We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 381 hotels in Venice
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't waste either your time or money staying here. 5* my foot. Having travelled extensively for many years, we can honestly say that our experience of the Bauer Hotel was dreadful, the room was the worst we have stayed in anywhere. Peeling, dirty paint, curtains hanging off the rail, really very rude staff and a brick wall for a view. There is antique furniture and there is just plain, simple shabbiness. We had the latter. It ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    220
    70
    32
    27
See reviews for
104
402
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can't believe this is considered as one of "The Leading Hotels in the World" It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in over our 3 week trip, and by far the worst hotel of all.

When we arrived, we waited for more than 20 minutes to check in, while staff members just looked away. Despite 3 people behind the desk, only one was doing anything.

The room was filthy. When you moved the drapes around the window, the dust and dirt were obvious. It took close to an hour for our luggage to be delivered to the room. The bed mattress was old, lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff barely acknowledges you.

At one point when we were in the lobby, someone dropped a large piece of trash on the floor. We watched as hotel employees simply walked by it. We could not believe it! No one seems to care about their job, the hotel or the guests. Finally, another guest picked up the trash and disposed of it. That told us all we needed to know.

Checking out was as efficient as checking in! Don't EVER go to this hotel. What a dump.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at The Bauer Hotel San Marco on Sat the 13th of October for a two night stay prior to sailing on Princess for a Med cruise. This hotel has the highest standards. Our room was exceptional. Great windows with electric blinds. Turn down service, good toiletries. Bottled water furnished.
We had an excellent breakfast overlooking The Grand Canal each morning. Very good drinks in the bar. Good service at the reception area and the Concierge. We travel a great deal but since neither of us has royal blood I guess those who expect to be treated royally would find us extremely boring. If we are lucky enough to ever return to Venice I would not consider any other hotel!

Room Tip: We booked a 6 hour private tour with The Venice Experience. Well worth every dollar if you can affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gracious comments.
It was a pleasure to read that your room and the facilities and services used during your visit met with your approval and satisfaction.
In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at THE BAUERs!

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager of Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An extraordinary experience... we booked the last moment... we arrived with a delay, and no suitcases... they gave us all necessities... were extremely polite... our room was spacious, bright, with acute balcony overlooking the square and the water... excellent cuisine, and wonderful breakfast by the water, watching the gondolas going by... moments of absolute peace and silence... excellent amenities... top room maintanance... quaint little bar, with excellent soft dancing music... amemory to last a life time!!! we hope to go back some day...

Room Tip: stay at the old building, closer to the square, not at the sea front (might smell at times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We're a gay couple who stayed at the Bauer one night before our Regent cruise on 10/17/2012. The hotel was excellent, in a great location and, like another reviewer stated, the concierge Carlo was very helpful to suggest a walking tour and restaurants. Internet was free and we had no problems connecting.

The location of the hotel is perfect--one end on the canal and the other across from Prada and a block from St. Marks. Take the private water taxi for the experience from the airport, but take the Alilaguna to your ship or back to the airport (16 euros vs. 110).

The breakfast buffet was included and was fantastic. We'll definitely stay there again. Do Paolin's for lunch.

Bring a converter for your iphone/ipad chargers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Live in switzerland and usually stay in leading hotels while traveling in Europe. Room booked through leading hotels. Hotel in need of refurbishment and appears to be trying to cut costs. Lots of Americans as guests. Suite 557 and accompanying room for children large, no view, and polyester pillows impossible to sleep on. A shower leak, known to management before we arrived, completely covered bathroom floor with water. A bit disappointing for 850 euros per night. The director, Mr Cellerino, approach to problem solving is to delay addressing any problem as long as possible to avoid having to give too much away in complimentary offers. We refused all offers as we had a particular problem with the reception/operator staff who uttered an italian "f..k you" when my wife asked for housekeeping for the second time. Unfortunately for her, my wife speaks italian. We have complained to both the direction, and leading hotels immediately since the room was reserved through them. Unfortunately the board is made up of other hoteliers so nothing done yet. A complaint to the owner, Ms. Posatti, entitled us to a review form which we will complete. Mr Cellerino responded two days later upon my request. Finally, we did receive a formal apology from Mr Cellerino and are waiting on apologies from the two operators(either Daniella or Antonella or Lena according to Mr. Cellerino) involved in the insult. Breakfast area too small as used for Bauer and sister hotel. Tables in recesses of hallway in attempt to accommodate the crowd. Breakfast food ok but leading hotels shouldn't serve canned fruit for the masses with just a few apples and oranges on the side to give the appearance of fresh fruit. Marco, the concierge, most helpful. In summary-well located but not a five star hotel or a leading hotel. If considering staying here look for heavily discounted rates that may make it worth the hassles. For me and my family never again.... not even with the complimentary stay we have been offered.

Room Tip: Don't stay in suite 557. 1 centimeter of water in the bathroom floor from a leak in the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the behavior of our team member. We regret this has reflected so negatively on your stay and on your impressions of the hotel. Please rest assured that once the dynamics and responsibilities of this event – which are still unclear - will be ascertained, we will take serious corrective action.
We are sorry to read that our response to the issue at stake was considered slow since our Front Office Manager offered our immediate excuses along with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Unfortunately it was refused, as were our multiple other attempts to make your holiday a happy one.
We are obviously most anxious to regain your confidence and hope you may reconsider your decision not to return in the future, thus giving us the opportunity of show the high level of hospitality appreciated by our many return guests.

Yours very sincerely
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager Bauer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel looking good, but costumer services are TERRIBLE!!
You also pay for wireless internet and pray to works because 90% of the hotel doesn't .
I tried to make a collect call after 11PM, and was not operator in the hotel!! And nobody knew how to do it!!
Have to change the room because the gave us one just bellow the bells of the church!
Front desk and bellmen are rude!
We will not come back at all!

Room Tip: Take the room with channel view if you have to stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the unkind behavior of some of our team members at the reception desk and bell staff. Your comments have been taken in serious consideration and corrective action has been taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future. We are most anxious to regain your confidence in our property and hope you may reconsider your decision not to return in the future thus giving us the opportunity of providing the high level of hospitality we strive to offer our guests.
The Management and BAUERs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#84 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star ”Bauer Hotel” offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moisè, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moisè, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, “Bauer Hotel” offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.