We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bells forever in my mind...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)

Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)
San Marco 328, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
39-041-5225205
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$23*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Cathedral Tour with...
Ranked #4 of 364 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The bells forever in my mind...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There is nothing to dislike ... not even the crowds of tourists! On Sunday morning we walked into the square with the bells all ringing ... it was amazing & gives me chills! It will forever when I remember the sounds! We returned at night & when I close my eyes, I can see the lights of St. Mark's Square & the Basilica surrounding us ... and my husband's arms surrounding me!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,913
    2,246
    689
    125
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beatiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Basilicais very beatiful,and its free to enterto stroll around the center of it. On the negative side; if you want to see other parts of the Church, you have to pay for every part. Maybe an idea to sel and extendes ticket to access all areas?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes, it's big, yes, it's full of gold embellishments, but it lacks a certain aesthetic cohesiveness and once inside there are too many people to enjoy any of the "vistas" it might otherwise afford. It was much less enjoyable than I expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Kingswood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decorated to within an inch of its life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing paintings over 90% of walls and ceiling. Entry free but 3 euros to visit Treasury with very gruesome relics of various saints (hands and bits of bone displayed in fake legs etc.) Guard didn't give us an audio guide and we only found out we could have had it for free as we were leaving when another tourist told us. Only two small rooms but interesting. Website mentioned a museum but we didn't find that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Get there early and beat the crowds. Wear appropriate clothing, this is a religious building. Entrance fee is good. Respect the interior and don't take photos. The interior is an amazing sight. If you get there early enough you may hear mass, wonderful sound. A lot of amazing history and decoration inside. Just remember this is a very old religious building, respect it. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mark's Basilica (Basilica di San Marco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.