We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #24 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife has always wanted to visit Venice,something that I had done in the mid 60's prior to university. We chose The Cipriani because of our past experiences of Orient Express hotels and we were not disappointed. from the moment that we were met on the private quay from our personal transfer from the airport, everything was perfect. The lagoon view room was just what we had hoped for and the staff were outstanding in their help and support. A private tour had been arranged for us on our first morning which was superb and showed us all that we wanted, thus allowing us to arrange our own visits ( with the advice from our guide) for the next day.
We ate at both of the main restaurants and were delighted with the food. Both menus were equally delicious and the sommelier recommended outstanding local wines at very reasonable prices.
The sea water pool was excellent with attentive pool attendants and a great lunch menu.
Water transport to the islands can be accessed from just outside the hotel and is very reasonable in price if you purchase a 12 hour ticket. We visited both Murano and Burano, which should not be missed.
The views are outstanding from the hotel which looks directly towards St Mark's Square. One of the great travelling experiences. If you are going to Venice, a three night say is adequate and my advice is "Stay at The Cipriani for an experience to remember and one that will make memories of one of the most beautiful cities in the world so much more memorable".

Room Tip: Lagoon view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    74
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
249
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What we loved abut this place was its location right across from San Marcos square. It was great to spend the day shopping and then come back to the serenity of Hotel Cipriani. The service, food and cocktails were excellent. Our lagoon view room balcony was actually quite tired and located right above the dock for the hotel shuttle. Our direct view was of both the hotel and the lagoon - it wasn't the best view. The hotel gardens were whimsical and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My expectations were high, and maybe too great. My wife and I really wanted to like the Cipriani, but left feeling disappointed by the whole experience.

To me, the main problem is that occasionally there are some establishments which tend to lose all sense of reality when it comes to pricing. I don't mind paying high prices in hotels, if I feel I get decent value for money. Yes, even at that level one can still expect this. And checking out after a three night stay, (plus one very average meal at the Cip's), with a 5000 euro bill, I felt almost ripped off.

I have to say that in this group, now call Belmond (ex VSOE), they really have a habit of adding crazy extras to their bills (so called service charges/local taxes etc..) which inflates everything by 20%. We had the same experience at Villa San Michele, another of their property. No other hotel I know has all those hidden charges.

Despite an Amex platinum reservation, they did not give us an upgrade, though there was availability in every category of room during the whole stay. But the most unhelpful and disagreeable manager on duty shrugged this off and told me 'yes but you have a renovated room.. ' Well thank you so much for not giving us an old shabby room at about 1600e a night!

No bottle of Spumante in the room, a common gesture in grand Italian hotels, no welcome card, just a few fruits and two tiny bottles of water at night. The room itself with a terrace was quite pleasant, but a hard bed, overly soft pillows, harsh sheets, and curtains that did not prevent early morning daylight coming through, were not conducive to a good night's sleep.

Service was good on the whole if a little too ready to crack a joke with you. Good service to me is more about being discrete and attentive, rather than trying to find something to laugh about every time.

The pool was good, with its sea water, but mattresses were a bit close together and few, since many of the more intimate ones were reserved, I was told. But personally, I find a pool does not add much in Venice, baring in mind it closed at 6pm, more or less when we would return from various expeditions.

In all honesty, I think this hotel would and indeed does suit some people, who are regular guests. Thought we were told by some friendly guests that they felt unhappy with the general condition of their room on the Vendramin side, plus some common areas in need of a lick of paint. Just unacceptable at that price range.

I really think the Cipriani is resting on its laurels, and should be aware that Venice has many fine establishments on offer.

My wife and I loved Venice so much, that we extended our stay, but left the Cipriani for the Gritti. It turned out to be a far superior hotel, in every possible way.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Enjoyed the most wonderful 3 night stay at The Cipriani with my husband and two children. After arriving in Venice on the Orient Express I wasn't sure any hotel could live up to the glamour and opulence we had got used to on the train but The Cipriani did and more. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. We had two suites both with balconies overlooking the lagoon which were comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. It was so lovely to retreat to The Cipriani late every afternoon after exploring busy but beautiful Venice and enjoy a dip in their wonderful pool, a laze in the sun and a cool drink from the bar. We enjoyed an informal dinner in the pool bar one evening when there was a tremendous storm which stopped most guests from venturing outside of the hotel and we had the most wonderful meal on our last night at Cip's Club - what a stunning place to watch the sun go down and Venice light up. The stroll through the hotel gardens to reach Cips Club was lovely and provided us with some great photo opportunities. Everything about The Cipriani exceeded our expectations and we will be sure to stay again should we re-visit Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed frequently at the Cipriani between 1995/2006 , but felt that it was resting on its laurels and so went elsewhere . This was our first stay since then and the hotel is definitely back on form. We were upgraded to a suite in the Palazzo Vendramin which we loved and the views towards St Marco are breathtaking .The long overdue renovation of the restaurant , renamed as Oro , is a great success and we had an excellent dinner with very charming but professional service . The charming bar staff deserve particular mention and we're looking forward to seeing them again soon !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is characterised by old world charm. The service is impeccable and friendly without being intrusive. The pool area is relaxing and the large salt water pool welcoming after a hot day roaming the streets and canals of Venice. The hotel organised an evening Bacaro (typical Venetian tapas bar) tour by boat and through the back canals of Venice with Stefano which we would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from a short stay at the Cipriani where we had a room with a balcony facing the gardens, so peaceful.
As you would expect from a hotel of this class, nothing was too much trouble & service was superb.
The swimming pool (salt water) must be one of the best we have experienced, a delight to spend time in after a day exploring the streets & canals in the city.
Travelling to & from the island by the hotel's complimentary river boat just added to the whole experience.
The only disappointment was the meal on the final evening, there was a spectacular storm so we were slightly compromised in terms of travelling back to the main island, we were advised to eat at 'Cip's Club' by the concierge, the staff were great but the meal was mediocre & certainly not good value for money, we were desperately disappointed, especially as the meal for 4 cost around £350!! (we only had 4 glasses of wine in the cost) We have had much better in establishment's without the Cipriani's reputation.
We followed our stay with a return journey on the Orient Express where the food was world class, we had expected the same of the hotel.
We would certainly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a luxurious stay but unfortunately, we would not be able to recommend 'Cip's Club' for a gastronomical experience or indeed, value.

Room Tip: At the Cipriani all the rooms will be excellent, the rooms overlooking the rear garden will be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (by John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.