We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Hotel Baglioni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Hotel Baglioni to your Saves list
Luna Hotel Baglioni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a suite in this hotel and were upgraded to the Presidential suite, as the this the low season. The service was impeccable and the room very quiet, located on the two top floors.
Eeverything was perfect and the concierge very hepful for our trip around the city.

Room Tip: High floor over the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jimLondon845,
We are happy to read of your positive experience here at the Luna Baglioni and thank you for choosing a top product for your stay in our Hotel. Hope to meet you personally on your future trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    212
    58
    26
    11
See reviews for
220
576
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this magnificent hotel for four nights in November. It is gorgeous. We had booked two rooms and were upgraded to a suite with a separate room next door for our daughter and her friend. We also had a private hallway with a locked door. The rooms were beautifully decorated with the most outstanding woodwork. I cannot say enough about the staff. Absolutely top notch from the front desk, to the breakfast room, fine dining, bar, and maid service. We were there when Venice had terrible flooding and we were truly impressed with the hotel staffs efficiency in taking care of their guests and their flooded lobby. The hotel is on a canal so we arrived by private water taxi. To take a gondola we simply walked out the door and stepped into it. Perfect! The general manager is doing an outstanding job running this top notch hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Savytraveler32136,
We are happy to read your review and thank you for the kind words of appreciation on our staff, rooms and service. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Italy to share another experience.. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I emailed the Luna Baglioni Staff before I departed and arranged my private airport transfer including a meet and greet arrival, for our one night stay before sailing on the Regent 7 Seas Mariner Ship. My Paris-Venice flight was a mis-connect so we had to change our arrival times twice (make sure u add the hotel's tel.no.to your smartphone). The Concierge was cheerful and accepted our changes with sympathy. We arrived at the Venice airport at 8 PM and were greeted by a 500 class Mercedes driver, and a quick ride to the pier for my private motor launch (just like a Bond film) at night with the brilliance of the building lights glimmering off the water. The launch pulled right up to the Luna pier door-Outstanding arrival! This hotel is located next to St. Marks, this is where you want to be no where else. Even though the Square had 6 inches of water on it - stilted sidewalks were provided for pedestrians. The 3 person staff laughed as they spoke to us in English about our 3 changes in the arrival time.that The Luna room on the top floor (5th) 504, had silk padded walls and high ceilings with Murano Glass chandeliers and a bathtub for 2. The shower could fit 4 adults, no we didn't do that! We had a late dinner at the Luna dining room - the service and the food was outstanding esp. the cioppino with a giant crayfish crown. If you are a "cheapo" don't even think about it. Stay in Mestre outside of Venice at a Hilton for 150 Euros. The room cost was 450 Euros, and the meal was 137 Euros for 2 with wine. Remember all tips are included for the launch (180 Euros), and the meals. The morning breakfast buffet was included and based on our room number 504 we were personally served by the Maitre'D. Yes it was costly, but it was a life time memory that you can dream about. The next day we could have gone by ground taxi to the ship, but why spoil the dream we took a private motor launch to the Ship pier (120 Euros) for our 10 day cruise from Venice to Monte Carlo. Great memory forever.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor the view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear PittsburghPhil70,
Let us thank you for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice. We right suggest to everyone to indulge in an outstanding experience sometimes during the year and hope to welcome you again in Venice for another emotion. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Tauck Tour. We really enjoyed it. The location was AMAZING. Our room was HUGE. Breakfast was included in our package and it was very well stocked every day. The front desk staff was very pleasant and housekeeping was on the ball. The only thing we lacked was hangers, but we also never bothered to ask for more and just made due. Highly recommend. Oh, the one annoying thing - that wasn't the hotel's fault - is the sound of people dragging there rolling suitcases over the cobblestone streets...it drove me crazy! It seemed to go on all hours of the day and night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear sfordu ,
We are happy to read you review and thank you for posting it in this forum. Just for information we do have very quiet rooms on the north side of the hotel would you avoid the street noise. Hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Venice . Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel ia perfectly placed for St Mark's Square. It was wonderful to arrive by water taxi right to the front door. Had a wonderful deluxe room and the ambience and atmosphere at the hotel is excellent. All the staff were very accommodating and made us very welcome. The breakfast was great with such a veriety of food available, and the breakfast room was incredible with wonderful artwork on the ceiling and walls.

