We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a weekend in Venice before our cruise. We found this hotel by chance on Hotelscombined at a great rate. The rate was for the Casa Nova which belongs to the Bauer and is next door. You register in the Bauer and use all of the Bauer facilities so it was an opportunity to enjoy a 5* hotel. You can find the Casa Nova on Tripadvisor under Bauer Casa Nova. Don't confuse this hotel with the Casa Nova which is a 3* hotel close by.
The hotel is a five minute stroll to St. Marks square and next to all of the more expensive shops and restaurants. The water ferry is also a five minute walk (Ferry Number 1 is best) and the hotel is on the canal so a private water taxi can take you to the door. The water ferry is slow but much less expensive.
The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom had a bath and a very large separate shower. The rooms are a little dark but the size and location far outweighed this negative. Breakfast was taken in the Bauer. We were in Venice the weekend of the major flooding and the water was at mid thigh level outside the hotel. Temporary walkways were in place so it was possible to walk round without waterproof boots, though not all areas were accessible until mid afternoon. Perhaps because of this, breakfast on the Sunday was manic with guests and staff dashing everywhere. Breakfast itself was excellent , with hot and cold options available. Everything returned to normal on the Monday as the water had gone and breakfast was a much more sedate affair.
Transfer to the cruise ship is easiest if you take a private water taxi but it is about €80. However, nothing in Venice is cheap.
I would most definitely stay here again, for the location, size of room, quality of the Bauer hotel and general service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very thankful for the time you have dedicated to reviewing our property.
It is delightful to note so many positive comments and that your overall experience was most pleasant.
We attentively look after every detail in order to offer our guest a unique experience, which gives them a chance to experience Venice as a local resident rather than a visitor. To fit the shoes (or the boots, so to speak!) of a Venetian.
Thus we are pleased to read that you noticed our special effort.
Our many summer-time guests have motivated us to create a very spectacular outdoor terrace, where breakfast, lunch, snacks or drinks can be enjoyed while watching the gondolas glide by. The winter offers a different, yet not less fascinating experience. Acqua Alta (flooding) is sometimes part of it. And although challenging at times, it may also be a very fun and unusual event to experience firsthand!
We look forward to your continued patronage and to the pleasure of welcoming you again at THE BAUERs!
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    283
    93
    47
    35
See reviews for
181
575
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Grandiose, elegant, a real five star Hotel in Venice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms a real surprise with all the shining marble and glistening taps. The breakfast is served in the main restaurant overlooking the grand canal. The reception staff, Massimo checked us in, is very courteous and they will go out of their way to accommodate any request. This Hotel will meet all your expectations, do bear in mind that the prices are also five star.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks.
At THE BAUERs we strive daily to meet and surpass our guests expectations. Your appreciation is therefore greately appreciated.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely stay.

On checking in we were given a room that was next to the lift shaft, this w loud and quite small so I complained and the following hour we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with 1 bedroom, living area and two bathrooms.

The hotel was in a fabulous location, however this was my 6th trip to Venice following living there in there in 06' and I found it quite busy and do prefer to stayin the more secluded areas.

This was a lovely trip and the hotel was more than accommodating, I would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to move if you are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults who had originally booked to stay at the Bauer Palladio, however a week before our due date the hotel was closed and we were moved to Bauer Hotel.
After my direct contact we did receive an apology and promised a room upgrade & as it was 3/4 of our birthdays the hotel also promised some kind of acknowledgment, but we received nothing! I think after a hotel changing your plans at such short notice they really should provide gestures of goodwill.
Although the hotel is in a perfect location and is visually stunning, I did feel a little uncomfortable with the service they gave. The staff are not warm and welcoming at all!
So if you barely use a hotel whilst visiting Venice I would recommend here due to location and comfort but if you require a personal touch and would like to feel welcome they maybe not this one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Bauer in Venice for three nights during carnival season. A beautiful art deco lobby with a very courteous front desk staff. We had a classically furnished room with a king bed and a window overlooking the canals and the nearby historic palazzos. A large bathroom with wonderful botanical amenities, produced by the hotel's owners. A short walk from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the canal and the gondolas. A wonderful array of prosciutto, cheeses, fresh fruit,pastries,and of course champagne! This hotel was perfect, I can recommend it to anyone looking to have an unforgettable experience in Venice.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

THE BAUERs Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for five days. Took a river taxi from the airport and delivered to the hotels dock. The lobby is very nicely decorated, definitely something you would expect from a 5* hotel in Venice.

We were immediately upgraded and had a choice of rooms that they showed us. the room we chose had a view over the canal and we could hear the Gondoliers singing to their passengers.

The hotel is located in the heart of Venice. You couldn't get a much better location. A stones throw from restaurants, shops and the Piazza San Marco.

Breakfast is buffet style but you can sit outside overlooking the Canale di San Marco. The view is awesome.

You can enjoy the same view from the outside patio bar as well. Make a note the bar staff are brilliant. Very attentive and they look after you - tip! The drinks are a bit on the expensive side, but you get great service and some snacks to eat delivered to your table. The snacks come with a lace frame over the top of them so you can keep your food pigeon free. Yes pigeons are all over the place, get used to them.

If anything the stay was great my only complaint was how pretentious the lobby team seemed to be. Very uppity and not appreciated which is why we knocked off a point. Asking for assistance and getting a shrug of the shoulders and a map shoved in your general direction left a sour taste in my mouth.

Outside of that we had a glorious time and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't waste either your time or money staying here. 5* my foot. Having travelled extensively for many years, we can honestly say that our experience of the Bauer Hotel was dreadful, the room was the worst we have stayed in anywhere. Peeling, dirty paint, curtains hanging off the rail, really very rude staff and a brick wall for a view. There is antique furniture and there is just plain, simple shabbiness. We had the latter. It ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Il Palazzo
Bauer Il Palazzo
#58 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
San Marco
Luna Hotel Baglioni
Luna Hotel Baglioni
#37 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#88 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Hotel Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Giudecca
Bauer Palladio Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#77 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.