We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danieli Bar--a splurge for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danieli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Danieli to your Saves list
Hotel Danieli
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Park, FL
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Danieli Bar--a splurge for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have enjoyed the Danieli Bar in the past. We were staying with friends in an apartment not too far from the hotel. I wanted to take our room mates and my wife for one drink here. The splendor of the lobby and contiguous bar are a treat. Carved Veronese marble is the material for columns and parts of the walls. Two Bellinis and two cocktails cost $72. plus tip. It ain't cheap, but it's fun. The quiet atmosphere and pleasant service were a treat. The bartender/waiter treated us as guests even though, on a rainy day, we were not dressed in our Sunday best. That's class. I think it always helps if you speak or try to speak some Italian. Salute'!

Room Tip: We only took a drink at the bar. We were not guests at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear rlemon,
Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your recent visit to the Bar of the Hotel Danieli. I am very happy to receive such an encouraging review from you. I will certainly pass all of your kind comments on to Bar staff and I know they will be delighted to hear them. Sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    375
    178
    106
    84
See reviews for
280
935
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

To arrive in Venice is always wonderful, to arrive at the Danieli in a private launch under cloudless skies is a lifetime ambition fulfilled. A very warm welcome from the receptionist, who escorted us to our room, was a splendid start. The bedroom, in the annex alongside the main building, was huge, with a separate dressing room and lavish bathroom. The enormous bed probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

Unfortunately, on and off rain made the rooftop restaurant terrace unusable, but the views towards the Giudecca are still classic, and the breakfast choice of food and beverages enormous.

Prices in Venice generally have rocketed over the last thirty years, but there is no point now in coming, especially to one of the world’s best-known hotels, and counting the pennies. Even so, €9.80 for a not specially good coffee just off Piazza S. Marco raised our eyebrows, and our overall bill for food and drink at new and favourite restaurants was punishing. Still, it’s Venice, and there’s nowhere remotely like it. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Traveller10071,
Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Venice and also for having taken the time to provide us with your comments.
Sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Danieli. The room was amazing with a small balcony and an amazing view. The bathroom was updated and spacious while still maintaining the antique feeling of the hotel. The linens were top notch. The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet. The staff were helpful without being intrusive. Easy access from the airport boat drop off if you aren't taking a taxi.

If you want a modern hotel with "modern" rooms, don't stay at the Danieli. That's not what the hotel is about. The charm of this hotel is in the antique feel- the wood, the velvet, the wall coverings (actual fabric- not just wallpaper), the historic color themes. Although the furnishings may be antique, they are not in poor repair, threadbare, or otherwise unsatisfactory. This is classic Venice. Enjoy it!

You are steps away from all of the main sites in Venice and there is a vaporetto stop directly in front of the hotel. Take advantage of the early mornings and the later evenings- there is no one in Venice- you will have the streets to yourself. Wake up at 6am and stroll around the city, watch the garbage boats, delivery boats, and gondoliers getting ready for the day. Be the first one in line for the museum or the church or the tower- whatever your fancy. Then go back to the room mid-day, when all the cruise ship passengers are swarming about, and take a nap. Venice is a lovely place. Enjoy the beauty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear megannpa,
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I left the US on a vacation that included visits to Venice-Rome-Paris. When I arrived in Venice (2pm) we were disappointed to learn our luggage did not make the connecting flight and would be delivered to us between 8-10 pm. So, we headed off to the Daniele sans luggage. We notified the hotel staff upon arrival that the airline would be dropping off our luggage. This must happen often because the reception staff seemed unfazed and not concerned about our predicament. Anyway, we were escorted to our room which was not impressive but manageable for the day and a half of our stay.

It was cold and slightly damp but we headed out toward St. Marks to take in the sights. Unfortunately, without a change of clothes, the weather forced us back indoors and to the hotel bar to await our luggage, which arrived around 8pm.

Upon check out, the hotel tried to charge us for items that had already been prepaid. Also, having been upgraded at the Hassler in Rome and Le Meurice in Paris, I found it a bit disappointing the hotel did not offer any upgrade to us despite the fact that we started this vacation without luggage and the hotel was empty. It would have been a nice touch that would have left me feeling special and wanting to return.

