We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto to your Saves list
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is absolutely stunning with friendly staff too. Our room was beautiful and spacious with everything you need for a short break away. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a beautiful room overlooking the grand canal. It is truly worthy of the four stars, not something you can say often.

The location was perfect, very central to get to anywhere you want to go and not too touristy upon emerging from the hotel. We got the alilaguna from the airport to Venice and the hotel was less than 5 minutes walk from the closest stop San Stae.

I cannot fault this hotel and would return in a heartbeat pennies allowing. We were very sad to leave it.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    231
    48
    27
    14
See reviews for
160
263
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just checked to see the date of our original review and I am shocked to see it was 2007-2008. We returned to the Ca' Favretto last month to celebrate my wife's very special birthday. I am too much of a gentleman to say what age she is with the exception that I had to place a 60 watt bulb on her birthday cake instead of candles.

I do not feel it is necessary to repeat our previous review other than to say that, in my opinion, the hotel and staff are maintaining their previous high standards and we find everyone to be very friendly and helpful. Room 218 with a view overlooking the Grand Canal, for us, is just fantastic.

Even the weather was kind to us during our 5 days in Venice : not a cloud in the sky. As this was November, we were very fortunate. We ate locally each night and were not disappointed once. Try and choose where the Venetians eat. You are unlikely to be disappointed.

We look forward to returning to a fascinating city and a great hotel.

D&L

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you ever stop in just one hotel in Venice, choose this one. Right on the Grand Canal and in the middle of all the sights and sounds. Perfect location, supreme customer service from the most friendly staff possible, and lovely rooms. What more could a traveller to this wonderful city. If Venice is La Serenissima then the San Cassiano Hotel is La Perfecto. Our fifth visit and we will return again and again. Thank you for all you do to make our Venice trips so brilliant. No praise is good enough.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central to Venice and most of the Carnival activities, not far from the magnificent Art Galleries and a great variety of many fab eating places. Take a walk along some of the off main streets and eat where the locals eat, for reasonably priced GREAT food :)

Ca' Favretto is full from floors, up the hard trowel plaster as marble walls to the elegant ceiling with "Atmosphere" of a bygone era. The Courtyard is a wonderful place to sit and sip champagne and celebrate your visit to Venice and this outstanding hotel.

We also took the Ferry to Murano and Burano for a wonderful visit to these Islands of Lace and Glass (hard to beat in quality throughout the world) if you love photography you shall feast (as on) a 7 course Banquet here - we got the wrong ferry home to Venice, it took us about lots of other islands and was a real bonus trip at no extra cost :)

We look forward to returning in 2015 when Venice is not quite as busy as during the Carnival.

BUT the Carnival is a MUST time visit to be experienced - it is an utterly most AWESOME event to experience at least once in your life. Best experience is when you dress up and mingle IN the Carnival with Masks, visit Valentine for her own hand painted and personally decorated masks, drinking up the atmosphere and watch out for the parades of Carnival Dress each late afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the San Cassiano in November. It is a small hotel full of Venetian character in a reasonable spot on the Grand Canal. There is no restaurant but breakfast is served daily on the second floor. Our room was ok but we would strongly recommend that if your budget can stretch you should get a canal facing room. Staff were friendly, especially Earnesto, who served us in the Bar. He looked after us a treat!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at San Cassiano on the 2nd floor near the breakfast room. This was our favorite hotel on our entire trip. It was clean, beautiful, spacious enough, good breakfast, well priced, helpful staff. The tax was a lot per person per night (24€ total, 3 nights 2 people) but the proximity to the water shuttle to the airport was adequate and the walk to and from San Marco and Rialto bridge was enjoyable. Free wifi that worked in our room, functioning A/C, and very clean. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An extremely affordable hotel that still allows you to sleep within Venetian couture. Great bar, you can sit on the jetty to watch the boats sail by. The breakfast is good, very small and private dining area. Nice and bright! The staff were friendly too, although the drinks are more expensive. The location is perfect, a 7 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. Right next door there is a fish market, definitely worth a visit early in the morning! For a cheap and pleasant stay, this place is perfect. Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#91 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.