We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful, peaceful haven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tearoom Caffe Orientale

Tearoom Caffe Orientale
Rio Marin Santa Croce 888, 30135 Venice, Italy
+39 (0)415201789
Update restaurant details
Ranked #33 of 1,173 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Currently closed. Reopening September 30, 2013.
2 reviews
“A delightful, peaceful haven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Quite close to our hotel, Antiche Figure we stopped by for afternoon tea after sightseeing. The lovely, quiet atmosphere was such a rewarding experience after the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist traps near St Mark's Square. A great selection of teas and tasty home made cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    96
    23
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Would highly recommend this place , we stopped here for a light lunch. My husband had the lentil curry and I had the chick pea soup - both were delicious. It's a quiet place and located a bit further out. Home made scones were served warm and truly scrumptious. The customer service was brilliant, loos spotlessly clean. The only negative point would be that €10 for soup felt a bit pricey, however if I were to go to Venice again I would definitely go and eat here again. As a vegetarian this is a gem of a find, as much as I love pizza it's nice to have other options. Highly likely that I wouldn't have come across this place if it hasn't been for the tripadviser community. This is only the second review that I have written as not that good at writing,will be making a positive effort to make future contributions to inform others as have so relied on the feedback provided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“It is the tranquility that lends to the strength”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on the Rio Marin water way opposite Pasticceria Rio Marin (which is another top ten TA rated spot) the Tea Room offers a spot of order and peace, which comes at a premium in any congested city. The place is run by a man and a woman both of whom speak perfect English and are somehow able to get every done without raising their voices or causing a kerfuffle which is something worth applauding in Italy. The tea and cakes all make perfect sense and you can see that proper thought has been put into what is what. The food looked really good and you could see everyone pleased to have a decent meal. We had chocolate pear cake, the carrot cake and tea's and coffee's all of which were excellent. Everything is freshly baked/made that day. Good wifi signal as well if you need to plan the next step of your journey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room/restaurant, not far from ferrovia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is very nice, clean, and quiet. They have a very large selection of teas - so if you love to drink tea and want to try some very different choices then make sure you go to this restaurant. The food was very good, very clean, cooked with little condiments or oils etc. The quiche was very good. I must add however that the ribollita was more like a minestrone rather than a true, robust, Tuscan ribolitta. The prices are reasonable but maybe a little bit more than I was expecting. I'm a bit confused by the name. Maybe it should be called the Tuscan Tea Room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thanks Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

While finding any address in Venice is a daunting task the 40 minute walk from St Marks to the tea room is worthwhile. The vegetarian fare was wonderful and while my partners had two of their signature teas I had a great glass of red wine. The couple that run this wonderful gem are personable and communicate well in English.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Caffe Orientale also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Tearoom Caffe Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tearoom Caffe Orientale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Tearoom Caffe Orientale to your Saves list