We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very centric and excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Splendid Venice to your Saves list
Starhotels Splendid Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very centric and excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed just in the heart of Venetia. You pass by the hotel when you go from San Marco to Rialto, to the Academia, ...
Hotel staff is very helpful. We had a little issue with our room and they changed it to a better one immediately.
There is a lovely terrace with excellent views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Orifb,

I would like to thank you for reviewing Starhotels Splendid Venice on this website.
We deeply appreciated your comment and we are glad to know that your time here was well spent.
We do hope to welcome you back in the next future.

Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    581
    109
    27
    18
See reviews for
297
1,067
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a really bad experience with this hotel. First, let me start with the good… the location of this place is great and our room was very clean! We really enjoyed the shops around the area, there is a convenient water taxi stand right outside of the hotel and it is located very close to the square. The breakfast was great and most of the staff was super nice. Okay, the bad… we were grossly overcharged for this hotel. We were mislead about the price going into our stay at the hotel. We spoke with the front desk staff and management staff and they could not / would not do anything about the charges. After checking around on the travel websites the hotel was charging us almost $500 more a night… REALLY??? They wouldn't let us cancel our reservation or change it and they wouldn't even cut us a break at all. We were stuck and they had us over a barrel. I've emailed and contacted Starhotels without any response or resolution. If you stay here, PLEASE be really careful of your charges and make sure you read your reservation sheet very very carefully!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Melissa R,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this comment.
In regards of your situation, please feel free to contact me at s.pisani@starhotels.it if the situation still results unresolved.
Thank you as well for highlighting the positive side of your stay and together with my team I hope to welcoming your again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and although the superior double room didn't refer to its size, it was clean and the location is fantastic. The shower and king size bed were of high quality but unfortunately mosquito's in April and no air conditioner kept us awake a few nights. Other than that, very recommendable hotel if you like to stay in the middle of the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Jiapei,

Thank your very much for taking your time to leave such a positive comment on this website.
I am truly sorry if you have faced the issues highlighted. your feedback is extremely important for us as it helps to improve the service torwards our guests.
Together with my team we do hope to welcoming you back ar Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great breakfast, great interior design, great hotel. Service was average but you cant expect much in italy.

Went with wife and kid, happy with the spacious room. All hotels in venice are small, yet this one is pretty generous with room size. It doesnt compromise with convenience and in-room facilities.

Breakfast was outstanding. Not much selection but very high quality.

The combination between vintage and modern interior design makes this hotel a rare gem in venice. 2 mins walk from st.peter, making this hotel an easy reach from main destinations around Venice.

Gondola ride is right in front of hotel. Some say its not worth the price, but if youre in venice, its worth it. Give it a shot.

If you take water taxi from the station, make sure you ask the driver to drop you off right in front of the hotel, or else they ll just drop you at the closest harbor and you'll have to drag your bags all the way to the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Damonhakim,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comment about our hotel on this website.
We are very glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable and we do hope to welcome you back again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, centrally located between St. Marks Square and the Rialto bridge. The hotel is exquisitely decorated, with a gorgeous terrace ( you have to use a different lift to get to it). The breakfasts are great and plentiful. The staff were extremely helpful. The upgraded bedroom and bathroom (a bit small) was furnished nicely and had a canal view (which you really didn't get the benefit from being on the third floor) - leaving the window open as the room was so hot (the air con is rubbish!) meant that the early morning traders on their gondolas woke us up early with their noise. As we were there in April we had a few mosquito visitors during the night - not pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Gail062,

I would like to thank you for your precious time to share your comment on this website.
It is definitely a pleasure for us to know that your time here was well spent.
We do hope to welcome you again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is very well located.
We found it very expensive for what we get, but we believe that this is Venice.
The staff has a good disposition and especially Danilo one concierge who helped us a lot.

Room Tip: we like the new building better than the old one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Daniel b,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your comment on this website.
On behalf of Danilo, I would like to thank you for mentioning his name.
Together with my team we do hope to welcoming you back again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is located right between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's which made it easy to find and a perfect location for visiting Venice. We had a room with a canal view and it was fun watching the Gondolas drift pass our window. The rooms were clean and much larger than we expected. The best part of the hotel was the rooftop terrace, it was beautiful and a great place to relax with a glass of wine.The staff was very helpful, one night people in the apartment building next to our room were a little rowdy and the hotel moved our room so we could get some sleep before our flight, they were very accommodating and understanding.
Tip if you stay here:
Ask for a canal view room in advance
Take the Water bus to the Rialto stop its easy to find skip the expensive water taxis
Go to the rooftop at sunset

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear crtnycnnrs,

I would like to thank you for your nice review.
It is such a pleasure to know that your stay was pleasant and I do hope you will have the chance to visit us again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside, its pleasant, cozy areas and rooms unwind, conveying an elegant atmosphere. It features a restaurant, cafe, panoramic rooftop terrace, library, music room and a charming internal private piazza where one can enjoy the warmth of its fireplace in the winter. The 165 bedrooms, ranging from superior to suites, offer all the modern comforts requested for an unforgettable stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Splendid Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.