We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Venice I don't think it gets any better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Hotel Baglioni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Hotel Baglioni to your Saves list
Luna Hotel Baglioni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“In Venice I don't think it gets any better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When my travel agent recommended this hotel I was a bit hesitant because of the cost, but once there I decided it was well worth it. The location is just perfect--just steps from Piazza San Marco but surprisingly quiet. Having their private boat dock for visitors is a real plus, as we observed many tourists walking all over Venice dragging their suitcases along the cobblestones and up and down bridges, because their hotel lacked this amenity and the boat transfers just dropped them off at the nearest dock--believe me, we were very glad we booked this hotel where we drew right up to the dock and we immediately helped out of the boat by smiling hotel personnel. We arrived at the hotel at 1030am but the helpful clerk in reception Marco said our room was ready and it was his favorite room. I was thinking, bet you say to all the guests, but he may have been right. The room had just undergone a major refurbishment, it still smelled of paint and some of the paint was still a bit tacky, so I am sure we were the first occupants of this newly redone room. Wow! I thought we were staying at the Doge's Palace or something. This very large room was decorated in Venetian opulence, with beautiful brocade fabrics on the walls, bed and drapes, fabulous faux finished details and an incredible bathroom with double vanities and a huge marble shower with intricately carved detail on the floor. The light fixtures in the bedroom were a huge Murano glass bowl chandelier with pendant lights on either side of the bed. It was just incredible. It seemed that maybe the hotel wasn't entirely full, perhaps that's why they gave us this wonderful upgrade, but they all seemed very proud of this room and eager to please us. Staff at la Luna Baglioni was very helpful, friendly and all spoke perfect English. The common areas of the hotel were similarly beautiful and comfortable. Even the small first floor ladies' room was a work of art. If you can afford this hotel, and it is certainly not cheap, stay here as it will be a big and unforgettable part of your entire Venetian experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
It has been for us a pleasure welcoming you at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Let us express our compliment for choosing one of our Top Suites for your stay in Venice and thank you very much for sharing your experience in this forum.
We all stay at your full disposal wish you plan to visit us again in the near future . Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    212
    58
    26
    11
See reviews for
220
575
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel Luna Baglioni is superbly situated some 100 yards from St Mark's square. It has its own private canal entrance- ideal if you are travelling from water taxi from the airport.
We were staying in Venice for 3 days with our 5 year old daughter. The hotel was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and its location excellent .In deed , their is a gondolier stop right outside and the three of us were able to enjoy the majesty of the grand canal under the guidance of our very knowledgeable gondolier.
A very nice touch was the turn over the first night . When we returned to our room following dinner, our daughter's bed had a teddy bear and a child's Venice
t shirt placed on it - gifts from the hotel.
We had a wonderful time in Venice , enhanced by the benefit of this excvellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in this forum. The Luna hotel Baglioni is not only centrally located but also has a large offer of family rooms and suites. Of course children are most welcomed and all our team strive to spoil them with those little gesture so to make every kid happy with parents appreciation. Please don’t hesitate to contact us in order to plan a future visit back to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our 3d time at the Luna. This hotel has the best location of any hotel in Venice. It is 50 steps from St. Mark's square but the hotel starts at a canal which dead ends so no tourists turn toward the hotel from St. Marks. It is absolutely a quiet haven with stunning views of St. Mark's Campanille, the Grand Canal and Giudecca island. The first 2 times at the hotel we had suites with extremely large terraces. I have attached a photo of the terrace suite. When we were told we were not getting a terrace we were depressed until we entered the suite we were given. It was perfect in every way. Venetian silk fabric wall coverings, gorgeous period furniture, a large marble bathroom with a seat in the shower, and giant picture windows which fully opened to amazing views of the Canal and Giudecca. We were in Room 504, named the Vecellio Tiziano Suite, which I strongly recommend. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast buffet is in a room with beautiful ceiling frescos. A photo of the frescos is attached. The bar is comfortable and the bartender friendly. The only negatives were the restaurant- the food was a big disappointment- and the fact they have sold out to cruise lines as a cruise line had a cruise extension at the hotel. In the past, we were the only Americans. Now, it was overrun with them. So, our little gem has been discovered. Oh well. Anyway, go for the location and the amazing suites.

