We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting gardens, good place to eat lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peggy Guggenheim Collection

Peggy Guggenheim Collection
704 Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 213 attractions in Venice
Type: Art Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This satellite gallery of the famous Guggenheim in New York occupies the 17th-century Customs House in Venice, featuring modern and contemporary works of art.
houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“interesting gardens, good place to eat lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

this museum has one of the best modern art collections in the world. clean bathrooms and great place to stop for lunch, pretty gardens and a nice rest from the Canal traffic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    511
    167
    62
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very interesting collection in an interesting building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been told by several people to go to see this. We were able to take the vaparetto and then walk with no problem. Once we got off at the correct stop and started walking there were signs directing us toward the museum which was very helpful. It's not always that way in Venice. The setting is charming. Peggy had bought a palazzo and lived there and turned it eventually into a museum. The front of it faces the Grand Canal and you can go out front and sit on the steps and watch the goings on. Inside are numerous works of art by very famous artists. I find the commentary with photos of Peggy and what the rooms were like then to be very interesting. You learned about her life and her connection with art. I had no idea that the artist Max Ernst was her second husband. The museum is small enough that you don't have to spend hours there to see the entire collection. It is well worth a stop to see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“A Jewel of a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was my second visit to the Peggy Guggenheim collection, which provides a rather astonishing contract to its neighbor, the Gallerie d'Accademia, a large museum filled with Titians, Tintorettos, and religious-themed art. In the Guggenheim, you will see a refreshing selection of works by Kandinsky, Klee, Picasso, Moore, Brancusi, Mondrian, and Guggenheim's very talented daughter, Pegeen, whose painting of gondolas on the Grand Canal was surprisingly vivacious and fresh considering its subject matter. The garden is a delight as well and the attached restaurant is excellent for lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our third Guggenheim Museum in 10 months”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've been to the Guggenheim NY and Guggenheim Bilbao. On a prior visit to Venice, we missed the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, so this was a highly anticipated visit.

We enjoyed viewing the permanent collection and temporary exhibitions. Given the size of the residence, the collection size is just right and not overwhelming. The free talk on Peggy Guggenheim was given by an intern and brought the art's backstory to life.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection from a fascinating woman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The museum is housed in Guggenheim's Venetian residence so it's charming and manageable. There are free talks on her life and the collection throughout the day done by earnest art major interns. The collection itself is focused and well curated but some of the pieces are a little cramped. The smaller printed guide is worth purchasing since it's written like a mini art history lesson placing the collection in context. One of the best parts of this visit is the sculpture garden which is a great place to get away from the crush of Venice, including a section on the canal where you can sit and watch Gondola's go by right near the Rialto Bridge. There's a small cafe which offers light refreshments. I did get annoyed because I wanted to meet my husband at the Zattare vaporetto and bring him back so that I could stay longer but they wouldn't stamp my ticket for re-entry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy Guggenheim Collection also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Peggy Guggenheim Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peggy Guggenheim Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peggy Guggenheim Collection to your Saves list