We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muro San Stae

Muro San Stae
Campiello Dello Spezier Santa Croce 2048, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+390415241628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

we stayed in a hotel 50 m from this restaurant and the food here was excellent, great atmosphere, felt more like a local restaurant than very touristy, would highly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    109
    27
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We tried the penne in bolognaise sauce and this was very good, the nougat ice cream is lovely and the lemon sorbet with vodka packs a punch, this is served as a drink. The carafe of Merlot is served chilled which was a surprise but was delicious.
Service was very good, we had a very relaxing evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Scrumptious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very attentive staff and tasty food. The restautant had a relaxing atmosphere - and the Tiramisu was gorgeous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

12 of us went as we all ended up in Venice at the same time after a wedding, I had the seafood pasta for start and the fillet steak for main. Both absolutely fantastic. Especially the seafood past, so many great flavours. Wouldn't recommend the house red, but as we were a large we stuck on it. Great settling also. Cute bar next door for a pre drink.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful first dinner in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We went to Muro San Stae based on the ratings and the fact that it was close to our hotel. We were a bit intimated having never dined in Italy. The staff was friendly and attentive. We didn't ask for any recommendations. Had the prosciutto and melon appetizer and it was simple but amazing. The olive and mushroom relish on the table was wonderful. The house red was pleasing. We both had pasta dishes and after splitting 2 appetizers and a liter of wine we left more than satisfied. Total bill was 63 euros which included a bottle of water. The pizzas and calzones leaving the kitchen looked well worth a trip back. Would recommend. We had early reservations and were the first there but the place quickly filled up and it appeared some were turned away.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muro San Stae also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Muro San Stae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muro San Stae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.