We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended By Our Guide - Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria lo Squero

Gelateria lo Squero
Dorsoduro 989-90, Fondamenta Nani, Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)
Improve this listing
Ranked #254 of 1,207 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Recommended By Our Guide - Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

While on our walking tour of Venice, our guide recommended we try the pistachio gelato at this establishment. We stopped at several gelaterias during our visit to Italy, and the pistachio at Gelateria lo Squero was our favorite. The price was reasonable, the size of the serving was generous, and the quality was excellent.

When in Venice, give this restaurant a try - I think you will be very happy you stopped!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    12
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rich and flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Our recent trips to Italy have become more and more focused on finding the best Gelato. We find that even mediocre Gelato in Italy puts to shame the best that we can get at home in Oregon. With only a few days in Venice, we didn't have time to make an thorough investigation, but when we found this shop, our search was over. The gelato here was simply marvelous in every respect. For me, nocciola is the indicator species and at this shop it was richly flavorful with perfect texture. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is consistently good. Fragola and pistachio are always tasty. You can't go wrong with this place--great wine and cicchetti next door, too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smaller portions, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After reading the reviews here we checked out gelato lo squero our first day in Venice. The cups were not filled like most places do, gaps and not packed down well do portion was smaller. Quality was average. Check out Gelato Fantasy for large portions and good quality.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I lived in Venice a few years ago, and after much trial and error, I am confident that this is the best gelato in Venice. My favorite flavors are nocciola (hazlenut), straciatella (chocolate chip), and pistachio. It is in a more secluded, authentic Venetian neighborhood. Make sure you notice the gondola repair shop across the canal!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria lo Squero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria lo Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria lo Squero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.