Room Tip: A suite with a terrace or Room 504 are outstanding- the best in Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Being part of the aficionados repeat guest of the Luna Hotel Baglioni has its own advantage and we do thank you for you loyalty and moreover for sharing your experience in this forum. As you may know and already mentioned several times, if you really want to experience at the best this place, this city and its beauty you should choose to travel in the low season period . Feel free to contact us wish you plan to experience that and all the team will be delight to help you planning your 4th visit. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Quite simply, the perfect Hotel. I stayed for four nights in a Junior suite while two others I travelled with stayed in another suite. I arrived by water taxi from the airport into the Hotels private dock off the grand canal surrounded by the most beautiful flowers. This was my first visit to Venice, and honestly I have never had a more incredible arrival, it will be remembered forever. Greeted warmly by the door man and quickly checked in, all facilites and nearby attractions were explained and I was given my luxurious door key and shown to my perfect suite. The view was simply amazing of the grand canal and iconic buildings. Located a stones throw from St Marks and surrounding attractions, but without the noise and stream of tourists, it provides the perfect base for a stay in Venice. We rented a private boat for a trip to the surrounding islands- expensive but well worth it, it really made the trip. I won't go on about what to do in Venice but it was the most romatic and culturally interesting city I have visited. This Hotel cannot be reccomended enough, many others should learn from it grace and personal touch.

Room Tip: Pay a visit to nearby Harry's Bar if you get a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We do thank you very much for sharing your experience and more over for choosing us for your stay in Venice. As many time expressed our commitment to all guests is to share the beauty of our city, the wide historical heritage in this incredible palace with such large story to tell along with discreet attention to our guests. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and introduce you personally to the secret details of this property. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fantastic central location, 2 minutes from St Marks Square and close to water transport. Our immaculate balcony room had a lovely view but was not noisy. Beautiful interiors. Exceptional service by efficient but friendly staff. Breakfast in the gorgeous ballroom was a lovely experience and the choice of food was extensive and tasty. They spoiled us with little complementary extras in the room, in the bar and at dinner. We highly recommend Luna Baglioni to anyone and would love to come back. We visited from 18th to 22nd May 2014. What a wonderful holiday!
Mike and Sue Neal

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the Royal Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed there for one night only must say great location and olds school rooms and staff was very friendly, don't expect to much from breakfast however its Europe its a very old hotel and on the canal to give the true feel of venice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing the Luna hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice even for just one night. We all hope you will come back for a little longer stay so to appreciate the “spirit” of this old city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here as part of an Italian tour. The hotel location is amazing. Steps from St. Mark's plaza, the Doge's Palace, and the Grand Canal, and an easy walk to all the major sites, yet situated with it's own dock in a way that the hotel is a nice oasis from the hoards of tourists in the area. Water taxis can pull right up to the door, and vaporettos (public water "buses") are only a short walk away so guests don't have to drag their luggage behind them around like we saw so many others doing. Our room was a bit small by American standards, but very nice and very quiet. The hotel staff was superb. The airline lost a piece of our luggage and the concierge made numerous calls to help retrieve it. The breakfast buffet was outstanding--I challenge anyone to eat all the varieties of pastry in one sitting. Rates are a bit pricey, but we were very happy with our visit and will definitely stay there again when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and most happy to read of your positive experience at the Luna hotel Baglioni. We are moreover happy for what you describe our outstanding Buffet breakfast daily served in our gorgeous Marco Polo Ball room: a jump back to the 18th century with the fresco’s ceiling from the Tiepolo pupils. Thank you again for sharing your experience and hope to welcome you to Venice on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#88 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#91 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#58 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
Cannaregio
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
#41 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel Baglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Baglioni

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luna Hotel Baglioni 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Luna Hotel Baglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Hotel Baglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.