We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the places to stay when in Venice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“One of the places to stay when in Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Grandiose, elegant, a real five star Hotel in Venice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms a real surprise with all the shining marble and glistening taps. The breakfast is served in the main restaurant overlooking the grand canal. The reception staff, Massimo checked us in, is very courteous and they will go out of their way to accommodate any request. This Hotel will meet all your expectations, do bear in mind that the prices are also five star.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks.
At THE BAUERs we strive daily to meet and surpass our guests expectations. Your appreciation is therefore greately appreciated.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    239
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
141
478
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely stay.

On checking in we were given a room that was next to the lift shaft, this w loud and quite small so I complained and the following hour we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with 1 bedroom, living area and two bathrooms.

The hotel was in a fabulous location, however this was my 6th trip to Venice following living there in there in 06' and I found it quite busy and do prefer to stayin the more secluded areas.

This was a lovely trip and the hotel was more than accommodating, I would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to move if you are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
BAUER HOTEL Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults who had originally booked to stay at the Bauer Palladio, however a week before our due date the hotel was closed and we were moved to Bauer Hotel.
After my direct contact we did receive an apology and promised a room upgrade & as it was 3/4 of our birthdays the hotel also promised some kind of acknowledgment, but we received nothing! I think after a hotel changing your plans at such short notice they really should provide gestures of goodwill.
Although the hotel is in a perfect location and is visually stunning, I did feel a little uncomfortable with the service they gave. The staff are not warm and welcoming at all!
So if you barely use a hotel whilst visiting Venice I would recommend here due to location and comfort but if you require a personal touch and would like to feel welcome they maybe not this one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Bauer in Venice for three nights during carnival season. A beautiful art deco lobby with a very courteous front desk staff. We had a classically furnished room with a king bed and a window overlooking the canals and the nearby historic palazzos. A large bathroom with wonderful botanical amenities, produced by the hotel's owners. A short walk from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the canal and the gondolas. A wonderful array of prosciutto, cheeses, fresh fruit,pastries,and of course champagne! This hotel was perfect, I can recommend it to anyone looking to have an unforgettable experience in Venice.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

THE BAUERs Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for five days. Took a river taxi from the airport and delivered to the hotels dock. The lobby is very nicely decorated, definitely something you would expect from a 5* hotel in Venice.

We were immediately upgraded and had a choice of rooms that they showed us. the room we chose had a view over the canal and we could hear the Gondoliers singing to their passengers.

The hotel is located in the heart of Venice. You couldn't get a much better location. A stones throw from restaurants, shops and the Piazza San Marco.

Breakfast is buffet style but you can sit outside overlooking the Canale di San Marco. The view is awesome.

You can enjoy the same view from the outside patio bar as well. Make a note the bar staff are brilliant. Very attentive and they look after you - tip! The drinks are a bit on the expensive side, but you get great service and some snacks to eat delivered to your table. The snacks come with a lace frame over the top of them so you can keep your food pigeon free. Yes pigeons are all over the place, get used to them.

If anything the stay was great my only complaint was how pretentious the lobby team seemed to be. Very uppity and not appreciated which is why we knocked off a point. Asking for assistance and getting a shrug of the shoulders and a map shoved in your general direction left a sour taste in my mouth.

Outside of that we had a glorious time and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't waste either your time or money staying here. 5* my foot. Having travelled extensively for many years, we can honestly say that our experience of the Bauer Hotel was dreadful, the room was the worst we have stayed in anywhere. Peeling, dirty paint, curtains hanging off the rail, really very rude staff and a brick wall for a view. There is antique furniture and there is just plain, simple shabbiness. We had the latter. It ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can't believe this is considered as one of "The Leading Hotels in the World" It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in over our 3 week trip, and by far the worst hotel of all.

When we arrived, we waited for more than 20 minutes to check in, while staff members just looked away. Despite 3 people behind the desk, only one was doing anything.

The room was filthy. When you moved the drapes around the window, the dust and dirt were obvious. It took close to an hour for our luggage to be delivered to the room. The bed mattress was old, lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff barely acknowledges you.

At one point when we were in the lobby, someone dropped a large piece of trash on the floor. We watched as hotel employees simply walked by it. We could not believe it! No one seems to care about their job, the hotel or the guests. Finally, another guest picked up the trash and disposed of it. That told us all we needed to know.

Checking out was as efficient as checking in! Don't EVER go to this hotel. What a dump.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#59 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.