We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavily patronised by Venetians - and for good reason.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria alla Madonna

Trattoria alla Madonna
Rialto, Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 5223824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #454 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Heavily patronised by Venetians - and for good reason.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is big restaurant, down a scruffy alley just a short way from the main tourist trap restaurants near the Rialto bridge. It is not a place to sit out.

We went there for lunch following a suggestian from a Venetian friend - and mentioning his name certainly produced sparkling service and real Italian hospitality. Whilst there was certainly a sprinkling of tourists in the restaurant there seemed to be a higher proportion of local diners. And there were quite a few local business people that popped in, had a quick plate of something and were off again.

The food was absolutely one hundred percent Italian cooking. A lot of the starters were pre-prepared from a huge buffet/servery near the entrance to the restaurant, so not quite gourment - but they came quickly. Our main courses and desserts were very good - although I can't quite put them into my "excellent" category. The wine was fine - and being caught up with atmosphere of the place we probably had a bit more alcohol than usual. The post meal grappa was difficult to ignore either. Pricing was Venetian standard - so not cheap but not over expensive either.

The best part of the restaurant was definitely the atmosphere. Bustling, great for people watching, very lively. If I wanted a party with Italian friends this is one of the places I would want to go to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    537
    230
    146
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“AWEFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Overvalued restaurant. Waiters were fighting and unfocused and food is undeserving. Big disappointment

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Get a Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We found this place on our own. The place is casual and has menus in Italian and English. The food was good and featured local fare. The service was to the point, being a New Yorker show me the food without all the fanfare. I thought the prices were fair. If your looking for good Italian bread in Venice for me it was hard to come by, and this place was no exception.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Maybe tghe best restaurant in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

maybe the best restaurant in Venice, our small hotel night concierge recommended it and said that for him it is the number one restaurant in Venice, and indeed it was amazing..eat there the vegetables antipasti it is superb! also as appetizer the Sardines with onions -amazing, for main I had a fish excellent and Hella had liver...I also saw people having fish soup that looked good, it is in the street same name A La madona, second street when coming from the Realto bridge..few minutes walk from the bridge...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were a party of 12, and from the minute we walked through the door, we were well looked after by the white jacketed waiters. The restaurant was packed, and bookings are essential, especially for big parties. The waiters spoke English, which made things much easier when explanations were required. Everyone in our party enjoyed the food, especially the sardines soar. The walls are packed with pictures, and tables are close together, but it all adds to the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria alla Madonna also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria alla Madonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria alla Madonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.