We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muro San Stae

Muro San Stae
Campiello Dello Spezier Santa Croce 2048, 30125 Venice, Italy
+390415241628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,197 restaurants in Venice
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant had a great vibe and modern decor. There is outdoor seating available in a beautiful area of Venice (although ALL Venice is beautiful IMHO). I have fond memories of this being the site of my very first pizza in Italy and it did not disappoint! The pizza and the desserts were delicious. We accidentally ordered too much wine but, of course, that only added to the experience! In a two-night stay in Venice, we almost went here twice and part of me regrets that we didn't!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    89
    77
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

In a city where you can only get italian, italian and more italian food, we decided that this place was by far one of the best. It had a really nice modern feel, outside seating and delicious food. In fact we went there twice over our four night stay which is something we rarely do. The seafood platter was lovely and the fish was really well cooked. The pizzas and pastas were delicious and it was very reasonable especially in comparison to other restaurants in Venice. Thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel (Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo) and was literally just around the corner. Great food, great staff and great atmosphere. Prices were really good for Venice, but it is off the beaten track a little. We ate here two of our three nights which says something. The portions were good and the pizza was absolutely delicious. Try to find this place if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great restaurant away from tourist trap zone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here twice in our 5 day stay, so must have ticked a few of our boxes to get our attention.
First time we ate here it was lovely and warm and we sat outside, it wasnt packed out, and we had our meal served very quickly. It was delicious with the Calzone being a whale, full of filling, not just a half empty pizza folded over. The meat platter started was great, and the pizzas were thin and crispy. The house red was great value and VERY good (even when chilled ;)
The second time we went was much busier and we had a few friends with us. The staff were a bit overran it seemed but this didnt reduce the quality of the food, just meant the service was a bit slower and a few mistakes were made (they added another tables coffee onto our bill, but they apologised and removed at once).
Would eat here again for sure

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place for pasta and pizza !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant by chance as it was raining and we were looking for somewhere to eat. Food was lovely and reasonably priced (8 EUR for a Lasagne and 11 EUR for a pizza). Pizza was crisp and thin. Very reasonable wine menu with a local wine around 17 EUR a bottle. They charge 2 EUR coperto per head.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muro San Stae also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Muro San Stae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muro San Stae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.