We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 382 hotels in Venice
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Bauer in Venice for three nights during carnival season. A beautiful art deco lobby with a very courteous front desk staff. We had a classically furnished room with a king bed and a window overlooking the canals and the nearby historic palazzos. A large bathroom with wonderful botanical amenities, produced by the hotel's owners. A short walk from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the canal and the gondolas. A wonderful array of prosciutto, cheeses, fresh fruit,pastries,and of course champagne! This hotel was perfect, I can recommend it to anyone looking to have an unforgettable experience in Venice.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

THE BAUERs Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    224
    72
    34
    26
See reviews for
122
438
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for five days. Took a river taxi from the airport and delivered to the hotels dock. The lobby is very nicely decorated, definitely something you would expect from a 5* hotel in Venice.

We were immediately upgraded and had a choice of rooms that they showed us. the room we chose had a view over the canal and we could hear the Gondoliers singing to their passengers.

The hotel is located in the heart of Venice. You couldn't get a much better location. A stones throw from restaurants, shops and the Piazza San Marco.

Breakfast is buffet style but you can sit outside overlooking the Canale di San Marco. The view is awesome.

You can enjoy the same view from the outside patio bar as well. Make a note the bar staff are brilliant. Very attentive and they look after you - tip! The drinks are a bit on the expensive side, but you get great service and some snacks to eat delivered to your table. The snacks come with a lace frame over the top of them so you can keep your food pigeon free. Yes pigeons are all over the place, get used to them.

If anything the stay was great my only complaint was how pretentious the lobby team seemed to be. Very uppity and not appreciated which is why we knocked off a point. Asking for assistance and getting a shrug of the shoulders and a map shoved in your general direction left a sour taste in my mouth.

Outside of that we had a glorious time and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't waste either your time or money staying here. 5* my foot. Having travelled extensively for many years, we can honestly say that our experience of the Bauer Hotel was dreadful, the room was the worst we have stayed in anywhere. Peeling, dirty paint, curtains hanging off the rail, really very rude staff and a brick wall for a view. There is antique furniture and there is just plain, simple shabbiness. We had the latter. It ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can't believe this is considered as one of "The Leading Hotels in the World" It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in over our 3 week trip, and by far the worst hotel of all.

When we arrived, we waited for more than 20 minutes to check in, while staff members just looked away. Despite 3 people behind the desk, only one was doing anything.

The room was filthy. When you moved the drapes around the window, the dust and dirt were obvious. It took close to an hour for our luggage to be delivered to the room. The bed mattress was old, lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff barely acknowledges you.

At one point when we were in the lobby, someone dropped a large piece of trash on the floor. We watched as hotel employees simply walked by it. We could not believe it! No one seems to care about their job, the hotel or the guests. Finally, another guest picked up the trash and disposed of it. That told us all we needed to know.

Checking out was as efficient as checking in! Don't EVER go to this hotel. What a dump.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at The Bauer Hotel San Marco on Sat the 13th of October for a two night stay prior to sailing on Princess for a Med cruise. This hotel has the highest standards. Our room was exceptional. Great windows with electric blinds. Turn down service, good toiletries. Bottled water furnished.
We had an excellent breakfast overlooking The Grand Canal each morning. Very good drinks in the bar. Good service at the reception area and the Concierge. We travel a great deal but since neither of us has royal blood I guess those who expect to be treated royally would find us extremely boring. If we are lucky enough to ever return to Venice I would not consider any other hotel!

Room Tip: We booked a 6 hour private tour with The Venice Experience. Well worth every dollar if you can affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gracious comments.
It was a pleasure to read that your room and the facilities and services used during your visit met with your approval and satisfaction.
In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at THE BAUERs!

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager of Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An extraordinary experience... we booked the last moment... we arrived with a delay, and no suitcases... they gave us all necessities... were extremely polite... our room was spacious, bright, with acute balcony overlooking the square and the water... excellent cuisine, and wonderful breakfast by the water, watching the gondolas going by... moments of absolute peace and silence... excellent amenities... top room maintanance... quaint little bar, with excellent soft dancing music... amemory to last a life time!!! we hope to go back some day...

Room Tip: stay at the old building, closer to the square, not at the sea front (might smell at times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We're a gay couple who stayed at the Bauer one night before our Regent cruise on 10/17/2012. The hotel was excellent, in a great location and, like another reviewer stated, the concierge Carlo was very helpful to suggest a walking tour and restaurants. Internet was free and we had no problems connecting.

The location of the hotel is perfect--one end on the canal and the other across from Prada and a block from St. Marks. Take the private water taxi for the experience from the airport, but take the Alilaguna to your ship or back to the airport (16 euros vs. 110).

The breakfast buffet was included and was fantastic. We'll definitely stay there again. Do Paolin's for lunch.

Bring a converter for your iphone/ipad chargers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#83 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star ”Bauer Hotel” offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moisè, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moisè, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, “Bauer Hotel” offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.