We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sadly disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danieli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Danieli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Danieli
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 382 hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at the Hotel Danieli for New Years Eve and looked forward to this for months. I had been to the Danieli many times years ago - many years ago - but this was first time with the family.

The biggest problem is the staff - from the reception to the concierge - Yes it was New Years Eve and yes they were busy - but the staff was almost "annoyed" with the guests. They never had change for money as an example. Checking out was a disaster - Tons of staff members but very inefficient. Even something so simple as a smile -

Of course there were exceptions and do mean to indict the entire staff but the most visual staff members were not welcoming. In a hotel this price that is not acceptable.

The Lobby is magnificent, room was fine, food - not too great but ok --
Fantastic View of the Grand Canal for New Years Eve fireworks but they desperately need new management

Will not stay there next time and that makes me sad
Gritti Palace in renovation so the Danieli needs to step up its game in so many ways

Room Tip: view of the Grand Canal if you have to be in the second building - Try and get into main building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear A W B,
Although we may not enjoy a negative feedback, we thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Danieli. We have taken your concerns very seriously and we are taking every possible measure at an operational level to prevent the issues you reported to happen again in the future.Your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal customer service experience for the future and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of dedicated and bespoke service.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    315
    149
    97
    75
See reviews for
225
736
50
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and charming. The staff was very helpful. Expensive ! Dinner was okay.
The location is just what Venice is all about, with gondolas just outside the door and around the corner from Piazza San Marco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear rinaburns,
Thank you for your review, the team and I were delighted that you enjoyed the stay and found the service that you received from the team to be good and the location ideal.
Your sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in the heart of Venice. We got a canal front room and we were in heaven. The hotel is old but beautifully kept and is a true piece of art. Breakfast on the terrace is a real treat and so are the martinis on the balcony. It is expensive but one amazing experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. They cost more but it's why you go to the Danieli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear ZeBray,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel Danieli. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed both your stay with us and that you found the location ideal I certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a repeat!
Warm regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I first stayed in this hotel with my family and vowed to return on my honeymoon. The Danieli is quintessentially Venetian and has been updated enough to keep it fresh, but not so much that its character has been destroyed (much more character than your typical Starwood hotel). Our room was beautiful--I kept waiting for Casanova to tap at the window. Breakfast on the roof is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear AandL W,
Thank you for your review of the HotelDanieli. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in July at the start of the school holiday season with my daughter. Loved the grace and beauty of the hotel. The lobby has the same beauty as the Peninsula in Hong Kong, the rooms are fine, but not stunning when you consider the price, but it is the classic hotel of Venice. Our most enjoyable moments came when dining in the evening on the top floor terrace overlooking the rest of Venice. Breathtaking! I enjoyed the best buffalo mozzarella ever, so fresh it ooozed. They were more than happy to just prepare a Spaghetti Bolognese for my daughter. What memories are made of. The Concierge were all helpful for advice especially re Gondalier ride prices, so all in all a great stay. Make sure you arrive by water taxi!

Room Tip: Views of the Lagoon are fabulous and worth the money, the vibrant noise will stay with you for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear TheVineMan,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. Of particular note I was very pleased you enjoyed your dinner at our Terrazza Restaurant. We strive to ensure all who dine, have a unique and memorable experience and I am glad we were able to deliver this experience to you.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Danieli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights here in January, our deluxe room overlooking the lagoon was perfect, the attention to detail couldn't be faulted. Our experience of the staff was first class and they could not have been more helpful. It is expensive but well worth the money if you want to be spoilt. The opportunity to spend time in a 700 yr old palace is rare. Glorious!

Room Tip: Overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear dismayed,
Thank you for favourable review and may I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Danieli. We look forward to welcoming you to again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice, after arriving in style on the Orient Express from the UK.

The hotel was quite simply stunning, it is how you would picture a romantic arrival in Venice to be. We only had a one night stay unfortunately so we didnt get a chance to try the rooftop restaurant or just to sit down and have a drink in the bar.

Our room was beautiful, we two floor to ceiling doors with fabulous views, while the room itself was huge. Location wise it was very close to St Marks Square, which we had to run through as it rained on our one day.

One tip I would give is: ladies, leave the stiletto's at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear doydc,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel Danieli. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed both your stay with us and that you found the location ideal I certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a repeat!
Sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Danieli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you’ll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli, exceptionally matched with flavours extending from Venice's lagoon to the Far East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Danieli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danieli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.