We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to reserve a time for your visit on line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)

Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)
San Marco 328, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
39-041-5225205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 214 attractions in Venice
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Make sure to reserve a time for your visit on line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A must see if vising Venice and so glad we reserved a time on line costing 1.5 euros to avoid the queues. When we got there the queue was horrendous, but we just walked right past and straight in no problem. TIP .. take something to cover your shoulders, they charge 2 euros to give you some sort of paper cape to cover you otherwise, bit cheeky we thought. I'd taken a very tiny t-shirt which I could crush into my bag and just slipped this over my shoulders as we entered and no one bothered us. Also watch out for the shop as you leave - we bought a glass gondolla but found it was broken (in the box) when we got back to the hotel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,611
    1,400
    455
    82
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Saint Mark's Basilica is a breathtaking example of Byzantine architecture at its most opulent, the Basilica is the most lavishly decadent piece of architecture I have ever seen and easily the most magnificent church. The inside of the Basilica has a dark, gothic feel, adorned with opulent gilded mosaics and beautiful paintings. Absolutely spectacular. A must-see in Venice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bells forever in my mind...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There is nothing to dislike ... not even the crowds of tourists! On Sunday morning we walked into the square with the bells all ringing ... it was amazing & gives me chills! It will forever when I remember the sounds! We returned at night & when I close my eyes, I can see the lights of St. Mark's Square & the Basilica surrounding us ... and my husband's arms surrounding me!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Basilicais very beatiful,and its free to enterto stroll around the center of it. On the negative side; if you want to see other parts of the Church, you have to pay for every part. Maybe an idea to sel and extendes ticket to access all areas?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes, it's big, yes, it's full of gold embellishments, but it lacks a certain aesthetic cohesiveness and once inside there are too many people to enjoy any of the "vistas" it might otherwise afford. It was much less enjoyable than I expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) to your Saves list