We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, good location and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice to your Saves list
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, good location and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We loved the location on the Grand Canal. It was easy to transport from the train station and
to the airport and easy to walk to Piazza San Marco, shopping and restaurants. The hotel
was full of beautiful marble, very clean and had an excellent staff. The deal they had for a family helped with 2 adult children and the cost of 3 rooms. The conciege staff was very helpful during
our stay and I Thank you, Marco for mailing me my car key which I left in my room!!
We also had rooms on the side of the hotel that gave us views of the canal and were very
quiet for sleeping. We had no problem with WIFI. Loved Venice and loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms 308, 309 and 310 were quiet, had a small terrace and a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about your recent stay at The Westin Europa & Regina. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations during your stay and we are really happy that you enjoyed our property.
We will ensure to pass on your comments to the rest of our team, expecially to Marco at the Concierge desk, and look forward to welcoming you back to Venice very soon.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    411
    171
    92
    51
See reviews for
310
752
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arranged our private water taxi through Consorzio Motoscafi Venezia website 180 return return as we found the hotel one way quote 190 euros insulting and this ran like clockwork, definately recommended. Allow 30-45 mins transfer from Marco Polo. On arrival 1pm we dropped our bags and had lunch in venice until our room was ready 3pm. I found the reception could be improved, two staff but only one checking guests in the other looking busy making calls and shuffling paper, do that in the back please, if your out front your there for the guest. Despite two lines of guests queuing, one line in front each staff, she did not serve or direct them to the other line, just left them their queuing. No welcome drink or welcome at all. Please make note of the access to your room, our room could only be accessed by the lift on the right of the foyer thru the lounge area. The main lift in the foyer does not access all rooms which we discovered after walking the corridors looking for our room. We booked direct with British Airways hotel and flights inclusive package from Heathrow on a room only basis upgrading for the stunning luxury grand canal view lavishly furnished room with romantic ambience. The hotel emailed asking if we wanted smoking / non smoking separate twin or two twins pushed together to create a king. The twin beds did not work for two reasons, firstly of course its hardly fitting for romantic ambience and secondly, most annoying they slide apart very easily, even just brushing by will move the beds on the polished floors.The room itself was great, everything we had hoped, the view overlooking the grand canal with three large full height windows. All day the gondilors pass by the hotel and most afternoons the seranading can be heard. Wave and all will wave back, I loved this. Tip, ask for the safety catches to be removed
or you will not be able to opon the windows yourself. Housekeeping I think is too late, 5pm and 3pm we returned to unmade beds, towels in the bath etc, used cups on the table. Upgraded rooms need priority considering the surcharge.
The breakfast although pricey 35 euros each it worth the experience at least once for the morning sunshine and ambience on the terrace. Our second day we simply ate elsewhere in the city. The location is good, you exit through the rear of the hotel by reception onto the courtyard. Note the rear rooms have an unpleasant outlook and I was glad we had upgraded. Then walk through a tiny alleyway, the only time we smelt bad water during our visit, over a
quaint bridge and gondolier station and your hit your first shops, Prada, Louis Vuition, Chanel, Dior and onto St Marks Square, no more than 10 minutes. We found many reasonable priced restaurants if you head out of the main square 9 euro pizza/ pasta. A little further maybe 20 mins walk many many Bacari serving Cichetti for 1-2 euros.
The inroom spa is a joke really, no treatment list, no pricelist but they will make a call on your behalf to a local provider, basically the concierge will try his best, not really being offered by the hotel, the uptake must be very poor and I dont know why they promote this as a service on the website.
On checking out we again found the reception lacking, two staff but only one dealing with checkout, the other busy with staring into the computer. We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay just presented with the room charges, city tax, wifi 12 euros a day! breakfast, we paid and that was that.
A friendlier welcome, a welcome drink and a king bed would have enhanced our stay, but we loved the room views, the location and the grandeur.

Room Tip: Ask for the safety catches to be removed in canal facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

From a purely aesthetic perspective, the Westin Europa & Regina is lovely. Marble dominates the reception, bar, and common areas. The room I stayed in (one of the five suites) was spacious and clean. The hotel is located on the Grand Canal and offers those who have never seen the wonder of Venice a front row vista of the many singing gondoliers, the church of Santa Maria della Salute and the general hustle and bustle of a city completely at one with its very particular geographic nuances. Yet, like the “Golden Dancer” metaphor from Inherit the Wind, beauty and wonder can too often prove superficial.

