We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna da Baffo

Taverna da Baffo
San Polo 2346 | Campiello Sant'Agostin, Venice, Italy
+39 041 5242061
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident having been roaming the streets in Venice for a good half an hour looking for somewhere that served decent food. Once I heard the Sinatra classics being played from the speakers, it had me sold. The waiter here is absolutely hilarious and very friendly, I have no doubt he attracts a lot of repeat clientele. My partner and I shared a pizza for an entree and I had the quatro formaggi pasta for my main and both dishes were delicious, home-style Italian cooking. Nothing fancy but very tasty and we were both left feeling very full and satisfied once we had finished.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    96
    36
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You have to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant we went to while traveling in Venice. The food was cheap. but fantastic. It was mostly locals inside. And the staff were friendly

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and decent food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch. The food was tasty, we shared a pizza and then had a pasta each, prices were between E8-12 for both pizzas and Pastas. Serving sizes were more than reasonable we neither of us having room for dessert. They also have several glasses of wine on the menu for E3-5 each.

The highlight of the meal was definitely the service. The waiter was quite entertaining sharing several jokes with customers.

Unfortunately we went in February so the seating in the courtyard was not out, but it looked like it would be very nice to eat pi there in the summer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We eat the best sea soup in Venice here! All food are fresh. Good atmosphere,nice music, old photoes of Venice around you, pleasant personal and tasty food - all this things make you evening unforgettable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here 3 times. Always service frendly and funny. Food good. Cost is reasonable. Kids enjoyed pizza and pasta and some good fish as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Taverna da Baffo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Taverna da Baffo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna da Baffo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.