We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“...Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A fantastic welcome from the Bauer receptionist, who escorted us to our room, was a splendid start. The bedroom was huge, with a separate dressing room and lavish bathroom. The enormous bed probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in .Unfortunately, on and off rain made the restaurant terrace unusable, but the views towards the Salute are still classic, and the breakfast choice of food and beverages enormous. Still, it’s Venice, and there’s nowhere remotely like it. We’ll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    246
    82
    41
    28
See reviews for
149
506
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent two days with my wife in this fantastic hotel located in a strategic position close to San Marco. Everything was excellent. the room, the service, and especially the bar and the restaurant with a delicous italian food. All the restaurant and bar area is managed by a guy named Giorgio, a really gentleman who will explain you any recipes secret and is able to suggest the right wines to enhance the taste of what you have decided to eat! I suggest this Hotel to all the couples who want to prove a longlife remembrance for Valentine's day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everytime I am back at the Bauer i have the impression to be' back home.
This is an institution of the old world luxury. I love the feeling of the old times...but compared with the other 5 stars hotels in town, bauer has it modernity both in the spirit and in the architecture.
The position is amazing and if you have a room on the chanel...it is a Dream.
I love the breakfast room facing the salute church...the only thing can be improve the quality of the breakfast and the amenities

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your impressions of our hotel and for complementing our service.
It is always a pleasure when guests value our heritage, which transpires from the precious art-deco period pieces and glass appliques, as well as the precious wall hangings which have made of this hotel a landmark property in Venice. Being owned by a long line of hoteliers and entrepreneurs the Bauer is different from traditional hotels and more like a home. Here attention to detail and superlative service are meant to make guests feel welcome and at ease. We thank you for your suggestions which we will take on board to enhance customer satisfaction and look forward to your continued patronage of Bauer hotels.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a weekend in Venice before our cruise. We found this hotel by chance on Hotelscombined at a great rate. The rate was for the Casa Nova which belongs to the Bauer and is next door. You register in the Bauer and use all of the Bauer facilities so it was an opportunity to enjoy a 5* hotel. You can find the Casa Nova on Tripadvisor under Bauer Casa Nova. Don't confuse this hotel with the Casa Nova which is a 3* hotel close by.
The hotel is a five minute stroll to St. Marks square and next to all of the more expensive shops and restaurants. The water ferry is also a five minute walk (Ferry Number 1 is best) and the hotel is on the canal so a private water taxi can take you to the door. The water ferry is slow but much less expensive.
The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom had a bath and a very large separate shower. The rooms are a little dark but the size and location far outweighed this negative. Breakfast was taken in the Bauer. We were in Venice the weekend of the major flooding and the water was at mid thigh level outside the hotel. Temporary walkways were in place so it was possible to walk round without waterproof boots, though not all areas were accessible until mid afternoon. Perhaps because of this, breakfast on the Sunday was manic with guests and staff dashing everywhere. Breakfast itself was excellent , with hot and cold options available. Everything returned to normal on the Monday as the water had gone and breakfast was a much more sedate affair.
Transfer to the cruise ship is easiest if you take a private water taxi but it is about €80. However, nothing in Venice is cheap.
I would most definitely stay here again, for the location, size of room, quality of the Bauer hotel and general service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very thankful for the time you have dedicated to reviewing our property.
It is delightful to note so many positive comments and that your overall experience was most pleasant.
We attentively look after every detail in order to offer our guest a unique experience, which gives them a chance to experience Venice as a local resident rather than a visitor. To fit the shoes (or the boots, so to speak!) of a Venetian.
Thus we are pleased to read that you noticed our special effort.
Our many summer-time guests have motivated us to create a very spectacular outdoor terrace, where breakfast, lunch, snacks or drinks can be enjoyed while watching the gondolas glide by. The winter offers a different, yet not less fascinating experience. Acqua Alta (flooding) is sometimes part of it. And although challenging at times, it may also be a very fun and unusual event to experience firsthand!
We look forward to your continued patronage and to the pleasure of welcoming you again at THE BAUERs!
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Grandiose, elegant, a real five star Hotel in Venice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms a real surprise with all the shining marble and glistening taps. The breakfast is served in the main restaurant overlooking the grand canal. The reception staff, Massimo checked us in, is very courteous and they will go out of their way to accommodate any request. This Hotel will meet all your expectations, do bear in mind that the prices are also five star.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks.
At THE BAUERs we strive daily to meet and surpass our guests expectations. Your appreciation is therefore greately appreciated.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely stay.

On checking in we were given a room that was next to the lift shaft, this w loud and quite small so I complained and the following hour we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with 1 bedroom, living area and two bathrooms.

The hotel was in a fabulous location, however this was my 6th trip to Venice following living there in there in 06' and I found it quite busy and do prefer to stayin the more secluded areas.

This was a lovely trip and the hotel was more than accommodating, I would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to move if you are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults who had originally booked to stay at the Bauer Palladio, however a week before our due date the hotel was closed and we were moved to Bauer Hotel.
After my direct contact we did receive an apology and promised a room upgrade & as it was 3/4 of our birthdays the hotel also promised some kind of acknowledgment, but we received nothing! I think after a hotel changing your plans at such short notice they really should provide gestures of goodwill.
Although the hotel is in a perfect location and is visually stunning, I did feel a little uncomfortable with the service they gave. The staff are not warm and welcoming at all!
So if you barely use a hotel whilst visiting Venice I would recommend here due to location and comfort but if you require a personal touch and would like to feel welcome they maybe not this one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#58 Family Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.