We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but chaotic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)

St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)
Piazza San Marco, 31024 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$31*
and up
Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St...
Ranked #14 of 197 Attractions in Venice
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is said that Napoleon called San Marco "the drawing room of Europe." And it is a breathtakingly beautiful place. But the square has long been a lure for massive numbers of pigeons, drawn by the massive numbers of tourists who readily feed them. While the tourists happily post for photos amid the flock, there are concerns that the birds' presence--and what they leave behind--will damage the centuries old architecture and art work.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely but chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A lovely square, surrounded on one side by St Mark's Basilica, on the other 3 sides by the Correr Museum. It's a lovely massive square but thousands of tourists flock there during the day, making it difficult even to take a photo! It's calmer at night time, though we expected it to be better lit when we went! It was quite dull and dark.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,455
    2,531
    800
    138
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I didnt realise it was a huge swimming pool as well as a historic square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived on Saturday and walked to St. Marks Square. We decided to visit Palazzo Ducale as there were queues for the Basilica. Next day we arrived to see the Square under water, it was a different take on the whole view. Walkways were erected and to be honest, everybody was laughing at the happenings around. Venice is well prepared for the Alto Aqua which happens about once a week during the winter! People swimming and jumping into the water and wading across the square. The water had dropped by late afternoon and we had time to see the lagoon, Florians, The Carera Museum and the Danieli Hotel, all must sees when you travel to St Marks Square! Next day we travelled to Murano, the most spectactular part was the return at sunset to St. Marks Square and the sights that Turner made famous!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As we emerged through the Ala Napoleonica we got our first awe-inspiring views of the vast Piazza. Our eyes were drawn along the very attractive façade of the old offices on the left towards the magnificently ornate onion domed Basilica fronted by the landmark campanile.

We made numerous trips to the Piazza, to visit its wonderful attractions or to bask in the atmosphere while just wandering around listening to the music from the cafes.

We had panoramic views of the square from the Basilica balcony. I think this gives a perfect picture of its sheer size and of the different architectural styles of the facing three sides.

As well as our marvellous visit to the Basilica we enjoyed many hours in the Correr Museum and the incomparable Doge’s Palace.

On a weekend night filming was taking place at the Basilica end. It seems to have been an experimental type dance routine that was underway and it attracted quite a crowd.

This wonderful Piazza more than lived up to all our expectations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Crowded and commercial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Even in October there were hoards of people - so many in fact there wasn't any room for the fabled 'pigeons'! Allowing a HUGE fashion ad along the one side of the Piazza degrades the history of the square. If Venice wants to promote its history as a reason to visit then I believe they should restrict the commercialization of Piazza San Marco...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Big square, lots of little chic shops and the Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visited Piazza San Marco last weekend with my wife and was unprepared for what I saw. Thousands of people. And a raised up stage. Apparently a concert was about to take place. The chois/chorale was introduced and came up one by one and then speeches started, the mayor, somebody else and somebody else ... It is a big square. surrounded by shops on everyside bar one where the St Mark's catherdral was. This is by the way under restoration. There was still a long queue of people trying to get in. We did do some window shopping . You could also go past the St. Marks to an area close to water and there were tourists ... The atmosphere is generally lovely. What a shock it was to see that the day after, there was so much flood water, that people could swim...

It is definitely a place to visit when in Venice

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) also viewed

 

Been to St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.