now. I asked for a second price quote but apparently they only work with ONE taxi company and they are the only one that can use their back alley port. Oh well, what choice do I have with large pieces of luggage and a big group!! sigh....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Although we were only there on night, this place was very nice. Very clean, very classy. The bathrooms were very nice as well. Front desk was very nice. Our room over looked the lagoon, which was very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel at the tail end of our honeymoon to Italy. We had previously visited Rome and Florence. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is a short walk to St. Mark's place, Rialto Bridge, restaurants, shops, and all the main attractions. We had prepaid for transfers in the USA, so we were picked up at the train station and brought by water taxi to this hotel. We entered through the back entrance of the hotel through the hotel's private port on the canal. This seemed strange to us, yet it was very adventurous and exciting.

Tip: If you do not have a prepaid transfer to this hotel, you will have great difficulty finding it on our own if you decide to take the public ferry transportation. It is a tiny hotel on a narrow back street...so splurge for your own private water taxi....it is so well worth it!!

Check in was easy and quick. We were lucky to have a very nice porter wearing a green uniform who didn't speak much English, but he was so patient and kind helping us off the water taxi. I was a bit frightened stepping off that high step but he was so patient and keep saying "piano, piano" (slowly, slowly) and he helped me get out of the water taxi. He also was patient and showed us how to work the safe in the closet (you need to swipe any credit card, but the safe is free). I also asked for extra hangers and another suitcase rack (by pointing to everything). He understood and was back with everything we needed within minutes. I was impressed by such service and his smile!!

We were lucky to get a beautiful room facing the canal. The room was quite large with a big bed, lots of space to move around and a big bathroom. Everything was clean and all necessary toiletries were in the room. They also provided white robes, however, we did not use them. The air conditioning was nice and cold, just the way we like it! The best part of this room was that we could see the gondola rides pass by outside our room from the window and also hear the singers as they came by. We were serenaded during the late afternoon and early morning. What a great wake up call!!

Now for the negatives:
1)There is a PC in the lobby that you can use to print out your boarding ticket, but you have to pay 2 Euros to use the computer. Our other hotels in Rome and Florence provided this service for free and so should the Kette Hotel.
2) You have to pay the room tax upon checkout in cash only. Why?
3) This hotel does not convert money to Euros at the front desk. Why?
4) The breakfast is terrible. They call it a "buffet breakfast" but by American standards, this is simply a continental breakfast. There is nothing hot here at all. Everything is cold...coldcuts, bread (not even a toaster to make hot toast), hard boiled eggs, fruit cocktail (not fresh), juices (not fresh), croissants, cereal, etc... Our hotels in Rome and Florence had buffet breakfasts that were feasts for kings by comparison, including hot sausages and bacon, hot scrambled eggs, toasters, fresh bananas, watermelon, pineapple, cantalope (none of this at Kette Hotel).
5) ***The absolute worst part of our honeymoon was the horrible service by "certain" male employee at the front desk. He was rude and sarcastic, and made rude comments to us, that were very unprofessional and condescending. I asked to speak to the manager, but she was no where to be found. However, upon return to the USA, I did personally email her and explain what happened. She did respond promptly to apologize and said she would speak to him. If you read all the reviews on TripAdvisor, there are several other clients who mention the rude and sarcastic comments made by front desk staff. I did not want to embarrass him here by mentioning his name, so I told manager privately in an email. We did not find this rudeness in all front desk staff, however, none of them are overly friendly. Venice is an extremely difficult place to get around, especially for first time visitors. Staff should appreciate tourism and be more hospitable to us.***

We would not let this "horrible, rude man" ruin our honeymoon, so all in all, we had a great time in this beautiful city of romance and love.

More tips: Venice is extremely expensive. If you are on a budget like us we suggest you find another couple to split the gondola ride with. It cost 120 Euros for 30 minutes. We split it with a lovely British couple and it worked out rather nicely as we were able to take photos of each other. Do not eat in ristorantes (they are very expensive), instead go to Trattorias or pizza places that also serve pasta and meat. We especially enjoyed the Peggy Guggenheim museum and Dodges Palace and we also had a lovely night out at the local opera.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location of this hotel was very convenient and it was a short walk going to the key tourist places in Venice. The room was actually nice and I appreciated that they had heated bathroom floors and towel racks. The downside is that you have to pay extra to have wifi and our assigned room had no view whatsoever. It's not perfect but I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kette Hotel

Address: San Marco 2053 | Piscina San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Venice
#71 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#137 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kette Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.