We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doge's Palace

Doge's Palace
Piazza San Marco, 31024 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 041 2715911
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Doge's Palace like an insider
Skip the Line
$56*
and up
Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour
Ranked #2 of 345 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A masterpiece of Gothic architecture, the building and its sculptural decoration date from various periods. The interior, with works by artists such as Titian, Veronese, Tintoretto, A.Vittoria and Tiepolo, includes vast council chambers, superbly decorated residential apartments, and austere prison cells. Along the facades of the Palace run loggias that overlook St. Mark’s Square and the lagoon. The combined entrance ticket to the St. Mark’s Square Museums grants access to the Doge’s Palace, Museo Correr, Museo Archeologico Nazionale and Monumental Rooms of Biblioteca Marciana.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Absolutely amazing and worth visiting! Beautiful inside and outside. All the rooms are impressive and have so many different thing to show. It is just amazing passing through the bridge of sighs and thinking of all the people who have passed that bridge before and how they must have felt as this was the last thing they would see. There is a waiting outside but if you go at noon it should be better!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,744
    1,717
    268
    69
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The epicenter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For me, this is the center of Venice in every way. Even the air in this place suggests that what this city is really about, it's mostly felt here. Summer or winter, a spot to try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We pre-booked the Secret Itineraries tour and it was a great experience. Very knowledgeable guide and a very interesting tour.
We highly recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“incredible walk through sigh bridge (inside)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The palace is grand and decorated with paintings by famous Renaissance artists. It has the world’s largest oil painting of Paradise by Tintoretto. So we walked through rooms and rooms filled with art treasure. Then we came to this staircase leading to the prison! We had to walk through the inside of the sigh bridge (see picture) to get from the palace to the prison. So much fun!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Overwhelming Opulence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked a Museum pass before we arrived in Venice which also let us into Murano glass museum and Palazzo Mocenigo so was good value. It did not go well on arrival as some of the Doges personal apartments were closed and we did not have any ID so we were not allowed to have the audio tour. The women was obviously used to taking some stick over this so she had decided the best form of defence is attack. Anyway moving on! Should have read trip advisor first. The state rooms were awe inspiring and designed to be so. The sophistication of the political system is truly amazing. Like all of these set pieces it's best to do some research first to get the most out of the visit. Had lunch in the museum cafe watching the gondoliers go by another unique experience of Venice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doge's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Doge's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doge's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.