We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Cipriani to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #17 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a wonderful classy hotel. My boyfriend and I were visiting a 4 different cities in Italy and this was our first stop. Such great staff that was always so friendly and attentive. We spent a lot of time at the pool bar so we got to know the bartenders pretty well, and everyone knew us by name. The fact that I did not know a bit of Italian was not a problem, everyone spoke English very well. The hotel also had their own water taxi that would bring you back and forth to St Marks Square, where they also had a "Hotel Cipriani private dock, so it was very easy to get back and forth. (about a 10 min boat ride that has spectacular views!)

The room was wonderful and had a few different wall plug types, so I did not even need to take out my European plug adaptor that I brought. Great bathroom and comfy bed The only negative I can say is that they give you an incredibly heavy metal room key that can be rather heavy to have to carry around (but obviously not really a negative) And to all you bagel lovers, they do not have them there. We asked for them with our room service and instead got a basket full of a variety of breads :) We missed staying at the hotel with George Clooney by a couple of days.. bummer. All in all a VERY classy and upscale hotel that is not pretencious at all. WIll definitely stay there again when back in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    75
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
72
261
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the Cipriani. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very welcoming, and room was comfortable. We also enjoyed Fortuny Restaurant for dinner. The water shuttle was very convienent and it was nice having our home base away from the crowds. The Cipriani is very pricey, but I will return when back in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We weren't impressed with Hotel Cipriani. We found the atmosphere very stuffy and the staff fake and suffocating! We found much better value staying in a stunning apartment near the accademia. With so many worthy causes throwing away money on a stuffy atmosphere, where all you heard was the clanging of silverware, seems wasteful. Perhaps we weren't there at the right time of the year (September), but in all other exceptional hotels we have stayed at it hasn't mattered. Hotel Cipriani lacked life! It was dry and the best thing about it were the abundance of beautiful little sparrows.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Located on Giudecca across from St Marks but convenient with their 24 hour boat transfers to/from hotel to Piazza San Marco. Housekeeping is attentive and comes twice daily. Staff are friendly, attentive, first class. Hotel and property are clean and inviting. We went for my husbands birthday and were in a junior suite with a lagoon view. It was fabulous. Only one draw back was in the bar by the pool one evening it seemed under staffed and were enthusiastic to seat us not as energetic on serving us but it seemed everyone was getting slow service and the one waiter was just overwhelmed as it was crowded. But entire stay was so wonderful it seemed that ocassion was a mere blip.

They have blow dryers (which I didn't see on the website) and Bulgari amenities in the bath. Ironed cotton luxurious bedding. Quick room service. Real keys! No small credit card sized key. It was modern yet possessed historical character in decorating and service.

The longest we waited for the boat was maybe once at 10 minutes.

Can't say enough about the service here. It was nice to escape the madness of the tourists on the main island.

Room Tip: Junior suite facing lagoon. We had two small balconies. We were close to the pier to catch the boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is certainly one of the great hotels of the world, we stayed for three days flying from Vienna and being met at the airport by Cipriani representative. This was an exceptional start, Austrian Air had misplaced my baggage (& a third of the flight queued up to report the same - two hours later) our guide was still waiting, thank you. Bags whisked away (safely) we were driven to the boat and ensconced, headed to the Cipriani within minutes. Magical mood transformance.

On the Isola Giudecca opposite San Marco sits the Cipriani. A drink by the pool immersed us into Cip time and elegance. Our room was in the Palazzo and our two large windows opened onto an excellent view of Venice.

I found the view was better than the reality, Venice is over crowded & grubby with HUGE cruise ships disgorging there cargo, contributing nothing and destroying Venice.

The Cip launch taking one back to the haven was a wonderful treat. There are still things to do in Venice that are excellent (Peggy Guggenhiems collection, a visit to the Danelli terrace or even a brief stop at Harry's bar) but ships must be stopped!

We had booked the terrace of the Fortuny for dinner at 8pm but that is a whole other story, a wonderful romantic story. This part of our trip was my wifes treat for me, a significant birthday.

Our room was not plush but still managed to be everything we wanted, needed and more, it was
spacious, very private well away from the public areas.

The excellent pool is beautiful to look at and better to be in is olympic size and the surrounding gardens managed to accommodate lots of people unobtrusivably with the the occasional mast passing by. I did manage to spend hours daily like a seal in the pool. The sun in Europe does not seem to burn (like Australia) and we just browned up a little darker every day, wonderful. A day here has 24+ hours, more than anywhere, else perhaps just a perception.

The Fortuny was excellent for breakfast, a beautiful gardened terrace overlooking San Giorgio and the lagoon with an excellent array of options and sublime at night for dinner. The service excellent.

Cips on pylons over the water is a more casual alternative for dinner conveniently located just below our room. but not to be missed a completely different positive experience.

Everywhere you gaze at the Cipriani is gorgeous, the gardens Casonova's especially, the sculptures and water surrounding always. This latter made us feel very much at home.

The staff are exceptional across the board, boat captains, commissionaire at dock, Concierge (thank you for chasing my bags so diligently), reception, Spa, pool team, restaurants and bars all had individual personalities as did the various venues but an underlying thoughtful casual elegant hospitality ethic pervades the Cipriani. I have spent much of my life in executive hospitality and very rarely have I encountered this level of hospitality consistantly. Knowing that the Cipriani closes for 5-6months every year makes it all the more extraordinary.

This is not for the rich and famous it is for the establishment of a paradise and that does have a cost but the Cipriani is exceptional value for money. Whatever it takes this is an experience not to be missed!

Thank you my darling wife for ensuring I had this sojourn and thank you Cipriani for being excellent - the Cipriani.

Room Tip: Research the room options there are many different types make a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived by the Orient Express and had booked the hotel as part of the package. The service was truly excellent and the break was perfect.
We arrived at the hotel by water taxi and there is a real wow factor. Staff are charming helpful and polite without exception.
Our room was some distance away from reception but the views over St Marks easily made up for that. The room was a little dated but luxurious nevertheless. Bathroom huge and toilitaries high standard,
The first night we ate in Cips. Very good food and first rate ingrediants. Had fantastic fish and veal both cooked simply and both perfect. Staff all as to be expected.
The second night ate in Fortuny restaurant. This is sold as fine dining but although excellent service the food didn't quite match. I had crab with bits of shell left in. Not what you would expect. The sole that followed was just ok. Puddings were however exceptional and up to the standard you would expect.
We also had lunch on the pool terrace which was good apart from the wasps!
Overall a fantastic hotel , in places a little shabby chic and I am not sure that isn't part of the charm or not. It is very expensive but on the whole a very plesent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Cipriani is the best hotel in Venice. the experience created is one of complete comfort and excellence.

We were treated like Hollywood guests of which there have been many.

Your own private launch and personalized needs fully catered for.

Everything you could expect from an Orient Express trip.

Magical moments all....

Room Tip: Always ask for the upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Venice
#10 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cipriani embodies 50 years of glamour and legend, la dolce vita Venetian style, with a peerless view to the grand Palladian Church of San Giorgio. This is the Venice of everyone's imagination. The Cipriani is only three storeys high and has that classic, comfortable, "lived-in" grandeur. It is a perfect blend of historic and contemporary Venice - opulence tempered by simple elegance; antiques and works of art offset by innovative touches of unbridled luxury. The grounds are breathtaking: small gardens, expansive lawns with vines clinging to ancient brick walls or trellises and an Olympic-sized heated swimming pool, as well as a clay tennis court and a wellness centre. (By John Hawkesby, World Magazine Aug. 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.