We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #95 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is really beautiful. The rooms are big and they are especially for couples. It's a luxurious hotel, quite expensive, but it is worth it if you are not staying so many days. The location is ideal and I was very well treated by the staff. Breakfast outdoors is an amazing experience because of the view. Also, If I'm not wrong I remember the mini bar had got Fernet Branca, which was great news since I am from Argentina.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    286
    82
    41
    24
See reviews for
117
406
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Friendly english speaking staff who really look after you. The location is perfect - 5 min walk from St Marks Square. The lobby is big and recently modernised. The restaurant where they serve breakfast overlooks the grand canal and the views are simply beautiful. This is one hotel that offers everything

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kent
Level Contributor
221 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were on a four night stay with Cresta holidays City Breaks. Excellent package and tremendous value for money, covering BA flight from Gatwick, Water Taxi shared transfer from Airport to Hotel and Hotel standard room with breakfast. We looked at booking directly ourselves but could not match the Cresta price. Superb value.
The Hotel must be one of the best located on the Grand Canal. Lovely terrace for dining and a Bar section as well to sit and view the gondoliers and the canal. Excellent Reception staff who made us very welcome and gave us a free upgraded junior suite for our 4 nights. A really high quality hotel matched by the friendly and very efficient staff.
Our room was very spacious and extremely well equipped. Breakfast was extremely good, buffet style and plenty of choice. The ham and cheeses just right.
The Hotel location is one of the best, only 2 minutes from St Marks Square and also facing the Grand Canal. This makes the water taxi transfer from the airport very easy as you are dropped just 3 minutes walk from the Hotel.
The hotel also has free Wifi throughout the hotel and in the rooms as well. A good bonus point.
Venice was great and we would certainly recommend this Hotel, And booking with Cresta Holidays, which is part of Thomas Cook.
It is a pity the hotel does not have fitness facilities or an indoor swimming pool, but apart from this it has everything you want.

Room Tip: Arrive early and enquire as to what rooms are available. We did and we were given a free upgrade fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were in Venice when it was under water. As we were in the annexe part of this hotel, 2 streets away, it became a bit of a night mare having to wade to the Monaco with luggage, to catch a water taxi, to connect to a cruise. Whilst all staff were courteous, pleasant, and well mannered, they seemed to be lacking behind some of the other hotels, in that they issued us with garbage bags to put over our legs, rather then plastic leggings with soles. It does not take a whole lot of imagination, when water is mid thigh, you are close to 70 years of age, and asked to carry your own luggage, whilst trying to hang on to 2 garbage bags, with water up to your crutch, and a head wind... I requested support. My bag was carried by a young lad, and my husband and I carried his together. Had we not needed to connect to a cruise, we could have waited for the water levels to drop, and there would not have been an issue. Experience wise. Not to be missed, however, I do think that such a pricey hotel needs to lift its game.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

i read a review which said location location location and that sums up the hotel monaco perfectly! seconds from harrys bar, st marks sq, public transport and everything is within easy walking distance. the views from your breakfast table are abdolutely stunning! get out and explore - get off the beaten track and enjoy! pack mosquito spray - something i would never think of, especially in november but my husband was eaten alive! ... we will be back and november was perfect - busy but not packed, warm but not too hot so perfect for walking. hotel monaco was superb!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In my opinion the two most important criteria for a city break hotel are location and a comfy bed to collapse in at the end of each day! This hotel gets 5/5 for both! It is situated right on the Grand Canal (our water taxi from the airport cost €120, but it was door to door - we stepped straight off it onto the hotel's terrace), a few steps away from Piazza San Marco, and we slept brilliantly! The rooms are small, and fairly basic, but clean and comfortable. The view from the terrace (and presumably some of the bedrooms if you are lucky enough to get a canal view) is stunning. The staff were polite (although our request for an early check in could not be accommodated) and the breakfast was lovely.
It was our first trip to Venice, and we quickly discovered that it is a very expensive city to spend time in (although it is beautiful, so its worth it!). On that basis, I suspect this hotel was pretty good value for money compared to some, and I would recommend it as a base for exploring the city.
Small thing, but in our case a very important one - no irons available for guest use! My husband never irons his shirts until he arrives at a hotel, and this time we came unstuck and had to pay their exorbitant charges for a 'pressing service'!

Room Tip: A canal view would be amazing, but I suspect it comes with a very high price tag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I spent several delightful hours on the terrace (waterside) of the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal on September 29, 2012, while on an extended visit to Venice. We both have visited the knock-off found in Las Vegas and thought that it would be interesting to compare, if possible, the view experiences with both locations. The real thing is much more interesting, of course, but to compare the experience is impossible. The real Hotel Monaco in Venice offers panoramic views just feet away of gondolas, vaporettos and many boats passing in the canal from speeding water taxis to large cruise ships. Just delightful!

Service on the terrace is very expensive and service seemed to us to be slow. However, the view is great and the experience is priceless! It was worth the €74.50 for the pasta and glasses of wine while snacking at the real deal, the Hotel Monaco on the Grand Canal in Venezia!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#142 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#93 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Luna Hotel Baglioni
Luna Hotel Baglioni
#36 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#53 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#77 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.