We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giardini Papadopoli - S. Croce, 245, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Venise
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.

Although the hotel was under renovation, we were fortunate to be moved to a quieter room by the staff.

Overall room was nice and clean but in need of some renovation (eg cracks in window frames). Additionally, it was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room - only way to cool the room was to open the window but with 3 degrees outside, not ideal.

Overall, a good hotel in a really good location near the Pizzale Roma and the Train Station. About a 25 minute walk to the Rialto and San Mark's square but plenty of great shops along the way - so well with the effort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    502
    92
    19
    11
See reviews for
181
932
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff was very nice and incredibly accommodating with every question. Lobby & restaurant were beautiful. We were able to get into our room early which was wonderful but when we got to the room we were sad to see that we could not open our windows due to the scaffolding and construction. We knew construction was going on but since we had been informed it would not interfere with our stay we were dissapointed with that so we called the front desk and asked if there was any room available with no scaffolding. Diego was incredibly kind and quickly had a bellman come to move our stuff to a new room. Unfortunately, this new room smelled very strongly of smoke. As non-smokers we really didn't think we could be comfortable for 2 days in this room so we once again asked to move rooms. Diego, again, was incredibly helpful and willing to move us. Our 3rd room had a nice view and we were able to open the windows to get some fresh air. This room did still smell like smoke but at this point we did not want to be a bother again so we opened the windows and let it air out. We really did appreciate all the help from Diego and the bellman- they tried very hard to help us out!! Diego was also very helpful when we were trying to figure out how to access the internet. The rooms had very cute venetian decor but it was dated and run down. The bed was comfortable. There was a hole in the wall right outside our door. We noticed these small things but it did not ruin our stay as we really were only in the room to sleep. It is about a 30 minute walk to San Marco Piazza which we knew and were okay with but at night in the dark and when you are all turned around it can be hard to find your way back! But getting lost is all part of the adventure :) We did like how close it was to the train and bus station making it easy to get in and our of the city easily. We liked the quiet canal the hotel sat on. If I was rating on staff alone I would rate it excellent but due to the run down rooms I feel I need to give it an average score.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a slightly dated hotel, but clean and brilliant all the same. The location is excellent, close to the station but not too close! Great restaurants and bars nearby. The breakfast which was included in our rate was really good. Staff were brilliant and the bed was too die for, it literally like sleeping on a cloud!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated hotel throughout all of the main hotel areas and rooms. We had a party of 6, with 2 in each room. Two singles for our teenage boys and king size beds in the other 2. Beds were very comfortable snd it is nice to have full control of the temperature in each room and the ability to open the window. The service from all staff has been exceptional and we enjoyed a lovely night listening to the pianist playing a great mix of classic and modern music will we enjoyed drinks ( accompanied by some very beautiful complimentary appertisers) before dining in the hotel resaurant. Superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

For those who are staying for a short period in Venice I highly recommend Papadopoli. The rates are not so cheap, but I wouldn't expect anything to be cheap in Venice. It is in a quiet yet strategic area, near Piazzale Roma, with a lot of good restaurants nearby. The room was comfortable but small, with a large bed. My only negative observation goes to the bathroom, specially the tub, slippery, and the shower, dirty and with a very low flow. On the 2nd day there was no hot water for the shower. The service was efficient and the bar has nice wine options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel close to the bus and train stations is, at the moment, shrouded in netting due to building works. The exterior grandeur is therefore lost. Whilst the lobby is rather grand the receptionists were not welcoming nor particularly helpful. This maybe due entirely to us being part of a large group as opposed to an individual traveller. The bedroom was cramped, dark and in need of some new wallpaper! The paper was torn in several places, due in the main, to suitcases having to be pushed into very tight spaces. The bathroom was excellent and well equipped. The dining room is large and looked very smart - the evening meal did not live upto it unfortunately. We did feel that the food was not what would be served to an individual customer. The location is good if you like walking but you do need a good map - essential for Venice! The bedroom/bathroom were very clean - as were the public areas and corridors.
The hotel sits next to a public park which, in the summer, would be lovely shaded place to picnic.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not looking out onto construction netting. Large number of rooms we were allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPapadopoli, Direttore at Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay and for sharing your opinion with the Trip Advisor’s community.
I appreciate all your comments which will take as precious suggestions in order to improve our service.
Let me assure you that proper actions will be taken in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the MGallery collection hotels.

Yours sincerely,
Pierpaolo Cocchi
General Manager
Hotel Papadopoli Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Papadopoli is undergoing "emergency" rectification work which means that over half of the rooms have scaffolding and polythene sheet outside and you cannot open the window or see out. So if you are going to book in early 2013 ensure you do not get one of these rooms.

We changed our room and had an excellent comfortable room with a nice view out over the gardens.
The staff are excellent and the furnishings of a very high quality. You can get your luggage taken to or from the train station only 250 meters away (the bus station is about 150 meters). Highly recommended

Room Tip: MAke sure you don't get one with scaffolding outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection

Address: Giardini Papadopoli - S. Croce, 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Papadopoli Venice - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.