We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! The birthplace of the Belini!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
San Marco 1323, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
39-041-528-5777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 73 Nightlife in Venice
Type: Historic Sites, Bar/ Clubs, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Bars
Activities: Drinking, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1929, this has been a popular watering hole and elegant eatery for writers, artists, celebrities and aristocrats.
Djibouti City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place! The birthplace of the Belini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a little pricey but that is why you go to a place like Harry's. you don't go for a cheap drink. Heck! Hemingway lived there for a year! The place has great ambiance. We went in for a Belini and stayed almost four hours. They make a good Pimm's Cup as well!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    90
    101
    140
    266
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great times at Harry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day trip to Venice and visited Harry's Bar three times. The Service were excellent and the Bellinis delicious. Yes, the place is expensive, but so is Venice. It is a bit of fascinating history and nostalgia wrap in one. There were always interesting people there and bartender Marco? was always quick with a smile and to light you up with a bellini. The interior is a master piece of Venetian art deco with restrain elegance.

One night, even though they were full, they manage to produced a little three legged round table for us to enjoy a late Carpaccio snack. BTW, they make the bellini fresh every time, what they take out of the fridge is the white beach nectar and they pour that into a glass with preseco added. not like what one of the TA reviewer stated that they were pre-made. After all, " Champaign comes only from Champaign, France, and Bellini comes only from Harry's Bar" any where else, it is just beach juice with preseco. you are there for the whole experience, not to count pennies. If you have to look at the price of every things, you probably can not afford it and you won't enjoy Harry's Bar . So unless you are planning to return to Venice next week, I would recommend a fun, once in a life time experience and live in history for a change.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machelen, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Harry's bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been wanting to go to Harry's bar for years - I love Bellinis and wanted to try the original. last week me and my husband had the chance to go. We didn't stay to eat, we just wanted to have a nice cocktal after a day of sightseeing. When we walked in, I understood why it is still popular. I loved the art deco interior and the atmosphere of the place, even though it was packed full of tourists. The bellini and the whisey sour were very nice, and we had two each, even though we knew it was expensive, we were warned of their prices. I am however UTTERLY DISGUSTED at the way we were ripped off by the waiters. The prices of the drinks were raised on the bill by two euros each and on a total of 70 € they added an extra charge of 10%, which in their reckoning was another 10 €. Sorry folks, this is definitely NOT worth it! There are dozens of other bars in Venice that are less crowded and that don't leave you with a bitter taste in your mouth when you leave.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went in to this bar for the famous Bellini and were shown to a table then left unattended for 10 minutes. The waiters and bar manager were far more concerned with fawning over an elderly couple than they were about taking our order. Waiters would not look us in the eye, let alone give us a menu. So we upped and left after 10 minutes of being ignored..pompous place, basic decor and a real let down. Hemmingway probably only went there to get pissed as he was a tragic and tortured soul who probably could not afford to go anywhere better at the time.If you want to spend a few euros on a Bellini,visit the Hotel Monaco next door or the Hotel Danieli down the road. Classy places that welcome all guests, and cheaper too !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Worth every penny! SO DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Incredible service!

Delicious mushroom risotto . . . worth the $50.00 (American dollars). Every bite was pure heaven!

Bellini was awesome although surprising small.

Great view straight out of the window onto the lagoon.

Tremendous, bravissimo! Grazie!

We will return!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.