We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giardini Papadopoli - S. Croce, 245, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A true gem in venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We wanted a hotel that was close to cruise terminal and also within easy reach of st marks square and central venice. We were in venice for a few days and then went on a cruise from there.
This is a true gem of a hotel.
The hotel organized a airport to hotel transfer which was great as this was our first visit to venice and we didn't want to queue up for the local airport transfer bus.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff were excellent, friendly and accommodating to all our needs.
You can walk to st marks square through the little alley ways and over bridges which takes about 20 minutes from here or you can go to the main vaporetto terminal behind the hotel and catch a water taxi instead.
Breakfast was expensive so we walked to a Little local bar and had coffee with pastries.
You can see true venice from here.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to visit venice and who were taking a cruise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    539
    100
    19
    11
See reviews for
195
1,011
58
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed after just having done a fantastic cruise so were expecting to feel let down. We were impressed both the decor and feel of the place along with excellent discreet staff. The bar is elegant and the lobby and dining area understated luxury.
Location is the best within an easy walk of the Termini (main train station) and the Cruise Ship Terminal.
I felt like an Italian Count staying there.

Room Tip: Any room that's high will have a great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel enables one to impress and reciprocate to a dear faithful partner.Sometimes one needs to pamper oneself and Hotel Papadopoli helps you achieve this. Besides the location of the hotel is ideal to move into and out of Venice. In Venice this hotel is poised at the entrance from Piazzale Roma and one is able to follow the various alleys and canals of Venice up to the Piazza San Marco.
Also Gratitude goes to the staff who labour to make an event a really memorable one!

Room Tip: The view of the canal is something you do not see everyday, and it is worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The moment you get in.. you get greeted with a BIG smile, Front Desk exceptional, Rooms 528 awesome, Bar.. just perfect and the staff.... Wonderful.! Kudos ...Kudos.. Kudos!!! Location 5 minute walk to Piazzale Roma easy to get transportation any where believed or not ... in Italy.. train, bus, taxi car, taxi boat. Tip... From Marco Polo airport take the Blue Bus Express... is 6 euros to Piazzale Roma this is the terminal for any other place you choose to go in Venice and again Italy....Arrivederci.

Room Tip: Go for the Luxury room with room to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was recommended by a website venice for visitors
We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer
The breakfast buffet was wonderful, especially the garden room setting
The staff were friendly, and professional
Close to Piazzale Roma, the train station, and cruise ship terminal -easily gotten to by the new people mover
Only downside it the bathtub is a little hard to get into and out of so if you have mobility issues this may be a problem

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic location. Right on the waterfront and within walking distance to the bus, taxi and train stations (and main car park).

The hotel itself was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Staff also very polite.

The only downside was the size of the room. I think if I had been staying for anything longer than one night I would have got frustrated with the size. It was a bit of a squeeze for 2 people.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our favorite hotel in Italy. We stayed 3 nights. Wished we could have stayed more! The rooms are small like all in Europe, but cute and cozy. Housekeeping staff nice and very good. Our room looked out over the papadopoli gardens and was super quiet! They have an awesome Buffett breakfast ( included in our stay) that was held in a beautiful garden-setting room with white linens....and the waitstaff was excellent and eager to please.

The lobby is very pretty and the front desk staff super nice and helpful. Very nice lobby bar with snacks that looks out on a quiet canal and bridge (as does the rest of lobby).

The hotel is a 5 min walk to the train/bus station, so no expensive water taxi if you come in by train (which we did). It was also convenient for taking the train to Verona for a day trip (a must do!)

Not too bad of a walk to the major sites in Venice & all the little streets are fun to walk through anyway. Would stay here again in a heartbeat....hopefully the new owner who's planning a remodel will not mess with success too much.....

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection

Address: Giardini Papadopoli - S. Croce, 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#56 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.