We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old people, old money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #24 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Old people, old money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012. Made a reservation for a lagoon view junior suite and was upgraded to a full suite on arrival. Room was nice, fairly large with a double balcony, and a separate bedroom. Nice bathroom amenities and free wi-fi was a plus. There is a do not disturb switch at the bedside which glows a bright red when switched on, which is not conducive to sleeping. The room and hotel itself was a bit dated and could certainly use a fresh coat of paint. Certainly, swapping out the CD players for iPod docks is recommended. However, the people who stay here are old and so is the money. You won't see a lot of young people here except for the odd trust fund kid with his millionaire parents. The privacy and exclusivity demanded by the aforementioned guests can be found here. The boat transfers to the main island were quick and efficient although they should be more clear about how to call for a return boat. Someone needs to mind the business centre as the printers there were never working during my stay. Housekeeping was meticulous and turn down was always completed while we were at dinner. Service as well was exceptional although I would suggest adding food and drink service poolside. Both Fortuny and Cip's Place were excellent for both service and food. The servers at Fortuny were great during the dinner rush when the restaurant fills up as soon as it is open. Overall, I'm happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    74
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
249
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I consider myself a somewhat jaded traveller and have stayed at numerous hotels over the years. However,the Hotel Cipriani still managed to impress and I regard it as one of my all time favourite. The location itself, on the waterfront across the Giudecca Canal from St Mark's Square and with views of the neighbouring island of San Giorgio Maggiore is pretty hard to beat. It even has its own complimentary motor launch to St Mark's Square operating every 15 minutes. The staff members are attentive and helpful. I am not easily impressed but this property is beautiful and its gardens are magical. Yes, it is expensive but in my view, it perfectly captures the romance and fantasy that is Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in early October 2012 for four nights. First impressions upon arrival on the water taxi was beautiful! We were greeted and escorted to reception as if we were film stars! As Kim Kardashian was there the same time as us perhaps they thought I was her!!! Our room was smaller than expected but elegantly decorated. The bed however was very firm and we requested a king bed but actually had two singles pushed together! We dined in both restaurants and the food was delicious but a little pricey. Service excellent, all staff very helpful. The private water taxi was brilliant, very frequent and only took 5 mins to get to St Marks. Concierge arranged a private boat to take us to Burano, they even payed cash for us and charged it to our room. They also organised a personal our guide for a morning too. They recommended restaurants outside of the hotel and made bookings on our behalf. Very helpful! Pool was fab and very warm. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back. Spa great and best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I realize that Euro hotels are different than USA luxury hotels. I went to Hotel Cipriani with such high hopes. I was very disappointed. I did not know I had to shuttle back and forth to get to Venice. Not hard but inconvenient . The hotel lobby was so plain in comparison to other Luxury Hotels in Venice. I knew I was in trouble the moment we entered. Very cold atmosphere, and the rooms followed that path.
No carpeting was the first sign, that makes for a very cold and uninviting room, the bed was old style, very hard not comfortable. The pillows were very nice. It's only the first day of November and they had the heat cranked up you would have thought it was freezing outside and it was not.
The bathroom was the only saving's grace as it was very nice with great towels and big US style shower.
The hotel did include free wifi which I did appreciate and the complementary breakfast was very good and fresh.
The expense of this property however outweighed the few amenities that I enjoyed, It's so over-rated and under performing, you can do much better in Venice at a much lower price with GREAT locations!
If you are rock star and you require complete isolation or you just want privacy then Hotel Cipriani might appeal to you, otherwise I feel like you may be unhappy with this hotel.
I would not recommend or return to this property.

Room Tip: investigate every aspect of your stay and do the research prior to booking, a good deal on a place y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Yes i will say the overall Cipriani Hotel experience was amazing as its not something one will do twice, if they cant afford it, in their lifetime. So, Its for this reason i personally was a little dissappointed on a number of things during our 5 day stay within my room perse - for instance clothes storage was ridiculously small and we had a suite in the Palazzo Vendramin and yes the staff arranged a mobile clothes rack when asked but this could only fit in my lounge room, thus made my visual experience a little "downgraded"(reminded me of my uni years). the scuffed parquet flooring could have done with a polish(something it seemed to lack for probably 2 years) light switches were hit and miss as you never knew how to turn lights on and off, water jugs didnt work - no coffee machine in the room!! so we needed to order which we got charged for like a wounded bull so you would wonder why the Hotel wouldnt consider a little Nespresso machine for the customer to enjoy free of charge because i couldnt think that the Hotel relied on this little "extra" to assist with Revenue of the Hotel considering the room rates.. exhaust fan in the bathroom didnt work ?? so after the wife showered everything fogged up hence didnt fix it either within the 5 days we were there..the bath plug didnt allow the water out when showering so it was always a bathtub in the end. lots of mosquitoes...lots. request the plug in mosquitoe killers and hope they work before you wake up and find out that it didnt(something you would think a hotel of this calibre would ensure didnt occur right?!).. food was generally nice but i wouldnt say extraordinary. the Hotel grounds are beautiful as well as amazing as there is nothing that matches this in Venice - the heated olympic sized pool - the views of St Marks Square from Cips Bar, the views at Breakfast across the lagoon are amazing. staff are friendly however like always there was one that we seemed never to get along with as he had a real attitude at the front desk. the continuous transport to Venice every 15 minutes made you feel special as everyone knows you are coming or going to Cipriani so they think of you as some rock star....my thoughts are simple and i feel that the older the property the owners feel that the less they need to change it to offer the "old appeal" however i generally feel that the modern day traveller moves around with a lot more things/suitcases/toiletries/shoes etc etc that the properties should have a certain element of upgrading to cater for this regard. so when the real area of the Hotel that one would constantly use(being the room/suite) has certain comfort issues then your overall feel of the place gets affected. unfortunately thats my opinion and i hope i have raised a few points for others to take note of when booking at this once in a lifetime place...

Room Tip: if you want to look over at St Marks Square you need to get a room in the Palazzo Verdramin or Palaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cipriani for four nights this October for our 25th wedding anniversary. When we arrived, several of the staff (including the head concierge on a water bike!) were waiting at the dock to greet us. The service was unequaled. Without exception, everyone was warm, friendly, kind and competent. The hotel itself is beautiful and, although secluded, only five minutes from St. Mark's by private launch. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculate. The food was outstanding. My wife and I have stayed at many historic hotels and this outdoes them all. STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well-situated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel has a great reputation and well deserves it. From being met at the St Lucia rail station and whisked by motor lauch down the Grand Canal to the hotels landing stage to breakfast on the terrace overlooking Venice Lagoon, the Cipriani is a delightful haven of peace and old world charm. The hotel's private motor launch runs every 15 minutes (day and night) to a private landing pier by St Mark's Square so Venice sights are only a few minutes away. Don't expect cheap, because it isn't, but you get what you pay for in quality and service. Highly recommended for a special ocasion and especially if travelling from Venice on the Orient Express when the organisation to get from the hotel to the train makes the transfer effortless.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (by John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.