We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Westin Europa in Venice, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice

Save Saved
You added The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 382 hotels in Venice
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wedding at the Westin Europa in Venice, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just had our daughter's wedding at the Westin Europa & Regina in Venice. Guests flew in from the USA, Australia, Mexico and the UK as well as from various parts of Italy. It's difficult to describe how successful the event was. The location is staggeringly beautiful, the service and support in planning the wedding during the last 12 months has been exemplary, but the wedding of our little girl to an American was divinely romantic and the party afterwards was sensational.
Many told us this was the best wedding they had ever been to and one guest wrote on Facebook, "Will someone please wake me, I must be dreaming."
Even when a couple of guests after midnight, a little the worse for wear, decided to strip to their pants and leap into the Grand Canal, the hotel staff showed remarkable self control in admonishing the culprits.
The terrace of the hotel fronts the Grand Canal and is opposite San Salute church. This has to be the best terrace in all of Venice. Guests would stroll out of the reception party, either in groups or individually, simply to gaze in awe.
A huge thank you to all at WE&R for making this occasion simply the best.

Room Tip: If you're thinking about a wedding in Venice, call Raffaele Ruffolo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding! We are delighted that the wedding was such a success. I will share this great review with all The Westin Europa & Regina Staff and I will personally pass this lovely comment in particular to Raffaele and the Management & Event team, as I am sure it will make their day.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we all look forward to welcoming back soon.
Very best regards,
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    628
    358
    157
    86
    45
See reviews for
257
653
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed in this Venetian style decorated hotel. It is extremely well located but with the tranquility of the gran canal. Walking everywhere was close. SInce it is an alley it is very quiet but as soon as you walk out you can feel the chaos of St. Mark´s upon you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

On the grand canal, location was lovely. Disappointed not to get a room with a view, but there are just so many available. The room was lovely. Service and attitude were so-so. We had an escort and the hotel was still very difficult to find. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - you'll receive a few extra square feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This georgeous hotel is a bit hard to find but has a great location right at the entrance of the Gran Canal. The views from the outside bar and the partial view of the Canal from our room were great. Well kept and good size room with a very clean bathroom. Only complaint is that the shower had no hot water. There was hot water in a hand held shower but nowhere to put it comfortably to shower hands free.
The bartenders were extremely helpfull in recomending good not touristy restaurants which we tried and were not disapointed. The recommendations from the Consierge were pure touristy and we went by to ck them out but not in to dine.. We would have loved to enjoy the sights from the bar more often but the prices for the drinks are very steep, I think too much even for a top rated hotel.
The staff upon ck in and ck out was very good and friendly. And the person who brought us ice to the room upon request was so friendly and accomodating; went back for a cork opener, opened the wine bottle, etc. with such a good disposition to help!
I do not know how the rooms without a view are but I think that the charm of the hotel is the room with a view. Otherwise you can get a good but less expensive hotel. Of course, this is a Westin and generally you can't go wrong with a Westin!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great hotel but really hard to find. If you go to Venice be sure to ask how you get to your hotel. It is very hard to maneuver luggage over bridges and steps and there are a lot of bridges. If I didn't ask for help we would of never found it. You have to look on the ground to find the word Regina. You have to go down 2 alley ways to find it.

The staff was very helpful and our room was very large with a view of the canal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We naturally are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room and that our staff met your expectations.
As far as our location is concerned, our dreamy Grand Canal location does place us off the main street and the most convenient way to find us is to arrive via water. Of course arriving to our street entrance may be a little difficult the first time you visit however our 24-hour Clef d'Or Concierge service is at guests disposal to provide personalized solutions for each guest. We look forward to welcoming you again in a very next future
With best regard

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We chose Venice to end our Italian holiday as we wanted to end on a high note. We have been to Venice more than 8 times over the past few years and know the city very well. We are well aware of accommodation prices in Venice. We therefore realised that a room with a Grand Canal view with private balcony would not come cheap. We also booked a normal room for our children which was more than adequate.

Check-in proceded without fault and met our expectations.

Our room was lovely and newly decorated. We had a full view of the Grand Canal. It was a bit sterile in atmosphere but we look look past it all as we had the view to compensate after all.

We soon realised that service levels were lacking, especially for a Westin brand hotel. We requested a hotel directory which after six attemps was provided the night before we checked out. As the duty manager agreed with me on the second day, this was not up to standard for a five star hotel. Needless to say that the directory still did not materialise that day.

There were various other small niggling problems but as we did not want to "sour" our holiday, we just let them slide.

Upon departure only did we find out that we could have used a pool at a partner hotel on the Lido with complementary transfers by private boat.

Another problem was that we were not accompanied to our rooms upon arrival. Five Star hotels in Westin in particular (wherever we have stayed before) have made it a specific point to accompany us to the rooms and show us all features and facilities.

On the second day our room had not been serviced by the time we returned at 14h00. Upon complaint, I was told that I should have informed the housekeeper that I was leaving the room and they could service it. I have never come across this in my life!!! The manager on duty agreed with with and offered me a drink on the veranda while this was rectified. This was a good touch. Some minor issues that I pointed out to him in our childrens' room was fixed as well.

In summary:

- This is a beautiful hotel located in a superb position. It has wonderful furnishings (even though the orchids in reception were all dead and wilted) and ambiance - so good score here

- The services seem to be totally disjointed with certain departments clearly functioning to 5 star standards whilst others were, frankly speaking, pitiful - very poor score here.

Advice to all that select this hotel: Ensure that you get the service level standards that you are paying for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is beautiful. The rooms were comfortable fresh and fit perfectly into venice. Wish we would have stayed here our full stay in venice, next time we will. The view from our room was heavenly. The staff is very freindly and the service is great. Would reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants an upscale place.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, but both rooms we stayed in were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us at The Westin Europa & Regina, and hope to welcome you back, soon.
With very kind Regards
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice

Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#59 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#79 Family Hotel in Venice
#99 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque escape on the Grand Canal, The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice faces the beautiful Santa Maria della Salute church. Explore the city from our canal-side location: the famous monuments of Piazza San Marco, shopping, and the incomparable poetry of Venice are steps away. Guestrooms and suites, many renovated and some with large terraces, offer city or water views and contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.