We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DREAM COME TRUE....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
san diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A DREAM COME TRUE....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel but on previous visits it was closed during the Winter. From the moment the train arrived in Santa Lucia and we were met by the Cipirani staff member I knew we had made the right choice. There are many luxury hotel in Venice but only one like this. The boat ride along the Grand Canal is a great passage to the hotel and we were greeted at the dock of the hotel by porters who swept us away through the lovely landscaped front entrance.The rooms were not quite ready so we were escorted to the beautiful poolside restaurant for a relaxing lunch. The pool is the largest hotel pool in Italy and is heated to 82F with saltwater. Just a delight. Upon entering our room, escorted by a staff member, we were shown all of the features and then taken outside to the enormous terrace we had overlooking the pool and a portion of the gardens. All of the gardens were in full bloom and looked spectacular yet welcoming. The breakfast in the restaurant or on the terrace or in your room is superb and offer EVERYTHING you could possibly want. what a way to start your day before touring Venice. The hotel boat runs 24/7 back and forth to St.Mark's and is complimentary. For those with no deire to tour or shop then the hotel is a perfect place to spend the day with a full service spa and gym and plenty of places to walk to and explore. This was a part of Venice I did not know existed. the highlight of the trip was dinner in Cips, the casual restaurant, with the most impressive view of Venice. What a perfect ending to a vacation. It juts out on the water and even moves slightly as boats pass by.So many choices on the menu will allow and appetite to be satisfied. There is a new gourmet restaurant also within the hotel but we did not have time to experince it during our two days. The staff is well trained, well informed and totally understand the meaning of guest service. The grounds and public areas are in pristine condition. You MUST vist Belmond Hotel Cipriani.

Room Tip: If you wish to reserve a suite, then those with the large terraces overlooking the pool are best. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    76
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
73
268
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel itself is in an idyllic position far enough away from the crowds but easy to get into Venice itself by the hotel's own launch which runs 24/7. The rooms - especially the bathrooms are magnificent - and are well equipped with toiletries etc. The Lagoon view from our room was magnificent. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. The one downside was the meal we had in the Oro Restaurant. Although the food was delicious and well presented the service the night we ate there left a lot to be desired! We waited one hour for our appetiser, our wine never materialised with the main course (although we were given a brandy with our coffee by way of apology) and the rest of the meal was also beset by delays. Hopefully this was an unusual experience and the next time we go things will be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Situated literally next to the Cipriani hotel on Giudecca the Belmond actually allows you a better view of Venice at a fraction of the price. Having stayed at the Cipriani which is gorgeous i can honestly say the room we stayed in is as nice as some of the ones in the Cipriani - maybe less grand but equally as stylish and with MUCH BETTER VIEWS! Our room was directly opposite St Marks Square. We had a hotel shuttle water taxi to take us across. The service at the reception was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic - sitting outside in a beautiful garden. I would recommend room 111 - its fabulous!!

Room Tip: Room 111 was amazing - a duplex room with a lovely bathroom (good sized bath) and a sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a return visit for us but it still sparkled for us,and in sharp contrast to their Splendido hotel. Must be one of the true best hotels in the world. Position helps but staff, who breathe the job and enjoy it, shine through as the icing on the cake

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a real show stopper, a hotel which you arrive by your own boat,, brillant views of the Lagoon & Venice. The resturants are all brillant, great food & great service.
There is an outside swimming pool & gardens with all with service to match. As for a lagoon room if possiable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you've read my other reviews then you'll know I some times wax lyrical and this provides plenty of scope. By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and cannot wait to return to. Sublime and stunning and superb. It could only have been improved if the legendary George Clooney appeared to serve us cocktails! 

We arrived by vaporetto and were warmly welcomed by name, after very brief formalities at reception ( a point we enjoyed) we were treated to a tour of the hotel by an enthusiastic and passionate staff member who clearly loves his job. 

We were shown our lagoon view suite, welcomed with Prosecco and settled into pure luxury. A lovely entry space, huge sitting room/ dining room/ study a massive king bedroom and humungous double bathroom with spa bath, separate shower, separate toilet and heaps of wardrobe space and drawers with heaps of great hangars. My favourite are that the Bvalgari toiletries come in two fragrances, there's also Molton &Brown toiletries and there's a tooth mug and best of all a huge pot of cotton balls, shaving/make up mirror. Decor throughout a lovely restrained traditional Italian with wonderful muted colours and drapes. 

View to die for across terrace and garden to lagoon with boats and sunshine. Other rooms look over swimming pool or grade which is also green and lovely. Reccomend the lagoon view and you can choose a room with a small balcony . 

Service is perfect, warm, friendly without being obtrusive or pretentious and you are made to feel like an honored family member rather than a short term guest. Congoerge's very obliging and a day on the lagoon in the hotel boa, Sylvia, with Captain Fabio was great fun and reccomended. Service in restaurants refined, efficient, warm and friendly conversation.

Pool is large and lovely with plenty of space to lounge in the sun or sip drinks under the shade. The garden is beautifully maintained, rambling roses, fruit rrees and olives, rolling lawn, a statue garden for children and a huge herb garden. A a lovely spot to enjoy a quiet drink. 

Breakfast on the terrace is lovely with stunning views and one of the best and highest quality breakfast bar selections I've encountered. Cooked breakfast excellent too. Only slight criticism is the croissant are uninspiring!

Restaurants fabulous - see my reviews for Cips and Oro. Both highly reccomended. 

Room Tip: A lagoon view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Last visit to the Cipriani was for the Venice Film Festival, and there is no better hotel to choose for that event. Away from the maddening crowds of Venice mainland, yet just a small (free) boat ride from St Mark's Square, this tranquil setting is a hop away from the Lido, where the festival takes place. And, for that week, expect to bump into plenty of famous people from the acting world.

Best meal of the day is breakfast - what a location / view!

Room Tip: Water-front and balcony are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (By John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Belmond, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.