We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is the best!The rooms are not very big, but are very comfotable.
The breakfast is unique- on the terrace with Grand channel view. Sunny morning and the glass of champagne on the terrace -it is worth going to Bauer hotel! Ideal place for the romantic trip for a couple of days!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    239
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
141
478
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liberec, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are planning to stay definitively ask for the room with terrace- the view on the St.Moise square, canal with gondolas, the Church and Campanilla is shortly wonderful, after the walking, sightseeing day and before dinner is so nice to have a glass of prosecco there. Also the breakfast area outside at the canal invites to stay longer and to enjoy the moments. I recommend the hotel more than 100%

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Bauer for 3 days in August. The view of the Grand Canal was great but the room was really small and the concierge attendants were very rude, except for one person. Most of the front desk staff couldn't be bothered with giving directions or any other kind of assistance and referred me to the concierge who referred me back to the front desk. I would not both with this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am obviously very sorry to read about your latest experience at THE BAUER; please rest assured that this is certainly not representative of the standards of excellence at the hotel. I would welcome the opportunity of having you back as our guest in order to experience the high level of service we are known for. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please feel free to reach out to me at gcellerino@bauervenezia.com or +39 041 5207022.

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

5 star plus - wonderful European hotel. Old world charm. Excellent complimentary brunch. Arrive at hotel entrance by launch. Dream city - outstanding hotel accommodations; kind and friendly staff. Perfect recommendations to each requested destination while in Venice.

Room Tip: Request a room with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is a pleasure to note you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed the courtesy of our Staff, the quality of breakfast , the room’s dècor. We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are two Bauer Hotels in Venice; ours was the one on St. Moises (Moses) square. Our room was lovely, blue and gold damask on the walls, very large marble bathroom, and a window onto the square. We stared right into the sculptures on the St. Moises church facade, had a view of the San Marco bell tower and could hear it chime. Our travel agent had arranged a special farewell to Venice meal in the hotel dining room and it was delicious and seemed lavish. When we return to Venice (some day!) we will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors receive less noise from the square below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this 5 star hotel is as unique as wonderful : situated along the Grand Canal, the Bauer hotel is a 3 minutes ' walk from the San Marco square. It is very easy to reach ths beautiful hotel by vaporetto or gondola taxi.
Breakfast on the terrace, overloking the Grand canal and the Church Salute is more than a dream.it is already paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Venice to celebrate her birthday. We stayed at the Bauer Hotel. We loved the position of the Hotel. It was close to all the most important sights (2 minutes walk). The breakfast deck is on the Grand Canal. Every morning we could see the cruise ships passing 200 meters from where we were siting to come into the docks. The food was great. We highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#59 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.