We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful Place to Stay in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off suites
Ranked #23 of 382 hotels in Venice
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Place to Stay in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Cipriani is the perfect place to stay when visiting Venice because you are right next to St. Mark's Square with access to all of the hustle and bustle, but you are also secluded on an island, able to relax and enjoy the vacation and down-time. I stay at only the upper eschelon of hotels, and this hotel is right on par with those.

The Hotel has its own dock at St. Mark's Square, where a boat is stationed 24/7, so you never have to wait. The hotel will drive you to the St. Mark's Square whenever you want via a free 5 minute boatride. It docks at the Hotel Cipriani dock, and then you are off to explore Venice. Whenever you are finished, you return to St. Mark's via gondola or your own feet and then board the hotels boat which awaits you at the dock. Then you return to the wonderful hotel and relax poolside, in your room, or at one of the restaurants. The staff were wonderfully pleasant. The food was good, but not exceptional.

My favorite part of this hotel was the fact that it was so secluded and reached by boat, but also so close to St. Mark's Square that you could do a few hours of shopping and then relax poolside as though you were on a beach vacation. It was exactly what I wanted and I wouldn't hesitate staying there next time I visit Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    71
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
62
227
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent three lovely days At Cipriani this Spring and loved every moment of it. Venice is exquisite in May as are the gardens and landscaping of this historic palace. My suite had old world charm and the service was true "old guard" Italian! i loved every second of this stay and the three minute water taxi ride to St. Marks Square was never a bore watching the myraid of boats and cruise ships coming and going..
The Cipriani is a respite in Venice from the crowds and noise. It was wonderful to sit on my patio having coffee in the mrining overlooking the gardens and Grand Canal of Venice.
The service staff are extremely professional, kind, and go out of their way to make all guests feel welcome! I cannot wait to return and it was worth every penny...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

How can I describe perfection? The Cipriani is an unforgettable experience we will long to repeat, extraordinary place. The care to the smallest details is hard to match.
The place to be spoilt. I recommend the amazing pool grill as well as the restaurant overlooking sunset kber Venice. Perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are, I believe, exceptional, but the ones overlooking the lagoon are unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in mid September. We were upgraded to a refurbished Junior Suite on the first floor of the main building. Our room was very close to the hotel entrance where the boats dock. It had a private patio with very dense and tall landscaping. The room had a nice multi-speaker stereo system with an iPod dock. The bathroom was beautiful and the tub had a neck cushion for added comfort. The toilet was too close to the wall and it was hard to fit on it. There was a pop up TV at the head of the bed if you like this type of thing. The couch and chairs looked nice but weren't comfortable. The bed sheets were very starchy also and not comfortable. The service overall was excellent. The two restaurants served great food which was included in the price of the room. We enjoyed Cuban cigars at the pool bar. The views from Cip's Club restaurant of the Lagoon and Venice were worth the price of admission. I especially liked being on an island away from the hordes of tourists invading downtown Venice. Venice today is like a outdoor designer shopping mall. I think this degrades the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012. Made a reservation for a lagoon view junior suite and was upgraded to a full suite on arrival. Room was nice, fairly large with a double balcony, and a separate bedroom. Nice bathroom amenities and free wi-fi was a plus. There is a do not disturb switch at the bedside which glows a bright red when switched on, which is not conducive to sleeping. The room and hotel itself was a bit dated and could certainly use a fresh coat of paint. Certainly, swapping out the CD players for iPod docks is recommended. However, the people who stay here are old and so is the money. You won't see a lot of young people here except for the odd trust fund kid with his millionaire parents. The privacy and exclusivity demanded by the aforementioned guests can be found here. The boat transfers to the main island were quick and efficient although they should be more clear about how to call for a return boat. Someone needs to mind the business centre as the printers there were never working during my stay. Housekeeping was meticulous and turn down was always completed while we were at dinner. Service as well was exceptional although I would suggest adding food and drink service poolside. Both Fortuny and Cip's Place were excellent for both service and food. The servers at Fortuny were great during the dinner rush when the restaurant fills up as soon as it is open. Overall, I'm happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I consider myself a somewhat jaded traveller and have stayed at numerous hotels over the years. However,the Hotel Cipriani still managed to impress and I regard it as one of my all time favourite. The location itself, on the waterfront across the Giudecca Canal from St Mark's Square and with views of the neighbouring island of San Giorgio Maggiore is pretty hard to beat. It even has its own complimentary motor launch to St Mark's Square operating every 15 minutes. The staff members are attentive and helpful. I am not easily impressed but this property is beautiful and its gardens are magical. Yes, it is expensive but in my view, it perfectly captures the romance and fantasy that is Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in early October 2012 for four nights. First impressions upon arrival on the water taxi was beautiful! We were greeted and escorted to reception as if we were film stars! As Kim Kardashian was there the same time as us perhaps they thought I was her!!! Our room was smaller than expected but elegantly decorated. The bed however was very firm and we requested a king bed but actually had two singles pushed together! We dined in both restaurants and the food was delicious but a little pricey. Service excellent, all staff very helpful. The private water taxi was brilliant, very frequent and only took 5 mins to get to St Marks. Concierge arranged a private boat to take us to Burano, they even payed cash for us and charged it to our room. They also organised a personal our guide for a morning too. They recommended restaurants outside of the hotel and made bookings on our behalf. Very helpful! Pool was fab and very warm. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back. Spa great and best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#27 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (by John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.