Next time I travel to Venice, I will try a different 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CP2006,
We share your disappointment for not receiving the punctual and bespoke service you would so rightly have expected. It is our committed aim - and of the Hotel Danieli staff - to offer personal and dedicated attention to any requirements, either small or big, easy or difficult, from our guests and we wish to assure you that will work harder to prevent that issues such as the ones you have shared do not happen again in the future. We know we can do so much better and we would be honored to welcome you back on your next visit and to show you the results of our improvements.
Kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I felt i was in a museum...
service is great, the location and the position are the best, from the roof you can see the best of the laguna of Venice, I feel lucky I have been there once...
May be the room are a bit old compare the price, but its still the "Danieli"...
If you like luxury at least once in your life you have to go...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear gaez,
Thank you for your kind feedback and for taking the time to post your favourable comments on the Hotel Danieli and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location, on the Grand Canal, is excellent. Almost adjacent to the Dodges Palace, a few steps from Piazza San Marco and the Basilica. There are Alilaguna and Vapporetti stops in front of the hotel. Important if you are traveling with more than a mid size suitcase. Dragging luggage around Venice, up and down the many bridges over the canals is a challange.
I did not realize when I was making arrangements for our stay that the hotel is composed of three palace joined together by bridges. The lobby is magnificent as are several other public areas. There are some structural issues, resulting from the significant water issues Venice faces,requiring bracing. That only detracts minimally from the enchantment of the lobby and beautiful staircase.
We had a three night stay towards the end of October. Our room was in the original Danieli Palace on the fifth floor. There was a small balcony with a table and chairs, overlooking a small canal which runs along side the hotel and a bit of a view of the Grand Canal. The room was smaller than I expected, furnished with reproductions of empire pieces which were in good condition As far as I'm concerened, they could have removed one of the dressers. The wing chair was a little worn looking. There is a Murano glass chandelier which was a little dusty, and missing a few little pieces, and a small somewhat worn oriental rug. The bathroom was nothing like what I saw on the website. It was smaller, one sink, no vanity and older ceramic tile which had a flowery and vine design. There was a bath/shower combination and a heated towel rack, bidet and toilet. The room and bathroom were clean. There were robes and slippers avialable for our use. Turndown service included closing the blinds on the windows and balcony doors, the best choclates and a place mat on the floor on each side of the bed.
The reality is that this very old building shows signs of it's age and does not have the ship shape condition one usually sees in a first class hotel.
The Restaurant on the fifth floor has a terrace which has the best possible view in Venice of the Grand Canal. We enjoyed our breakfast there each morning, which was included in our room rate. They have a very nice hot and cold buffet and you can also order from the menu. Some of the interrior rooms also have a nice view. We had lunch on the terrace the day we arrived since our room was not ready. We ordered a risotto and a pasta entrees, the bill was 98 euros! They comped it. Beware.
We noted that cocktails were in the 18-20 euros range, but we saw that elseware in Venice and other places in Italy. Not what we are accustomed to in the USA.
We received very attentive and friendly service from the restaurant staff. The front desk staff were very professional and curteous, we had a few casual conversation with some of the staff. They are quite busy at times. Our bill for the three nights including breakfast, but not the city tax, was $1,435.50. I'm not sure if I would stay there again or try another hotel. I would most certainly go to the terrace restaurant for a cocktail at sunset, or after dark to see the boats all lit up, or for a view during the day. They do serve coffees and snacks. Don't let "snack" fool you. Check the menu before you enter.
This place is an experience in history and romance and for that reason I am giving an overall rating of very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Mary1919,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We welcome every feedback, both positive and negative, as this is the best way to evaluate and so to improve the level of our product and service. We share your disappointment for the reported maintenance status of the room you occupied It is clear that in occasion of your visit there has been a lack of attention and supervision which is not representative of our usual level of hospitality. Please rest assured that your comments will not go unheard. An immediate follow up at an operational level has been arranged in order to ensure an accurate maintenance program for each guest room at all times. Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism; in spite of this average experience, we all hope that you will allow us another opportunity to display the type of hospitality you expect and deserve in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if we can further assist you in any way, best regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Museum quality architecture and furniture, with far too exorbitant prices but worst of all the majority of the staff were totally uncaring. You'd think they'd be happy to work there, smile a little, she some compaction. The only friendly experience I got was from the smiling young lad vacuuming the stairs. Worth taking a look inside but after staying there for three nights, we would never return. Management. Should check out what a five star hotel should offer by trying a gem such as the Excelsior in Florence!

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear gary642,
I am disappointed to learn that we could not live up to your expectations during your recent stay with us because of the unpleasant attitude of our staff.
Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and invite you to contact either myself at any time we can assist to ensure your complete wellbeing in travel.
Kind regards,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danieli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Danieli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danieli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.