We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gardena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gardena Hotel to your Saves list
Gardena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 239, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good 3 star property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here in the middle of November, just after the floods, and the weather was beautiful. Hotel is very conveniently located to catch boats down the Grand Canal or out via the lagoon. You can easily walk from here to St. Mark's Square in less than 30 minutes - first time it's a case of finding one's way but that's all part of the fun of Venice - discovering numerous little canals and neighbourhoods. We did a package through Voyage Prive which was a great deal and we were upgraded to a superior room. Good size and a big bathroom. Very comfortable bed and clean. Breakfast in the morning was the usual basic continental - cereals, rolls, cheese and ham - which was fine. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
151
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We went to Venice for our wedding anniversary for 3D/2N. Reading through the TA's reviews we have chosen this 3star perfectly located to all what are to see and enjoy Venice. Walking distance to the bus station, train station, water bus stations, Grand canal, and exciting night life spots. When you plan to go to Venice, Sta Croce is the perfect starting point. And Hotel Gardena is a very practical place to stay.

The reception is clean and shiny, the breakfast is varied and you can eat as many as you can (I had 10 boiled eggs one morning), the Room 35 is spacious with canal view, the staffs are very attentive and always communicates with their never-ending smiles even I'm not sure if we understand each other but still everything can be resolve using all sorts of communication skills.

We can highly recommend this hotel as I have nothing unedible to say, and we will come back and stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited for 4 days a week before the floods. The worst for 22years.
Flew into Marco Polo and bought a bus ticket to Venezia.7 euros. You have to validate your tickets before travel...little thingie at the bus stop ( same for vaporetto ones)
It's ok the machine has English - you just press for the correct language.
Short journey took us to Venice bus station - 20 mins tops. Short walk across the bridge and turn left- over a smaller bridge and you're there.
Couldn't fault the service in the hotel and the cute peach and cream dining room with leather chairs...breakfast was much more than adequate. So much so we only had a small snack at lunchtime.
Big bed room, small balcony for the smokers. Overlooks a small garden you can eat in the summer...lovely comfy bed...though the room itself could have done with a lick of paint.
Super Tratoria just a short walk form the Hotel . Rosa Dei Vente. Great food. Not too expensive for Venice :-)
Would definitely visit again.
72 hour vaporetti tickets definitely worth the outlay. Our first two days were spent cruising the Grand Canal; and just jumping off for look-sees...Visit SAn Marco ( If hte water has gone down ) at Midnight with the orchestras....Magic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel reception looked really clean and new. But when I looked closer, there were bits that looked like Reno half done.
We got room 21, if I remember correctly. The room itself felt really really small, but the bathroom was huge.
I peeked into the other rooms as I walked past them while being cleaned, the other rooms on the same floor was definitely way better and larger.
Breakfast was served in a little room at the back of reception. Sufficient and the ladies serving were really nice and welcoming.
Won't say I wold stay here again due to the luxury of choice in Venice. But still worth 3 stars.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we visited Venice on a Voyage Prive deal, and yes, we got the room behind reception.
negatives first then! if you like to sleep in, this room will be a problem for you, the breakfast is set at about 06:30 each morning and is quite noisy. that's as bad as it gets!

positives: the Hotel is really easy to find from the train or bus station, not quite so easy from the Alilaguna, but it's a great way of seeing the city on your arival.
we found the position to be convenient for visiting all the main sights, Venice is quite a small City, if you get tired you can always hop on a water bus.

point to remember, you might need a good old British stiff upper lip when your bill in a resaurant turns up (apologies to other nationalities!) don't faint, drinks really seem to make the price rise exponentionaly! at the end of the day though it's worth it.

highlight of our trip (and many other people i think) was a tour party of Japanese tourists with plastic bags on their feet because of the floods!
low point having to go back to work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, especially if you take the number 5 bus from Marco Polo. It's a stones throw from where the bus drops you off but you don't feel like you are in the vicinity of a bus depot. You're right on a canal. Breakfast was good typical continental but lots of options too. Good coffee. Rooms were a little dated but I think the majority of hotels are like this in Venice. Rising damp and all that.

My request for a garden room was acknowledged but never materialised. We asked for a street map of Venice that I just saw the man at the desk hand out to another customer, to which he responded, " I'm not the tourist information you know." I would argue that hotel receptions do act in part, as tourist information for their paying customers. He did how ever, with a bit of grump, give us a map. So all in all, the hotel gets and OK. Not bad value in a very good location for a base for 2 or 3 days in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice, clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff and well-situated in Venice. Would definitely recommend for a weekend stay. We booked with an offer which stated we would stay in an "upgraded room".. but looking at some of the photos there were definitely nicer rooms to stay in! Unfortunately, don't have any pics of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#172 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#205 of 383 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#177 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#97 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#299 of 383 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#107 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Santa Croce 239, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gardena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.