We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to reserve a time for your visit on line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)

Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)
San Marco 328, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
39-041-5225205
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$23*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Cathedral Tour with...
Ranked #4 of 372 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Make sure to reserve a time for your visit on line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A must see if vising Venice and so glad we reserved a time on line costing 1.5 euros to avoid the queues. When we got there the queue was horrendous, but we just walked right past and straight in no problem. TIP .. take something to cover your shoulders, they charge 2 euros to give you some sort of paper cape to cover you otherwise, bit cheeky we thought. I'd taken a very tiny t-shirt which I could crush into my bag and just slipped this over my shoulders as we entered and no one bothered us. Also watch out for the shop as you leave - we bought a glass gondolla but found it was broken (in the box) when we got back to the hotel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,243
    2,377
    731
    133
    52
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Saint Mark's Basilica is a breathtaking example of Byzantine architecture at its most opulent, the Basilica is the most lavishly decadent piece of architecture I have ever seen and easily the most magnificent church. The inside of the Basilica has a dark, gothic feel, adorned with opulent gilded mosaics and beautiful paintings. Absolutely spectacular. A must-see in Venice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The bells forever in my mind...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There is nothing to dislike ... not even the crowds of tourists! On Sunday morning we walked into the square with the bells all ringing ... it was amazing & gives me chills! It will forever when I remember the sounds! We returned at night & when I close my eyes, I can see the lights of St. Mark's Square & the Basilica surrounding us ... and my husband's arms surrounding me!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beatiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Basilicais very beatiful,and its free to enterto stroll around the center of it. On the negative side; if you want to see other parts of the Church, you have to pay for every part. Maybe an idea to sel and extendes ticket to access all areas?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes, it's big, yes, it's full of gold embellishments, but it lacks a certain aesthetic cohesiveness and once inside there are too many people to enjoy any of the "vistas" it might otherwise afford. It was much less enjoyable than I expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.