Upon check-in, a professional and polite woman who spoke clearly and kindly greeted us. Her colleague was another story entirely. Nothing is more off-putting than the cliché snobbery of those in customer service. This attitude pervaded those in positions of authority. While the luggage, restaurant and bar staffs were warm and friendly (two women breakfast servers were especially warm and lovely), their "superiors" were aloof at best; far too often, they were dismissive. When waiting to ask the Concierge a question about making our way to Burano, he took two phone calls, and engaged in dialogue with a colleague. When he finally found time to address our question, his response was no more helpful than what we had already read in our travel guide. Organizing water taxis also proved time consuming and taxing; keep in mind that private water transportation in Venice is expensive.

The bar staff was friendly and accommodating save for one of the evening managers who seemed too easily dismayed when my party and I decided to have dinner at the grouping of couch and chairs we had been occupying for an hour. At the risk of sounding provincial, it seemed to me -and those in my party- that some tables (those speaking Italian) were treated better than those that were not (complementary snacks and appetizers offered/more attentive service provided). When I spoke to the manager in Italian, attitudes improved. This might be an error in my perception, but perception is one's reality; those in management would benefit from being more welcoming of all visitors.

On a positive note, the drinks served at the bar are wonderful. The negroni and Aperol spritzes are excellent and perfect for the setting. Be warned: the bartender pours generously.

The Westin workout facility is average and offers treadmills, a small collection of free-weights and a few machines.

The real reason for staying at the Europe & Regina is its location. Its Grand Canal status as well as its closeness to the Piazza San Marco and many high-end boutiques makes it a good option for those in the mood for strolling and spending money.

Room Tip: I would not worry about getting a room with a view as these are rare. Opt for space instead. Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay at The Westin Europa & Regina was not fully to your satisfaction. Your feedback, with positive and negative issues, is greatly appreciated and has been passed to the relevant departments to follow up.
We do really hope to welcoming you again in a near future to restore you complete faith in The Westin Europa & Regina by ensuring you receive a true Westin experience.
With best regards
Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My first visit to this city was met with warm and gracious Italian hospitality. Weary and tired from a long overnight flight I asked the concierge desk for a personal guide to this magnificent city,without hesitation he said be here at 3p.m.....it was the best city tour I have ever has the pleasure to experience!! Oh and the location is without a doubt the best. I thank the folks from food and beverage to the housekeepers, front desk,and concierge. As we say in the south," you rock "..many, many thanks for a blissfully refreshing vacation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
What make us happy the most is satisfied guests! Your review is wonderful!
Our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to know the team has done that with you. We all here look forward to welcoming you back for another blissfully refreshing vacation and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for assistance or for reservations.
Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

If it were not for its location, and it being part of Starwood, I would not even think about staying here. Our room, 442 was in a blind spot for the wifi so we had to stand in the hallway if we wanted to get our emails. This hotel is just not up to the standard of other Westin hotels.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, which has received our best attention. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your room and on the other hand , we are glad you appreciated our location.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Europa & Regina to enable us to create a better experience for you.

With very best regards,

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Definitely not luxury but VERY clean. Location near cruise ships is main feature. Multi-national clientel ...mostly families with children. There is an elevator to all the floors. Check-in time was hectic.No welcoming drinks as reported by previous reviewers. Beautiful, ample breakfast served in a magnificent garden setting. Very helpful staff. They arranged to have a land taxi pick me up at the airport....he was wonderful...Roberto. They also arranges to have him drive me to the cruise ship. He took care of my luggage so I didn't have to carry anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our breakfast terrace and with our Concierge desk in particular... I will certainly pass your comments on to Roberto
Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the near future.

With very best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lovely hotel in a very good location, close to San Marco. It was fairly easy to find once you get off at San Marco-Vallaresso stop. From the restaurant, you have a beautiful view of the Grand Canal. Have a sit outside and watch as the gondolas pass you by, while directly in front of you is the Santa Maria della Salute.

Pricey hotel, but it is expected. Everything in Venice is expensive. The check-in was smooth, but the front desk agent was not so warm. It looked like she had to force a smile...tsk tsk...hospitality remember???

Once arrived to my room, it was all that I expected. It was spacious and comfortable as it should be, after all it is a Westin/Starwood property.

I would stay again, regardless of the initial check-in experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice

Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#77 Family Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.