We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but well worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #23 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Pacific Palisades, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive, but well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, you will pay a lot to stay at the Cipriani, particularly with a lagoon view, but it is an amazing place.

Other than the prices, there is nothing not to like about the Cipriani. The grounds are extraordinary, while not in Venice proper, all the tourist attractions can be reached in minutes via the shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so. The hotels location outside the main part of Venice allows you to escape from the crowds seeing the sites and spend a relaxing few hours around the pool.

The food is excellent and the service, overall, is impeccable.

If the prices won't break your budget, the Cipriani is definitely a great place to stay when in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    74
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
252
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Cipriani is very quiet and peaceful away from the crowded touristic island. It is my first choice if I would like to have a good sleep and good food in a friendly environment. The hotel staff are friendly. It is a family-friendly hotel with some activities for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We started our Italian honeymoon in the hotel. I had always wanted to go to Venice. We departed the orient express train and were met by a personal escort. We traveled to the hotel by private water taxi, what an experience. The only disappointing thing about Venice was the weather, it rained the whole time we were there! We were greeted at the hotel by several members of staff, we felt like the film stars that stay here! Elton johns house is right next door! We were upgraded to a beautiful garden suite that led out onto the swimming pool area. The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing. We were told by Italian friends that this was the best hotel on Venice and omg they were so right. The staff are amazing, the food faultless and you really feel like you are in your own private paradise away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. Roberto the head concierge is brilliant, he told us to put bad, but we couldn't! He is so helpful. All of the staff go out of their way to help you. We stayed over Easter and the little touches around the hotel were brill. We ate in every restaurant/bar in the hotel and they are all amazing. The selection and quality is fantastic, the wine selection and sommeliers are very interesting. Thank you for thoroughly spoiling us.

Room Tip: The garden rooms would be amazing in suitable weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would give the Cipriani more than 5 stars if I could because it is simply my favorite hotel in the world. This was our 6th trip to the Cipriani and for me, there is no other place to stay in Venice during the warm weather season. The property is exquisite and I especially enjoy the pool to which I retreat every afternoon after a busy day of looking at art and wandering around Venice. Our room this year was exquisite. The service is unbeatable, with a concierge service that is available round the clock to make restaurant and touring recommendations both before and during one's stay. The atmosphere at the hotel is friendly and low-key. It feels like a club and guests enjoy speaking to each other and sharing travel and dining tips. We also enjoyed a lovely al fresco meal at the Fortuny Restaurant dining under the stars. There are few things in life that are perfect and this is one of them.

Room Tip: Lagoon view or poolside access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The level of service was of the highest level, the restaurants were excellent and the pool is beautiful. A very romantic hotel and a must stay for anyone visiting Venice. Thank you for making it an amazing trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a fantastic place, just perfect.

We arrived on the Orient Express from Paris and staff from the Cipriani boarded the train near Venice to check us in so there was no wait when you step from the boat into this wonderful oasis on an island facing St Mark's Square. You're whisked to your room which is bound to be beautiful, just as ours were.

The Cipriani has a 'clubby' feel and you're instantly a member. The staff are super efficient but friendly and all seem to have the most amazing memories for your preferences.

So, with that and the fact that there's lots to do in the hotel itself (numerous bars, restaurants, the fabulous pool, gardens), it would be easy to stay put and not venture out to Venice. But the Cipriani has cracked that too and provides a complimentary launch that runs 24 hours to shuttle you to and from the hotel to St Mark's Square. And when you've done the sights or had dinner, it's wonderful to return to the oasis of calm.

It's obvious that people return year after year to this wonderful property. I can see why and fully intend to be one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I took up the Orient Express offer of staying here and travelling back on the train.
Flying in across the Alps and Dolomites and landing with Venice sparkling in the sun to your right was exciting enough.
Then a private transfer by water taxi (i.e. speed launch!) was a magical way to arrive in Venice.
The Cipriani itself is brilliant and you can't help but feel the history.Getting the motor launch to and from St Marks Square makes you feel like a movie star.even if you aren't.
The pool is brilliant,the grounds on its own private island are magical (especially considering the compact nature of the rest of Venice),the restaurants were all good and the service was absolutely top class - warmth and friendliness that comes with the confidence of places that know they are first rate and special.
We had lunch at the Danieli once and although the meal was great i noticed that that it was a stuffier, less friendly service than we experienced at the Cipriani.
All in all it was an absolutely perfect place to stay to visit Venice.
Having the Orient Express train journey home was special so look out for those offers (usually published at Christmas for trips around March/April time) as the combined deal is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (by John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.