We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Located Luxury Hotel in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia

Save Saved
You added Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 381 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Located Luxury Hotel in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Yes its a bit dated and could do with some updating but its worth it for its fantastic location literally 30 seconds away from St Marks Square yet its still feels secluded and off the beaten track. I also loved the fact that we got off our water taxi and walked six steps before we were inside the front door of the hotel. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful so I can excuse the little niggles like the heating either being too hot which dried our eyes or too cold (because we turned it off so that we wouldn't dehydrate), the shower pressure being less than perfect, the rather old fashioned jacuzzi controls not working and the over starched bedlinen which made the sheets quite hard and a bit itchy.
We were there to celebrate my husband's and my own birthday and we found a bottle of Champagne and sweet treats in our suite (we were upgraded to a bigger suite with a picture postcard view of the water) when we arrived and another bottle of Champagne the evening before we left. Even though I don't drink Champagne we appreciated the touch.
Would I go back there again? Yes I would - When you have been walking around Venice on foot all day you appreciate your hotel being located so close to the main attraction in the city especially when you get a bit lost in the maize of narrow streets (as we did). All roads lead to....St Marks Square!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear ilana613,
Let us thank you for your precious feedback and for sharing your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Right to help every guest as already mentioned in this forum, linen bed sheet may be replaced with cotton ones on request. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Venice -Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    142
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
132
357
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

An amazing hotel, impeccably maintained, professional and friendly staff and in the perfect location!! 5 star luxury, service and prices, but worth every penny!! If you are going to Venice for a special occasion this hotel will not disappoint !! We booked a Superior double room and it was very impressive!

Room Tip: 501 was an excellent room - no view, but spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Strouddy,
We are happy to read your review and thank you for the kind words of appreciation on our staff, location and service. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Italy and let you share another experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Just off San Marco the Luna Baglioni could not be better situated. Reception/Concierge team service was excellent. Local Dining and visits they recommended - similarly superb. Great food and wine in the Hotel's restaurant. Room - tastefully decorated.
An oasis in the bustling heart of Venezia.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear NickLWright,
Let us thank you for sharing your positive experience and also for the lovely words about our restaurant Canova where our chef Cosimo offer local specialties and revise some old venetian recipes of the doges’ time. Hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel was chosen by my husband as a surprise birthday present for me and he couldn't have pleased me more! We arrived right at the door by water taxi, were given a beautiful room with a view of the lagoon and treated wonderfully from start to finish. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was good, and it was in an excellent position right on St Marks Square.
Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Julie_gainsborough
Let thank you for choosing one of our Lagoon Suite to celebrate your birthday and more over thank you for sharing your experience in this forum. We all hope to see you again in our lovely city for a new emotion. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Before I decided to choose this hotel, I read many reviews on "trip advisor" about some hotels in venice . I was comparing Baglioni with Westin Regina and Danieli then decided to take the one which gives me the best offer . Luckily it was Baglioni. I stayed 2 nights only with my wife at this hotel and we loved it. Our room was 305.The location is great . You go out of the hotel to see Chanel and Louis Vuitton shops just next door. Everything is just around the corner. The hotel management is up to the high class level of the hotel. Breakfast is nice and rich though the main breakfast room was closed for maintenance I guessed. We stayed on 8th and 9th of January and it is the lowest season for Venice and this was not nice. I got a good rate through Expedia and for sure I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Khalloudi,
Let us thank you for your kind review and for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice. Although is not your favorite period the low season gives great advantages to traveler like: no tourist hustle and bustle, magic atmosphere on the winter calm lagoon at sunset and moreover convenient rates. Hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally, on your next visit to our lovely city and let you see the restored fresco ceiling of the Marco Polo ball room. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are small but well kept and nicely presented. The location is excellent and the staff are very accommodating. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Djr1980,
Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay in Venice at The Luna Hotel Baglioni. Our Superior rooms are right the EU size and bigger sizes starts from De Luxe rooms and up. Depending on availability we are used to upgrade our guest. Hope to have this chance or your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 5th to 8th January 2013. The hotel kindly agree to my request for an upgrade from Deluxe to suite and even managed to fulfill my request for a lagoon view if possible. The suite, the staff, the breakfast and also the dinner in the Cannova restaurant were all top class flawless service. All the staff speak excellent English and were some of the most welcoming and polite I have encountered. This hotel is not cheap but it delivered us the most excellent service. They even provided some bubbly and chocolate coated strawberries as it was my wife's Birthday all part of the service. The position is fantastic right next to St Mark's square. Would stay here again without a moments hesitation if we wanted a treat in Venice.

Room Tip: If you have a special occasion ask for a possible upgrade - if they have room to accomodate then my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Paul007_12

Bravo! Let indulge from time to time we all deserve a treat! Thank you for sharing this great thought of yours in this forum and hope to meet you personally at the Luna Hotel Baglioni on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia

Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni
Address: San Marco 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#36 Family Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Hotel Baglioni Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.