We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tearoom Caffe Orientale - CLOSED

Tearoom Caffe Orientale
Rio Marin Santa Croce 888, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)
+39 (0)415201789
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Pub, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Currently closed. Reopening September 30, 2013.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you're looking for freshly prepared, simple, vegetarian food, this is the place. It's a nice antidote especially if you've been eating big meals. The weather now is very cold and raining, and the soup here is the perfect meal. Pair it with their freshly baked bread, and you'll be completely satisfied. I plan to stop by as frequently as I can while I am here in Venice.
You're free to relax while sipping tea and eating delicious food. A nice respite.
The owners, Elena & Francesco seem to know everyone who walks through the door. In fact, I was greeted with a Ciao, Lisa! today which made me feel very welcome. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    23
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Tearoom Caffe Orientale - something different in Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An atypical English tearoom, with a zen kind of atmosphere - calm, and cosy. This place is not your usual Venetian bar - wooden tables, scones, chocolate cake and soup. It's all fantastic. And there's a huge selection of teas. Right next to a small canal and a bridge, you can watch people coming and going. They don't rush you, even though the place is small. Friendly service and reasonable prices. I'm just sorry we couldn't fit in more visits!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurigo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finalmente - no need to get fish or flesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a wonderful find. Era ora, per quanto adore il pesce e mia mamma gustasse la carne, dopo 2 giorni di dover andare a ristoranti si voleva, we were craving for, un opzione vegetale. In comes a wonderful bowl of zuppa di ceci, cosa megli di una calda e saporita (ok, un po' leggera) zuppa di ceci. The wonderful and very attentive waiter/owner added to the charm of the place, the wine option (we love our wine) was delicious too - in short, we were in 7 heaven.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Freshly baked bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great. Love the soup and the freshly baked bread. The price is not high it's very cozy and the staff is very friendly. Very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped in here one afternoon while in Venice. The atmosphere is quiet and charming, a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The owners are very friendly and we had a nice chat with them while deciding what to order. I had the chocolate pear cake and my husband had the apple cake, both were wonderful. The tea selection is quite good and we both enjoyed our pots of tea. I will definitely stop back in the next time I find myself in Venice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Caffe Orientale also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tearoom Caffe Orientale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.