We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bauer Concierge is best in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Hotel to your Saves list
Bauer Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Jolla Shores
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bauer Concierge is best in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

August in Venice is not what I would usually choose as a favorite time to visit. With a multi-family group and school age children, there was no choice. Muggy, very hot and full of people, Venice is still beautiful. Bauer has fantastic air-conditioned interior spaces and the Bauer Concierge, Carlo Salini, was kind, helpful, and exceptional at reading our needs. Our rooms were great, the breakfast on the Grand Canal was a high point and Carlo found us perfect restaurants at short notice-and our reception at the restaurants once we arrived was impeccable. I have stayed in Venice many times and eaten at the restaurants he recommended on other occasions, but with his referral, the restaurants we visited improved remarkably. Many, many thanks to staff at Bauer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    255
    83
    41
    30
See reviews for
154
531
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We took the vapporerto taxi to San Marco stop. It took over an hour but the fare of 15E pp was better than 110E for a private taxi then there was the fun parade of luggage to get to the hotel up and down steps of 1 bridge.

My iPhone GPS was quite valuable. If you don't have a GPS make sure you have a map. Nothing is worse than dragging luggage and being lost.

We were very happy at this hotel. We had a suite which was large and had a very nice bathroom.

Some oddness though... Our jacuzzi turned itself on, when we talked to the engineer he said "yeah they do that sometimes"... Odd

. We found a coffee maker in the room but no cups or coffee or tea. We asked and they said we will send up cups but we do not provide coffee or tea.... Odd

The tv was in the living room not in the bedroom. Odd. The hotel happily moved it for us but it was strange.

All in all we would come back. The staff was really friendly and helpful and the location is perfect

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the standards of service and hotel facilities after your recent visit. All guest feedback is valuable to us and your points have been taken into serious consideration as they allow us to improve customer satisfaction. We hope to look forward to your continue d patronage to BAUER hotels and remain yours very sincerely
The Management and BAUERs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, the breakfast buffet offered a wonderful variety and the food was fabulous. The staff were incredible especially the concierge who personally recovered my lost luggage from the pier. Having evening drinks on the patio overlooking the canal and city was spectacular. My only negative feedback is that WiFi should have been included with the stay. This is a five star hotel after all and felt like they were nickel and diming me with the extra WiFi charges.

Room Tip: Some room locations will require climbing stairs so be specific on check in as to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our HOTEL. It was a pleasure to read that the majority of facilities and services used during your visit met with your satisfaction. In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
The Management and BAUERs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our last experience and visit was in October 2012 during our anniversary. The 4 day stay in Venice was the best destination to choose in order to celebrate a romantic celebration.

The hotel Bauer is a five star hotel just 3 minutes walk from St Marks famous square and church and the shopping area where all famous brands and cultural shops are.

From Piazzale Roma we took a private water taxi to the hotel's entrance.

Our beautiful room had a view to the condola's canal. But the most amazing view was from the De Pisis restaurant where it looks to the grand canal sitting on the beautifull veranda.

Tehe service was excellent and the staff very friendly and for sure we will return back to the beautifull and historical Venice and choose to stay to to the Bauer hotel.

Room Tip: Best located 5 star hotel in Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Bauer Hotel for two days prior to our 25th anniversary cruise. It is expensive but worth a splurge for a special celebration. We arrived in the morning and took the water taxi arranged by the hotel. My DH had never been to Venice so the entire experience was thrilling. Our room wasn't ready but they told us to have breakfast on them and come back to talk to the concierge about what to do. They arranged a private tour of Murano and it was worth the price. On the way there the private boat took us down the Grand Canal for pictures and on the way back he took a different route to show us more. When we came back our room was ready. A wonderful romantic room in the main hotel with a view of a small canal. This hotel is centrally located and next door to my favorite church in Europe - the Moses church. The breakfast is great and is served on the Grand Canal. Their recommendations for shopping and eating were spot on. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Now don't get me wrong the Bauer is a special hotel in a great area. HOWEVER, be aware that it encompasses 3 hotels: The Bauer Palazzo, The Bauer Hotel, and The Bauer Casa Nova.
In my experience the star ratings should be 5, 4, 3 - in that order.

We stayed in the Casa Nova and were pretty disappointed with the overall stay. The positive aspects of the stay were: room was spotlessly clean, and maid service excellent - our room was made up in the morning and then again in the evening along with the turn down service. One of our bedside lamp bulbs blew one night and was replaced the next day without us saying a thing - very impressive!

On the down side though the Casa Nova public areas have a stale/musty smell. The room itself has NO view - except for a wall, in fact we were so near to the building next door we couldn't even see the sky!!! We had booked a suite as part of our Silver Wedding celebration but it was very disappointing and was smaller than most hotel rooms i've stayed in. There is a tiny "kitchenette" that has an electric hob - but no pots, pans or kettle even to make coffee/tea!!!!!

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Casa Nova "wing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This trip was the first trip overseas everywhere we travelled was fantastic as soon as we arrived at the Bauer we were blown away by the whole place and its surroundings the room was huge and spacious not to mention beautifully decorated and overlooked the large structure in San Marco Square.We were there for 3 nights and loved every minute of it.Perfect location.

Room Tip: We were advised when travelling overseas never get anything less the 5 star and I dont think you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.