The day of our departure was affected by high tide and the staff worked hard to keep the water under control. They maintained the level of service for us and assisted us greatly in getting us to the airport despite the difficulties they were facing. Would highly recommend this hotel and plan to go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Despite the room being over an alley way, there was no problem with any noise in the evenings. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Iren G,
Let us thank you for your kind words and in particular for describing the high tide moments you lived during your departing day. We wish one more time reassure everybody in this forum about this event that may cause some issue only during the peak of the tide and that our staff manage the situation to assure everything goes smooth. Wasn’t it special having seen the city during this particular happening? Gianmatteo Zampieri – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked Superior room ,but was unexpectedly upgraded to suite with terrace looking onto the Lagoon free of charge. As a solo traveller experiencing Venice for the first time (as a birthday treat), Marco and especially the Room Service team made my short stay extra special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Tanya R,
Happy to hear your satisfaction and thank you for your kind words to Marco and the staff service. We are most pleased to let our guest first experience to enjoy an upgrade when available. Hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in Venice on your next trip to Italy. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went for a long weekend in early November. We chose the Luna Baglioni because of it's location - right behind St Mark's Square and because we could get a water taxi right to the door.

Oh dear, the day we arrived it was high tide and Venice was flooded. The water taxi could only drop us off at the St Mark's Square waterbus stop because it couldn't fit under the small bridge in front of the hotel. Not a problem we thought - it's a short walk through St Mark's Square to come back round to the hotel. The water in St Mark's (and all the streets around) was a foot deep. There were stall holders selling waterproof overshoes (ten euros a pair). This is obviously a regular thing!
We bought the shoes and waded around to the hotel. At the hotel they were mopping up in the lobby. They apologised - not their fault - and we checked in. Our room wasn't ready - it was only 12pm - so we left our bags and waded out in search of lunch. There were limited restaurants open. They were mostly mopping out or closed due to electrical failures.
After lunch we got back at 2.15pm. Room still not available. We waited in the lobby for while and were eventually shown to our room. We were told to hand in our room key if we went out so that staff would know when to service our room - good idea we thought.

It was a superior double, huge bed, spacious room, beautifully furnished with "internal" views of storage sheds, AC units etc. The bathroom had a spa bath and bidet and double sinks.

Breakfast is served in the stunning ballroom with mirrors, painted ceilings etc. The staff are wonderful and the selection plentiful.

The "system" of knowing when we were out so they didn't disturb us when servicing our room didn't work. One day it was serviced after 3.30pm, when we had just got back from being out all day and wanted to relax. One day it was serviced while we were out for breakfast (key not handed in), but that was great. We once came back from dinner after 8.30pm and the room hadn't been turned down. We put up the do not disturb sign because we were getting ready for bed. One day turndown occurred at 5pm when we were in getting ready to go out. Not a big problem, but why mention the benefit of handing in the key if it's not going to be followed through.

When we left the tide was high again, but the water taxi managed to get under the bridge (just) to pick us up outside the hotel.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the hotel for it's location (but be aware of tide times), the beautiful rooms / furnishings and the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Luna Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Chocgirl,
Let us thank you for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice and moreover for sharing your experience. We would like to reassure everybody in this forum that this city was born from waters and high tide (acqua alta) is a possible event that may cause some issue only during the peak of it. Chronicle of the very past times talks about it and we should only take good care to avoid transfer ( arrival or departure ) in the peak time and/or organize an alternative opportunity for your movements in the city. Our concierges are constantly at your disposal in case of necessity to offer all possible alternatives, please don’t hesitate to contact them for any information on high tide. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our lovely city even with the tides. Gianmatteo Zampieri – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#87 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#90 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#56 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
Cannaregio
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
#40 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel Baglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Baglioni

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Family Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luna Hotel Baglioni 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Luna Hotel Baglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Hotel Baglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.