We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danieli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Danieli to your Saves list
Hotel Danieli
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I will always remember this lovely hotel in Venice, Italy. My stay there was the highlight of my vacation. The lobby of this hotel is stunning and the Murano Glass chandeliers are beautiful. The room and bathroom were clean and lovely. The breakfast buffet at the rooftop restaurant was the best food we had in Venice. The service was superior and the staff was very friendly. The view of the Grand Canal while we had breakfast every morning was just breathless. The location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    349
    169
    105
    84
See reviews for
263
857
52
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlahem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I walked up to a beautiful building along the waterfront. We entered the lobby thru double person revolving doors. Inside, It is total old world Italian charm. Well dressed employees, stunning decor, opulent surroundings, stunning blown glass chandeliers. Clean, friendly, absolute loveliness. Thumbs up..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Danieli and it is the perfect location, but extremely expensive, more so a room with a view of the Grad Canal. we had a room in the rear of he hotel It had the worse view of any place you would want to be

Room Tip: A room in the front if you can afford i.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sharonite,
Thank you for your review, whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by the team, I was very disappointed to read of you experiences in your room regarding the position. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon,
Best regards,

Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I really have very few complaints about the Danieli. The hotel is a beautiful historic property in a terrific location. The rooms are nice although mine was a little small. My only complaints are that the service was a little stuffy and they make you check your key in at the concierge desk before leaving. They give you a cute old tasseled key but it is a waste of time to wait every time you come and go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear trvlNstyle,
Thank you for posting your review of the Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I regret your wasting time every time you had to leave the room key to the concierge, but security reasons oblige us to follow this procedure.I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an absolutely stunningly beautiful hotel with an equally amazing location in Venice. From the Murano glass chandeliers to the classic decor this hotel is perfect for a romantic stay. The buffet breakfast on the rooftop is delicious and has a wide variety of foods along with the million dollar view of the Grand Canal.

It's location cannot be topped. Close to San Marco square, the Bridge of Sighs and at least a million restaurants. Their service is as top notch as the surroundings. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear RofoBeth,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I certainly hope that your future travels to Venice will bring you back to the Hotel Danieli.
Best regards
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

22nd July 2013
In January of this year I booked the Terrace Restaurant for my 60th Birthday celebration in Venice with 4 friend’s who were my guests and my wife on Friday 12July.

Having stayed in the hotel and having been to the restaurant some 10 years ago I cannot tell you how disappointed we were with the service and the food: it was terrible, bordering on disgraceful.

We first visited the ground floor Bar where my guests arrived first and had ordered and received drinks but my wife and I waited 10mins until eventually I walked up to the Bar and placed an order. Equally to pay I went to the Bar because there was no one looking or offering customer service and we were close by in the Bar area.
We went to the 4th floor restaurant via the stairs because both lifts were broken where we were less than professionally greeted and shown to our spectacular table and from here on in it went very badly downhill. It took 40mins to get a bottle of wine on the table. Our first course was described by two of my guests that had the risotto as bland and the remaining food was very disappointing. Lamb ordered medium-rare was medium and the medium Lamb was over cooked to medium well.
I can only describe the waiters as less than attentive and they behaved like they had been there too long and were too comfortable. Customer service was very poor but customer care: nonexistent.
The total bill was 973 Euros made up of 113 Euros in the Bar for 6 drinks and 860 Euros in the restaurant. We did not spend more because we were put off by the service and quality otherwise we would have done. We left by the stairs as the lifts were still out of order very disappointed and upset as my 60th Birthday Party had been terrible experience and a letdown.

Room Tip: A terrible place over priced and terrible service. Staff just don't care
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Dale M,
Thank you for posting your comments on the TripAdvisor following your visit to the Hotel. Your experience does not align with the high standard of service we strive to deliver to all our guests and for this I sincerely apologise. I would be very appreciative if you would contact me directly with any further details so that I may investigate these matters with the relevant heads of department. Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked a 'four nights for three' offer through British Airways, which added an extra pleasure to staying in this marvellous hotel. It's a palace of a place to - just enter through the lobby doors to realise you're somewhere very special indeed. It's located right next to the Bridge of Sighs and about 4 minutes' stroll from Saint Mark's Square and commands a breath-taking view across the lagoon from its rooftop restaurant. There just can't be a finer vista while enjoying a superb buffet breakfast. The staff are attentive and friendly, the bar prices are a little expensive - but what the heck, you're in the lap of luxury and you have one free night's stay at the end of it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Brianwiz,
I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the perfect location of the Hotel in the Heart of Venice, indeed for travelling around Venice with ease and visiting most of its major attractions and sights. I was also pleased to learn that you appreciated the character and the style that the building has to offer together with the service and attitude of the staff.Best regards
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danieli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Danieli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danieli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.