We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful, peaceful haven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tearoom Caffe Orientale - CLOSED

Tearoom Caffe Orientale
Rio Marin Santa Croce 888, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)
+39 (0)415201789
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Pub, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Currently closed. Reopening September 30, 2013.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful, peaceful haven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Quite close to our hotel, Antiche Figure we stopped by for afternoon tea after sightseeing. The lovely, quiet atmosphere was such a rewarding experience after the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist traps near St Mark's Square. A great selection of teas and tasty home made cakes.

Helpful?
Thank williams1p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this place , we stopped here for a light lunch. My husband had the lentil curry and I had the chick pea soup - both were delicious. It's a quiet place and located a bit further out. Home made scones were served warm and truly scrumptious. The customer service was brilliant, loos spotlessly clean. The only negative point would be that €10 for soup felt a bit pricey, however if I were to go to Venice again I would definitely go and eat here again. As a vegetarian this is a gem of a find, as much as I love pizza it's nice to have other options. Highly likely that I wouldn't have come across this place if it hasn't been for the tripadviser community. This is only the second review that I have written as not that good at writing,will be making a positive effort to make future contributions to inform others as have so relied on the feedback provided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
576 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“It is the tranquility that lends to the strength”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on the Rio Marin water way opposite Pasticceria Rio Marin (which is another top ten TA rated spot) the Tea Room offers a spot of order and peace, which comes at a premium in any congested city. The place is run by a man and a woman both of whom speak perfect English and are somehow able to get every done without raising their voices or causing a kerfuffle which is something worth applauding in Italy. The tea and cakes all make perfect sense and you can see that proper thought has been put into what is what. The food looked really good and you could see everyone pleased to have a decent meal. We had chocolate pear cake, the carrot cake and tea's and coffee's all of which were excellent. Everything is freshly baked/made that day. Good wifi signal as well if you need to plan the next step of your journey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room/restaurant, not far from ferrovia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is very nice, clean, and quiet. They have a very large selection of teas - so if you love to drink tea and want to try some very different choices then make sure you go to this restaurant. The food was very good, very clean, cooked with little condiments or oils etc. The quiche was very good. I must add however that the ribollita was more like a minestrone rather than a true, robust, Tuscan ribolitta. The prices are reasonable but maybe a little bit more than I was expecting. I'm a bit confused by the name. Maybe it should be called the Tuscan Tea Room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CFDUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thanks Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

While finding any address in Venice is a daunting task the 40 minute walk from St Marks to the tea room is worthwhile. The vegetarian fare was wonderful and while my partners had two of their signature teas I had a great glass of red wine. The couple that run this wonderful gem are personable and communicate well in English.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DocBillGalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Caffe Orientale also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing